We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional french cuisine revised - original and tasty”

Brasserie Le Cardinal
Ranked #8 of 142 Restaurants in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional french cuisine revised - original and tasty”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have been to this Brasserie several times and appreciate the regular menu update with each season, the fresh vegetables, the generally high quality of the ingredients, the originality of some dishes (others are more traditional)... The desserts (especially the sorbets coming from a local pastry shop) are excellent - the home made french fries too! Unique atmosphere; the staff is very professional.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    132
    32
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful ambiance, good food, impressive seatfood”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Le Cardinal Brasserie is one of those really charming Brasseries that you're always afraid would let you down with the food -- yet instead surprises you! We went recently over the 2013-2014 holidays when it was quite busy (because many other restaurants were closed), and on short notice got a great table.

Our friends were attracted by the seafood platters, and were not disappointed. A TON of shellfish, all well prepared and presented for quite a reasonable price actually. The other traditional dishes were also well executed. The service was very good and friendly, with the menus available in English and the servers quite comfortable in English.

I've been there a few times and won't hesitate to take visitors back, or go ourselves on a night-out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swisspugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food paired with very bad service”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I visited the Brasserie Le Cardinal in Neuchâtel with a large group of work colleagues. The Cardinal is a nicely decorated restaurant in Neuchâtel, located in the city centre.

It took the waiters quite some time to take our drink orders. The three course meal was good, the wine selection too. But what was outstanding was the extremely bad service. The waiters seemed to avoid every eye contact with us and it was hard to order additional bottles of wine and mineral water. We had the impression that we deranged them. But no orders, no turnover. They did not care.

But customers will continue to come anyway because of the location and the good food. The selection of fresh seafood is worth a visit during the winter time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Horrible Service”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

There are some places in the world where one can almost wander blindly into a restaurant and be very pleased with the fare. I have been to several restaurants in Neuchatel at one time or another, and the food has ranged from good to outstanding. So I was quite hopeful when a few friends recommended the Le Cardinal as one of the better establishments in town. As far as the quality of the food went, we were not disappointed.

We were part of a large group, and pretty much everyone commented with great approval on their respective meals. The grilled char was excellent, the entrecote was very good and the pan seared foie gras was even better. One of our number had the carrot soup, which apparently not only tasted outstanding, but came with a wonderfully unique presentation: it was served in a round, glass bowl that resembled a large brandy glass without the stem, and through the glass, we could see a lovely layer of froth on top.

Yes, the food was good, but in a town where there are many good restaurants, I am not sure that I would go back to an establishment with such astonishingly poor service. To start with, all the waiters seemed to have a real flair for turning away any table where they might be signalled by the patrons. I thought it was just our group, but noticed throughout the meal that a few other tables were having similar problems in attracting their server's attention. Had the servers been doing their jobs properly in the first place, such wonton signaling would have been unnecessary. To summarize: we were all seated for about 20 minutes before we managed to get the waiter's attention and ask for water and menus; we were seated at the table for more than 45 minutes before we got the waiter over to take drinks and food orders (and one would think that such a large group might like more than two bottles of water between them); some of the orders were mixed up, and my wife never did get what she asked for despite repeated attempts to explain it to the waiter; when the time came to pay the bill, we got tired of waiting and I went in search of the waiter. All told, dinner took around three and a half hours, which would have been fine if we had been eating and drinking for most of that time. As it was, each person only had an entree; nobody was willing to wait for dessert. Most of the people in our group spoke French, so it was not a matter of miscommunication, either.

It is a pity about the service, given that the food was so good, and not a bad value. Switzerland is expensive, and the prices were quite in line with other restaurants in town. Would I go back to Le Cardinal? I doubt it: there are other fine restaurants in Neuchatel where the staff behave as though they are happy to see you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good food from seasonal menu in beautiful brasserie in town centre”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I live in Neuchatel and this is one of my favourite restaurants that I go back to time and again. The restaurant offers a seasonal menu (English version available) which ensures variety but they also keep their 'signature dishes' like entrecote and steak tartare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Le Cardinal also viewed

Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 

Been to Brasserie Le Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing