We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Hotel de l'Ecluse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last week. Our plans changed so we had to cancel one night, the hotel staff were very accommodating and allowed us to amend our booking free of any cancellation fees. The hotel is clean and nicely hidden just off a not so busy road. It was very quiet with no noise at all coming from anywhere. The hotel is about 15 min walk from the train station. Very clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
23
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Me with my wife stayed in the hotel in early November 2011 after we made our minds to explore Neuchatel. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the railway station and app the same distance (or less) to the main city attractions. The reception is friendly and very helpful (we got restaurants map, walking tour map, useful tips), the rooms are ok for 3 star hotel and have all necessary equipment (including a small kitchen). The city itself is tiny and beautiful. We enjoyed this 1 day excursion.

Room Tip: We lived in room number 22. It faces the front. We had no complains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentyn_Kyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is situated on a busy road just a short walk from the lakeside and is close to shops and restaurants. The public car park next door is ideally placed with access directly to steps up to the hotel entrance. We received a friendly welcome and were given a pleasant modern room and small bathroom with a view of the cliff face which forms the backdrop to the hotel. Maybe it is noisier at the front but we heard little more than the trains that run above and behind.

Breakfast was sufficient, although more coffee would have been welcome. Overall a perfectly good city hotel, suitable for both business people and tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a top floor room, really an attic with dormers. It was awkward but adequate for 3 persons. The kitchenette was a nice and welcome surprise. The bathroom was tiny but clean and towels were the best we had in Europe. The room was hot, but they provided a fan and the two large windows opened onto a spectacular view of the Chateu (which is the building on their website photo). An easy walk into town, but almost everything was closed when we arrived on Sunday. Sadly, the museums were also closed on Monday in summer, so we didn't get to see any of that. The entrance is steep steps and the building next door is the Salvation Army, so the street welcome is not so nice and there is a lot of traffic noise into the night. But once inside, the staff were very hospitable and spoke excellent English. We got the breakfast the first day, it was fine but somewhat expensive. So the second day we went to the bakery and got some croissants and juice and were happy with that. Parked in the public lot a block away, somewhat pricey based on our expectations, but convenient. We were in this area to find family roots, and this was a good base for us for that purpose.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Chateau for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Where to begin. On first impression they have made no attempt to decorate the stairwells which are just exposed concrete walls that have been painted (same in the bedrooms). Yes I know it's an old building but that's no excuse. I have to say that we received a pleasant welcome. DO NOT stay here during the summer, our room was like an oven. I accept that I did not check if they had a/c but surely a hotel should be able to offer guests a mobile a/c unit or at the very least a fan. We were politely told that all the fans were being used and that they would give us one if one became available?? As a result we had no choice but to open the windows fully. We left the windows open all day while we were out but when we returned it was still stifling, the temperature in our room did not drop below 26 degrees. Our room was facing onto an extremely busy road which meant that noise levels were atrocious from a constant stream of heavy traffic (it was just about bearable between 2-5 am). Perhaps the rooms at the back were a little quieter but certainly not any cooler. Needless to say we got very little sleep and so checked out after 1 night, despite having booked for 3 (we were only charged for 2 nights which we were grateful for). Other comments would be that the bathroom was tiny and in need of modernising, the bed linen was also of very poor quality. Positives - The hotel is within easy walking distance to the centre and I'm sure the kitchenette area would be useful. We have stayed in other hotels in Switzerland of a similar price, all of which were of a much higher standard and better value for money. We've never been so relieved to check out of somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uster, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Good hotel, clean and kind staff. Fair price and good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonhoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 2 yr old son.

The hotel is in the centre of Neuchatel, close to the shops. We parked in the public car park next door which has access to the hotel ground. The only disadvantage is that there are a lot of steps to the hotel but it is manageable, if you have to make a few trips just hook the door open.

The hotel itself is a small boutique style, nicely decorated and clean. The room (called 'Nostalgique') was a v good size, we had our own travel cot which fit easily in the room without taking up too much space. There was a small kitchenette area, a sink/tap with a counter but most importantly for us, a fridge/freezer which was great as we had our son's soya milk/yoghurt to store as well as ice packs. V handy indeed.

The staff were v friendly, spoke fluent English (unfortunately we speak no French, sigh, must sort that out!!) and were v helpful. Breakfast was the usual mix of breads and cereals.

The only con was the mattress. It was v squeaky and soft, in fact it offered no support. It was on it's last legs.

Price-wise, for Switzerland it was reasonable and gave VFM.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ecluse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ecluse

Property: Hotel de l'Ecluse
Address: rue de l' Ecluse 24, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Ecluse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'Ecluse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing