We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Walhalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Walhalla
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a nice surprise wen arriving Friendly staff and a smooth check in.The rooms are clean and have a Nespresso machine in the room.The beds are good but the Bathroom needs a update.Good breakfast with plenty of choise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    86
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
48
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hello,

I booked a twin bedroom for this hotel and here are my reviews!!

Positive

1) The location is great!! It is just right next to the train station!!You don't have to spend any money for taxi.. You are never too far away from the nearest restaurant or supermarket..

2) The breakfast and the main restaurant is actually very good.. I love the decor and the breakfast choices are typical standard European breakfast..

3) The room are clean, functional and the bathroom kit is complete.. Typical chain hotel standard..

Negative

1) The rooms are too standard and basic to be considered a 4 star hotel.. The bathroom is made with cheap white tiles and very boring.. Furthermore, the room decorations are simply too standard for a 4 star hotel. The only comforting factor is the size of the room, which is larger than the usual 3 star hotel.. I have seen 3 star hotels with much better rooms and toilets than here!!

2) The price reflects more of a 5 star hotel rather than a 3 star hotel.. Basically, its just not worth it..

Overall, it can easily pass as a good 3 star hotel, but it does not reflect a 4 star standard..

Room Tip: Its just not worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have just came back from switerzerland after a wonderful 9 nights holiday..the first 2 nights we spent at the hotel Walhalla ,And must say what a great hotel it was... on arriving I pulled up to the car park barrier and was surprised to be greeted with a very good English speeking lady,,then made our way to reception and the same lady greeted us with a very professional
manor,, we arrived at about 1145 am and the room was ready for us ,,And it was better than I was expecting.. large double bed and very comfortabl too,, a large amount of bathroom toiletries so don't need to take any at all , The main restaurant ??I think?? was closed for a few weeks but the bar restaurant area was plenty big enough with a very good choice of breakfast items .we had a drink and meal at the hotel witch was very good with good portions and very service,,all I all we felt very relaxed and treated well ,,,A big thank to all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRGRIMSDALE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for business trip for a few nights.

The hotel is located 2 minutes off the St. Gallen main train station, and minutes by foot to the Church. Overall location wise its the place to be.

Rooms are clean, and spacious. The hotel provided a Nespresso machine, and as well as various amenities. I highly recommend to request for a quiet room location.

Food wise, the breakfast isnt too bad when compared to norm Swiss hotel standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is very central to the railway station and the old town. Clean and comfortable room. The price was quite good for Switzerland. Parking was a good bonus though you do pay for it. Breakfast was quite good. Atmosphere in the hotel was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

You can't go wrong to pick this hotel. Close to train station, clean modern room. 15 minutes walking distance to sights and shopping. We also tried the restaurant, and it was good. Moderate price, so I would say good value for money, considering this is Switzerland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great location, great price comparing to the nearby hotel Metropol, quiet room, great front desk service and good food at very reasonable price in the restaurant. Strongly recommended for the families. They add extra bed at no additional charge to the double occupency room. Great value comparing to Metropol. We spent CHF 480 per day in Metropol comparing to CHF 299 per day in Best Western, even though the room in Best Western is slightly smaller than that from Metropol.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.3 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#4 of 18 in St. Gallen
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walhalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walhalla

Property: Hotel Walhalla
Address: Poststrasse 27, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walhalla)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Walhalla 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walhalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Gallen
St. Gallen Best Western
Best Western Walhalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing