We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”
Review of Hotel Palafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palafitte
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

good hotel for couples ,but i think 1 or 2 days it is enough ,neuchatel not very beautiful,lake is beautiful.
room is ok,restaurant good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is situated at the border of the beautiful Lake Neuchâtel close to Berne and at half an hour drive from Lausanne. It was constructed to provide five star accommodations during the Swiss national exposition in 2002. The pavilions are built on stilts and all give view over the lake and the Alps. Half of them are on the water from where one can descend a ladder for a swim in the lake, which is unique in Switzerland. Since that exposition in 2002, my wife and I regularly stay at Hotel Palafitte (at one hour drive from our home at the Lake Geneva) and much has been invested to upgrade the original wooden walkways, terraces, balconies, to replace floorboards, etc. The interior of the pavilions are exquisitely designed, well furnished and equipped (Nespresso coffee machine, Bose surround sound home cinema and mp3, computer, Wifi). The bathroom is large and luxurious with wooden floorboards, a shower and a Jacuzzi bathtub. The food of the adjoining restaurant is good, the choice of wines large and exquisite. As we are regular guests, we would appreciate more diversity depending the season. The choice to have meals delivered and served to our room instead of in the restaurant at no extra charge is much appreciated! No effort is spared to make your stay, be it private or on business, a uniquely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

the hotel is beautiful, the rooms a little bit old fashion but very nice and the location on the lake is great! the service is nice overall but the restaurant needs to be improved. such a hotel cannot have a low level restaurant. the quality of the fish was poor, the service very slow, too much. the restaurant is not at the level of a 5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: we got the rivage room and it was great. the rooms on the lake are more beautful but cost double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Neuchatel is not the usual tourist attraction in Switzerland but we were looking for something special and unique for a short birthday weekend. The Palafitte certainly did not disappoint! Our suite was located on the actual Lac de Neuchatel (some suites sit on the water). The view directly onto the water and the Alps, was like being in the Maldives but in Europe! The room design was exceptional with a fantastic large balcony including a ladder with direct access to the lake. The bathroom including whirlpool and Hermes-branded immenities gave an extra feel of luxury - we couldn't ask for more!. Bosé surround-sound stereo system, flat screen tv, the latest Nespresso coffee machine, nicely-stocked mini-bar, personal computer, MP3 docking station, and a bioethanol chimney, were nice touches. Carpet, colour scheme etc in the suite was modern but is a question of personal taste - it could use a small redecoration but this did not take away from a great experience.

Service - perfect from beginning to end. We enjoyed the welcome drink of our choice, at check-in and being driven to our suite in a golf buggy!

Food in the restaurant - was nice but we expected a little more considering the price paid. Food was a little bland. Beautiful restaurant decor and view onto the lake - made it easy to ignore the rather average food.

We appreciated the nice smoking area that the hotel provides to guests who can't beat the nicotine addiction ;)..The smoking room was sealed (insulated from public areas), yet still pleasant for smokers to enjoy their stay - it had a view over the lake and gardens, a small bar area, lovely lounges and ambient lighting and all without 'annoying or causing health concerns' non-smoking guests.

The choice to have breakfast delivered and served to our room instead of in the restaurant at no extra charge, was an added and much appreciated bonus!

Due to the location, you do need a car in order to visit surrounding regions or down-town Neuchatel. This is not the hotel for those looking to be in the thick of it all or in walking distance to tourism - but it is perfect if you want to get away from it all and just spend quality time with your loved one(s). We envision that this place would also be extra nice during summer when you can jump straight into the lake literally from your balcony or sit on the loungers provided whilst sipping on a nice glass of wine. We stayed at the Palafitte in February - it was cold and snowing outside but we still had a fabulous time enjoying the panoramic view from our suite.

Highly recommend this special hotel and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to have one of the suites that are situated on the actual lake. Total privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Hotel Palafitte is a great location for your stay, it is a modern hotel but well furnished and cosy. The atmosphere is very warm and you feel like being at home. There is a magnifient view on the lake from every part of the hotel. I recommend having a drink on the terrace of the hotel. I recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumbledore92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Very nice 5 star hotel with fantastic rooms over the Lake and with outstanding landscape for the Alpes and Lake.
All rooms with everything you can image from internet, printer,DVD, Cd , big plasma TV, Home video surround complemented with a balcony over the lake, where you can smaeel the water lake and relax or take a swim at Summer time.
One single remark on the room - Is missing the ususal bag support for you to open your big bag...
Shuttle '' gare '' service available
Wonderful and peathfully place.

Room Tip: First row over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have visited this hotel and restaurant several times - always fantastic.

Room Tip: All fabulous, overlooking lake neuchatel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#4 of 12 in Neuchatel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palafitte

Address: route des Gouttes-d'Or 2, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: £189 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palafitte 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in Europe built on stilts, the Palafitte enjoys an exceptional setting. Each one of its 40 rooms is a spacious individual bungalow. The exclusive architecture gives the guest a feeling of escape, inside and out. Besides the individual bungalows, the hotel comprises of a large lobby, which has been newly renovated in harmony with the architectural style of the location, a reception, bar, smoking room and a restaurant with a large terrace. The restaurant has been recently renovated and renamed "La Table de Palafitte". The new décor accentuates the main assets: the view over the lake and the Alps. The cuisine favours local market produce. Besides the classic dishes that are available throughout the year, the menu is tailored to the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafitte Hotel Neuchâtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing