We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5*-Hotel Overlooking Lake Neuchâtel”
Review of Beau-Rivage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful 5*-Hotel Overlooking Lake Neuchâtel”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The hotel is located in beautiful old building. The rooms are very elegant and beautiful, adapted to the beauty of the building. Many rooms offer a fantastic view over the lake and towards the mountains. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant and liked the breakfast buffet too. Probably one of the best values for a five-star hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    83
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
108
7
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

i stayed many times in this hotel because there are not many in the region. its big and comfortable. the rooms are nice and big. the service is okay and the location good. they also have a nice terrace in summer however with 10000 mosquitos to share with. its just fine but for me it lacks atmosphere and intimacy. you feel purely on a business trip. however, if you do not stay to long and only for business its fine.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peppinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

overall the restaurant and bar are very good and the staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is ok and what you'd expect, clean and fairly spacy, and the location of stunning (when it’s sunny) but the concierge was awful, unhelpful, arrogant and overall a very bad impression and quite annoying. It reminded me of the old Delta airhostesses ... a very unpleasant experience and for sure one which the hotel can (and should) easily remedy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I stayed at the Beau Rivage on a business trip. The hotel is an impressive building on the shore of Lake Neuchatel a short taxi ride from the train station. As you would expect the hotel in nicely decorated and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room was large and well appointed consisting of a large comfortable bed, desk, couch, flat screen TV and a walk in closet. The desk was equipped with a good speed broadband connection. The room I was in was at the back of the hotel and due to the small windows and heavy curtains it was difficult to get natural light into the room.

The restaurant and bar overlook the lake and serve good quality food and wine. Breakfast consisted of a very large selection of hot and cold food of good quality and the coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I have stayed here on a number of business trips to Neuchatel.

I have found this hotel to be very sophisticated and stylish.

The rooms and bathrooms are huge, with all the trimmings of a five star hotel.

The view from the rooms looking over lake Neuchatel are truly amazing.

The restaurant serves great food and is to a Michelin standard.

I only have one complaint, regarding room service. I ordered sandwiches late one evening after the restaurant was closed and when they were delivered to my room, they were practically frozen. I never followed up on this with management, as it did not appear on my bill when I checked out.

I would recommend this hotel to any business traveller, but not for vacation purposes.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank fego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Our biggest concern booking the Beau Rivage were the poor service reviews on TripAdvisor, but thankfully it seems the hotel has taken notice and we enjoyed extremely friendly and accomodating service from all the staff we encountered on our two night vacation stay.

It's a smaller more compact hotel than the aerial photographs suggest, but perfectly positioned on the lake for wonderful views and over the road from Neuchatel's old town (dead dead dead on Sunday though, it has to be said).

It is all rather neutral corporate, but our 1st floor rooms were spacious and stylish with great bathrooms and a couple of nice touches (Bulgari amenities, walk-on balcony). It is unlikely you'll get a direct lake view without booking the most expensive rooms, but side views onto the lake still reward, especially with the balcony. We would concur with the earlier reviewer and avoid 4th floor rooms - 1st and 2nd floors enjoy lovely high ceilings.

The breakfast buffet is very worthwhile - overlooking the lake and with a fair spread; we didn't eat any other meals there for lack of intimacy/character, but if the weather were warmer we would have enjoyed drinks on the potentially very cool patio/out side bar.

Reception/concierge were extremely helpful in guiding a day plan for us and suggesting local restaurants.

Neuchatel is an extremely charming town on the lake, and this hotel is a perfectly fine place to stay if you're there on business or for leisure. It's not really memorable but it is sophisticated, slick and now the service is charming too. Recommended.

  • Liked — Slick decor, great views
  • Disliked — Lacks character - a bit corporate
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Max25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global Traveller
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

I really don't like to go on and on about bad hotels, but this hotel was terrible from begining to end. We checked in, only to be shown to a room that was like a basement (on the 4th floor). Tiny window way up high and the hotel was empty! Later, we specifically asked if we could order and eat on the patio/lounge area. We were told yes. Then I watched our food circle the entire patio twice over a 20 minute period, then we were finally told we had to move to a 'table' not in the lounge area to eat our cold food. Management was very rude and we ended up canceling the order. The rooms and hallways were grungy and run down.
The location is very good, the gym is clean and nice but it's not worth the money or headache in dealing with the rude staff.

  • Disliked — Staff were so rude.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank CharlieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Property: Beau-Rivage Hotel
Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing