We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palafitte
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was lucky enough to be surprised with this little gem through a work trip. The driveway is very unassuming with a small modern entrance. The reception staff are polite, helpful and willing to go the extra mile to give you a fantastic experience. I was able to borrow an adaptor plug from the hotel as Switzerland has different ones to the rest of Europe. It was a short walk down a boardwalk to find my individual room right on the lake. The room was open plan, light and beautiful. Every detail has been planned down to the artifacts in the cases (I had some very old bronze pieces to admire)and umbrellas by the door.

Due to the fact the bar was not open on my arrival there was a selection of complimentary food and drinks on offer from freshly baked bread, fruit and a salad tray. It was very easy to feel at home in this luxury apartment style room. The bathrooms are outstanding with large open space, shower and a whirlpool bath.

The bed itself is comfy and clean. Housekeeping were very kind to me and tidied up after me everyday (I'm a rather untidy house guest!).

I ate dinner with my business party one night in the hotel. It was a set menu with a cold scallop starter, venison with mushroom risotto and finished with an apple tart dessert. The food was beautiful and fresh. The dining staff were very accommodating to members of the party who did not like items on the set menu and found them alternatives.

Very beautiful hotel on a stunning lake. Would stay here again from my own pocket any day I'm in Switzerland!

Room Tip: In the summer if you enjoy swimming I would definitely recommend a lake room so you can go from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_rodway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in room 19. The Balcony opened out on the lake. Each room was independent of each other. Very spacious room and bathroom had a jacuzzi. The highlight was the shower head that changed colour when in use. Good spread of breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juince from the machine. Friendly staff and great signal of the wifi. Would strongly recommend for couples.

Room Tip: The line of rooms on the lake not the ones parallel to them. Dont choose the extreme corner rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Min786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is an unusual hotel - nothing to look at from the front but behind the reception area are stunning rooms over the lake. You are driven there by a buggy which adds to the fun. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need, including Nespresso coffee machine, mini bar, complimentary water. The beds are large and comfortable even if the duvets are the normal Swiss ones - one each! The bathroom is a joy with a spa bath, great shower with lights in the head and two sinks . Plenty of room here with a separate toilet and the great thing is that the bathroom did not steam up no matter how hot the shower.
The balcony is right in the lake and with stunning views over the mountains across the lake, they are all positioned to give you maximum privacy. There are steps into the water and they provide towels for swimming, more for summer than February! Nice bar area and restaurant, and good standard of food.
Just some watch outs - if you want to walk to the town this is a little too far out and you need to go by bus or taxi. The bus is free if you get the hotel ticket and the taxi about 24chf. The service was not 5 star - we waited well over an hour for room service and 20 minutes to check out. On Sunday we had brunch and whilst the food was nice they ran out of options within 30 mins. The staff are friendly but it seemed to lack co-ordination and planning.

Room Tip: Go for the lake pavilions if you can - you are literally in the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agentswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stay here for a second time and totally enjoy. The hotel itsef and all the facilities are really for 5*. Staff and service they provide are very professional.I had only one point- the restaurant in the hotel could have been better. In case of dinner- use du Peyrou! Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polukhina_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is absolutely amazing. The rooms are big and beautiful. The staff is fantastic. And the best part are the breath taking views from each balcony of the lake and snow capped alps. Worth every penny. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a luxury experience in Switzerland. The restaurant and bar are also very nice as well. The hotel is not near old town but The hotel provides a free bus pass to get to old town and the bus picks you up about 100 yards from the lobby so it's very convenient and it only takes ten minutes.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room over the water but all the rooms are great and have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent a night in June with my partner and I must stay it was a very unique experience. We had purchased a special offer via Internet for a one night stay and dinner. When booking, I had specified I was booking for a special occasion and the staff was nice enough to put us in a "Lacustre" room (over the lake) (there are only few of them the other ones are by the lake). Wow, what an experience! It is not like staying in a standard 5 star hotel. It is a mix between staying in an exclusive suite and a luxury yacht. The room was really comfortable. The bathroom was huge, with a spa. But the best part was the terrace over the lake with ladder access to the lake (I had a swim even though the water was still cold at that time of year). Staff at reception was more than welcoming, helpful and friendly. We used the bicycles at disposal to go and explore the port nearby. I would have loved to give a 5 star rate but unfortunately we did not have such a great experience at dinner. Nothing about the quality of the food. But as I said I had booked via an offer that included dinner (but only a specific menu) and the waiter made us feel we did not deserve the same treatment as the other guests. I don't want to extend on this and still think the whole experience was great, just a shame we did not feel that welcome at the restaurant. I still very much recommend this special place to anybody wanting to live something unique on Lake Neuchatel.

Room Tip: Definitely book a Lacustre room! So special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Much has been said about this hotel and of course, there is not only praise. Our overnight stay though was perfect. Friendly reception, bikes available for free for some nice rides along the lake, lovely over water room, good beds, free wifi and a superb meal, as well as a perfect buffet breakfast. The place ain't cheap and I would even say slightly overpriced for american or european visitors, but then sonare many other places which do not offer what the Palafitte offers: memories of a special place. Some upkeep needed, but definitively a place to remember.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#4 of 12 in Neuchatel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palafitte

Address: route des Gouttes-d'Or 2, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: £241 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palafitte 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in Europe built on stilts, the Palafitte enjoys an exceptional setting. Each one of its 40 rooms is a spacious individual bungalow. The exclusive architecture gives the guest a feeling of escape, inside and out. Besides the individual bungalows, the hotel comprises of a large lobby, which has been newly renovated in harmony with the architectural style of the location, a reception, bar, smoking room and a restaurant with a large terrace. The restaurant has been recently renovated and renamed "La Table de Palafitte". The new décor accentuates the main assets: the view over the lake and the Alps. The cuisine favours local market produce. Besides the classic dishes that are available throughout the year, the menu is tailored to the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafitte Hotel Neuchâtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing