We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palafitte”
Review of Hotel Palafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palafitte
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hotel Palafitte”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have visited this hotel and restaurant several times - always fantastic.

Room Tip: All fabulous, overlooking lake neuchatel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    126
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
337
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

1 LOCATION: The hotel is on the outskirt of Neufchatel, You will need a car or a taxi to get there. 2 BUILDING: The main building isn't that impressive. It is what you would expect from a usual upmarket hotel. However; it is when you visit your rooms that your are absolutely stunned! I love it! 3 WELCOME: Great service. Nothing to complain about. 4 ROOMS: The rooms are amazing! Very high tech....! It took me a full evening to understand the remote control I had been given to operate the shutters! 5 BATHROOM: Fantastic bathrooms! 6: DINNER: n/a 7 OVERALL: I will certainly go back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The Hotel Palafitte is a perfect place for a romantic weekend away. The rooms are built onto the lake which gives it a very special feeling. It is wonderful to lay on the terrace, enjoying the calmness of the water being tucked in a cosy blanket. We dont particularly find Neuchâtel a very charming city but if you stay only for a weekend then you might as well just enjoy the time inside the resort. It is by no means a big place - which in this case is very positive - but a very particular one with a lot of charm and great architectural features.
The food at the restaurant is okay yet not outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

wonderfull place, exactly like the pictures
great rooms, top features, like Bose HIFI setup
stunning views and refreshing direct access to the lake from the terrace. a Must do !

very good restaurant, evenso the service was pretty slow that day,

exceptionnal breakfast

Room Tip: the middle appartments are close to restaurant, the far left ones are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MY_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The room has the feel of a resort, not something you'd expect in Switzerland. View over the lake is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Spent 2 days here in November 2010 as part of company business. I found the place delightful. It is intended to be a lake resort with rooms built over Lake Neuchatel. But being there in November the lake was not to be part of the experience. The room was spacious, well appointed, inviting, and romantic ( wasted unfortunately as I was travelling alone). Service was superb, both hotel staff and restaurant. I would not hesitate to return, ideally with a partner and perhaps in warmer months to enjoy the lake as well. As an aside, the Neuchatel area is a prime wine growing/making area, with vineyards very prevalent near the hotel. The local wines I tried, particularly a unique rose which is a Neuchatel speciality, were all superb.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchâtel
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Such a Nice place ! You re on the lake, Luke in a boat cabin. The room has everything needed. We ate there, and unfortunatelly the service was very not as the same level as hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRBP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2.0 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
2.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
89 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
167 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palafitte

Property: Hotel Palafitte
Address: route des Gouttes-d'Or 2, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palafitte 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in Europe built on stilts, the Palafitte enjoys an exceptional setting. Each one of its 40 rooms is a spacious individual bungalow. The exclusive architecture gives the guest a feeling of escape, inside and out. Besides the individual bungalows, the hotel comprises of a large lobby, which has been newly renovated in harmony with the architectural style of the location, a reception, bar, smoking room and a restaurant with a large terrace. The restaurant has been recently renovated and renamed "La Table de Palafitte". The new décor accentuates the main assets: the view over the lake and the Alps. The cuisine favours local market produce. Besides the classic dishes that are available throughout the year, the menu is tailored to the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafitte Hotel Neuchâtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing