We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting and a good hotel as well.”
Review of Hotel Alpes et Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is alongside the CFF station but there is no noise from the trains. The room prices fall into two types depending if you want a view of the lake or the side of the station building. I chose the station building and in Room 310 enjoyed a perfect nights sleep.
The staff were all very helpful and all spoke English. My room had everything I needed.
The breakfast had a wide range of things to eat and could not be faulted, there is also a view of the lake thrown in.
I decided to push the boat out and had dinner on the terrace.. As I walked out onto the terrace I stopped dead in my tracks, the view, lake and Alps complete with snow, wow. The dinner was excellent. I didn't finish my bottle of mineral water and the waitress gave me a glass and told me to finish off in my room, how about that for helpful!
If finances are tight there is a McDonalds the other side of the road from the hotel.
Would definatly stay there again if in Neuchatel.

Room Tip: I don't think it is worth paying extra for the view, rooms are for sleeping in after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel Alpes et Lac is situated very conveniently next to the station above the town (there is a furnicular from the station to the lake). Staff are friendly and efficient, but their French - not surprisingly - was better than their English.

Rooms are functional and not particularly luxurious, but match the location and the style of the hotel. If you like wooded flooring then this is for you. My guess is that the rooms facing the lake have a better view. I looked at the station through my window, but as I was there on business and arrived late and left early, no problem.

The price is good and the location is very convenient - reserve early to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Since years I was regularly staying in Beau Rivage..This time there was an international conference in Neuchatel and found the last room of Hotel Alpes et Lac.Stayed 2 nights.
It is perfectly located at the exit of main train station..very well organised.Good breakfast,perfect panaroma..Besides the price is really good comparing to the service you receive..
Thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KOXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, with friends, on our way to Lake Como. Don't try to find it with your sat-nav, (it takes you into the tunnel under the city!) follow the signs for the station. We had a great room with wonderful views over the Lake to the Alps in the distance. Room was very comfortable & clean. The restaurant & menu in-house is very pleasant with good service without being overdone. Private car parking too.
Breakfast is very good with plenty of selection. Sundowners on the terrace overlooking the city & lake watching the sun turn the snow on the tops of the distant Alps a beautiful amber was a very pleasant way to spend an evening, though apparently the mozzy's can provide some unnecessary excitement in the season.
Must have had a staff shake up too as they all could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. Special mention for Elodie who even struggled up the stairs with some of our cases because the lift had stopped working.
Being so close to the station was an unexpected bonus so we decided to take the train down the lake for the day. Very reasonable fare compared to the UK & spot on time too!
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunsmoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a one night stay at the hotel and were completely satisfied with everything.
We had a room with a beautiful view overlooking the city and the lake. We didn't realize the closeness of the railway station at all.
The room was spacious and I loved the hardwood flooring! There was only one wardrobe in the room which is fine for a shirt term stay.
Breakfast buffet was good with all the cold food you can imagine: bread, toast, croissant, cheese, ham & salami, yoghurts, fruits, cereals, jams & honey, juices and whatnot. Would appretiate some warm food and veggies.
The terrace looked very inviting but since it was raining we unfortunately didn't get a chance to enjoy it.
The staff was very kind and helpful.
And finally a hotel with free and working WiFi. :-)

Check the review of 'visitor083' which also on the spot. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aguseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Definitely ask for a room overlooking the lake. We had two rooms - one double, one twin on the second floor overlooking the lake. Both rooms very clean, no air conditioning but fans provided. The receptionists were very helpful booking restaurants etc. Breakfast was perfectly adequate - look out for the pink painted hard boiled eggs! Plenty of cereals, bread, croissants, meats, cheeses, fresh and dried fruit. Pleasant terrace. Don't worry about being near the railway station - if you have a room overlooking the lake you hear no trains.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank visitor083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel is well located, just front the train station and a walk of 15 minutes to downtown and the lake shore. We had a doble room with an extra bed. The room was small, not enough space for our luggage. Restaurant: it has a great view, delicious food, very friendly waiter. Parking: in the street, outside hotel, they provide a badge for parking there.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpes et Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpes et Lac

Address: place de la Gare 2, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: £87 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpes et Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alpes et Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing