We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go in summer, avoid the winter mists!”
Review of Hotel Palafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palafitte
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Go in summer, avoid the winter mists!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I ended up in this 5 star hotel in Neuchatel, after finding nothing else in a booked-out Neuchatel. It lives up to its 5 star reputation and has impeccable staff with a completely trouble free check-in. You´ll be shown to your room (which is really a box sitting either above or on the lake) by a member of staff. Make sure they show you how to operate the lights and blinds. Coming back late at night is not the best time to indulge in an exercise of learning by doing.

One slight problem. I arrived at breakfast late and was disappointed that everything seemed to have been consumed, despite in being only shortly before nine in the morning. This is a popular destination for conferences, and is often completely fully booked, so you run the risk of disappearing in the crowd. And yes, be prepared to pay a small fortune in taxi fares, if you need to go to and come from Neuchatel, since the hotel is located outside the town.

Nevertheless: a must see - in summer!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, try a room actually above the lake in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    120
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
312
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is a great hotel situated on the Lake of Neuchatel. When I mean on the lake it really is ON the lake. Built for the Expo 2002 it was constructed on pylons overs the water. You can swim directly from your room (but maybe not in December). Views are unbeatable looking at the Alps shimmering above the water.
This was a birthday gift in which we took a special packet offering a bottle of Champagne and dinner in the restaurant. Excellent food, service and setting! I recently ate at the restaurant and it still deserves high marks. Bravo!

Room Tip: Front row only overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissWineTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We stoped by for a coffe, because we were staying in another city. We had a lovelly coffe at the deck with a gorgeous Apls View and some baloons flying around. Would recomend for everybody, at least stop by and drink or eat something.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have been returning yearly to this hotel for 8 years.....we come every fall for antique brocante nearby. It is one of my favorite places to stay for the atmosphere. On a sunny day you can see the Alps behind the lake and be able to swim from your balcony. Each room over the lake feels quite private due to the way they built not at a straight right angle. If any of your have read any of my other reviews you know I am obsessive about bathroom toiletries.....well 2 years ago the hotel decided to switch from the Bulgari line with these wonderful soaps and bath gels to Hermes and I must say I preferred the Bulgari line. Also on our most recent visit, fall 2012, I felt that the same care was not being paid to the housekeeping and maintenance.....this makes me sad although unless it really falls I still will come back because to wake up with the sound of the waves, birds and the fresh air makes a 2 day weekend feel like a much longer break! Although we brought our daughter here with us when she was younger I don't recommend this hotel for children. Unless you spend the money for two rooms it would be a bit cramped all in one. The restaurant is good but not spectacular. The service in the restaurant is friendly without be intrusive which on a romantic getaway is what I want. Overall I think for a hotel in Switzerland which are generally quite expensive this hotel has something quite special due to the location. This is what keeps us coming back every year, and while I agree with some of the comments other travelers have written it hasn't dropped in standard enough to lose us as guests.......yet. Both my husband I felt it was time that they replaced and upgraded the mattresses and pillows in the rooms. Also our room was not as perfectly cleaned this time with dust on the settee behind the pillows and the floor of the WC. All in all we still enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at this hotel spend the extra money and stay over the lake! Not in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The day you book, make sure you place a bet with the weather forecast... It is a smashing environment once in your room, because the rooms are spacious, they have some unique features eg: the ladder to go directly from your balcony into the lake, the wall between your bed and the bath that flips...
it is difficult to be a 5 * hotel in this environment and you can tell rapidly with some details in the service or maintenance but dont focus and enjoy the stay

Room Tip: avoid the 2nd row only those directly on the lake are worth the trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpiniMorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Avoid during the summer, airco is a miserable joke just like the rest of the 2002 silly engineering , if it's summer your sun baked pavilion will be horribly hot, you won't sleep and if you open a window you will allow the lake's mosquitos to feast on you. Nets have many holes. Dinner was pricely but good. Breakfast is more than miser with very uninterested and inactive waiters. The Neuchatel lake and area  is of no interest to tourists. This hotel is overrated, overhyped, ridiculously overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineChaumeron, Directeur général at Hotel Palafitte, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Good Morning,

Sorry that your stay did not suit you.

Would you have the kindness to get in touch with my GM, he would like to know more about your deception.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

An amaizing terrace with view over the Neuchatel lake. Situated outside of the city center. Surprising design and a really unique experience. We took a lunch with daily menu, nice quality with creative twist but really small portions.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utazomagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
2.0 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palafitte

Property: Hotel Palafitte
Address: route des Gouttes-d'Or 2, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palafitte 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in Europe built on stilts, the Palafitte enjoys an exceptional setting. Each one of its 40 rooms is a spacious individual bungalow. The exclusive architecture gives the guest a feeling of escape, inside and out. Besides the individual bungalows, the hotel comprises of a large lobby, which has been newly renovated in harmony with the architectural style of the location, a reception, bar, smoking room and a restaurant with a large terrace. The restaurant has been recently renovated and renamed "La Table de Palafitte". The new décor accentuates the main assets: the view over the lake and the Alps. The cuisine favours local market produce. Besides the classic dishes that are available throughout the year, the menu is tailored to the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafitte Hotel Neuchâtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing