We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plusses and minuses, but overall quite nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Ecluse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Plusses and minuses, but overall quite nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a top floor room, really an attic with dormers. It was awkward but adequate for 3 persons. The kitchenette was a nice and welcome surprise. The bathroom was tiny but clean and towels were the best we had in Europe. The room was hot, but they provided a fan and the two large windows opened onto a spectacular view of the Chateu (which is the building on their website photo). An easy walk into town, but almost everything was closed when we arrived on Sunday. Sadly, the museums were also closed on Monday in summer, so we didn't get to see any of that. The entrance is steep steps and the building next door is the Salvation Army, so the street welcome is not so nice and there is a lot of traffic noise into the night. But once inside, the staff were very hospitable and spoke excellent English. We got the breakfast the first day, it was fine but somewhat expensive. So the second day we went to the bakery and got some croissants and juice and were happy with that. Parked in the public lot a block away, somewhat pricey based on our expectations, but convenient. We were in this area to find family roots, and this was a good base for us for that purpose.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Chateau for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    37
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
21
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Where to begin. On first impression they have made no attempt to decorate the stairwells which are just exposed concrete walls that have been painted (same in the bedrooms). Yes I know it's an old building but that's no excuse. I have to say that we received a pleasant welcome. DO NOT stay here during the summer, our room was like an oven. I accept that I did not check if they had a/c but surely a hotel should be able to offer guests a mobile a/c unit or at the very least a fan. We were politely told that all the fans were being used and that they would give us one if one became available?? As a result we had no choice but to open the windows fully. We left the windows open all day while we were out but when we returned it was still stifling, the temperature in our room did not drop below 26 degrees. Our room was facing onto an extremely busy road which meant that noise levels were atrocious from a constant stream of heavy traffic (it was just about bearable between 2-5 am). Perhaps the rooms at the back were a little quieter but certainly not any cooler. Needless to say we got very little sleep and so checked out after 1 night, despite having booked for 3 (we were only charged for 2 nights which we were grateful for). Other comments would be that the bathroom was tiny and in need of modernising, the bed linen was also of very poor quality. Positives - The hotel is within easy walking distance to the centre and I'm sure the kitchenette area would be useful. We have stayed in other hotels in Switzerland of a similar price, all of which were of a much higher standard and better value for money. We've never been so relieved to check out of somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uster, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Good hotel, clean and kind staff. Fair price and good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonhoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 2 yr old son.

The hotel is in the centre of Neuchatel, close to the shops. We parked in the public car park next door which has access to the hotel ground. The only disadvantage is that there are a lot of steps to the hotel but it is manageable, if you have to make a few trips just hook the door open.

The hotel itself is a small boutique style, nicely decorated and clean. The room (called 'Nostalgique') was a v good size, we had our own travel cot which fit easily in the room without taking up too much space. There was a small kitchenette area, a sink/tap with a counter but most importantly for us, a fridge/freezer which was great as we had our son's soya milk/yoghurt to store as well as ice packs. V handy indeed.

The staff were v friendly, spoke fluent English (unfortunately we speak no French, sigh, must sort that out!!) and were v helpful. Breakfast was the usual mix of breads and cereals.

The only con was the mattress. It was v squeaky and soft, in fact it offered no support. It was on it's last legs.

Price-wise, for Switzerland it was reasonable and gave VFM.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

This hotel is great for what it offers. Staff very friendly, areas and rooms very clean, normal price, breakfast good Comparing to some other more expensive hotels in neuchatel. A big minus : the Internet just did not exist.. Overall very good. Make sur you visit the Italian restaurant near by (gondola), does not exist yet in advisor.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tharsdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

I've been to Neuchâtel quite a few times over the last few years, and have stayed at a few different hotels in addition to Hotel de l'Ecluse such as Beaulac, Beau Rivage and even Hotel des Arts. Hotel de l'Ecluse is a charming little alternative for the cost-conscious business or leisure travelers.

The hotel is located a bit up on the hillside away from the lake, but is within walking distance to the town center. It's best to take a taxi from the train station especially if you have luggage. There is underground (paid) parking right under the hotel for those with rental cars. You do have to climb a few steps to get to the front door from the street or parking level. Town center is within a 10-minute walk. The lakeside is within a 15-minute walk.

Most, if not all, rooms have a kitchenette. Cooking and dining utensils can be borrowed from the front desk for those inclined to prepare their own light meals. There's a supermarket just a short walk from the hotel towards the town center.

Room furnishings are sparse but well coordinated. Some of the rooms have special theme or motif so not all rooms are furnished similarly. There is no carpet so you might want to bring slippers in winter time.

Large persons beware: the elevator and most of the bathrooms are really tiny. The elevator fits really just about one person plus luggage. There's no bath tub, just a shower stall, in the bathrooms.

Pros:
+ good values even at a low cost
+ kitchenette for light meals (or even just the mini fridge to store food/drinks)
+ free wireless connection (see also cons)
+ clean, uncluttered, well-maintained rooms
+ friendly and helpful staff (even if you don't speak French much)

Cons:
- inconvenient access (stairs to the front door), definitely not for the mobility challenged
- tiny elevator and bathrooms
- most rooms have no views (not a problem if you don't care for views)
- wireless connection not always on (it seemed to cut out mostly between 11pm-8am)
- cold floors during winter time

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank twiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

This is a lovely, older style hotel tucked away from the main town centre. There's no direct bus route from the railway station. It's about a 15 minute walk or about CHF15 in a taxi. There are quite a few steps up from the road to the front of the hotel. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the lake. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable but no airconditioning and it was a bit noisy at night with the window open - from the road in front of the hotel and railway line at the back. We had a kitchen area in our room with cooker, kettle and fridge. No safe but valuables can be locked away in the hotel office. The staff were all very helpful and very friendly. The continental breakfast, which could be taken inside or out in a small courtyard was very nice.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank SuzySoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Beaulac
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ecluse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ecluse

Property: Hotel de l'Ecluse
Address: rue de l' Ecluse 24, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Ecluse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel de l'Ecluse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing