We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a walhalla”
Review of Hotel Walhalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Walhalla
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel offer everything you need for your stay in St. Gallen. Less than a minute away from The train and busstation and on walkingdistance to the centre of town and Stiftlibrary.
The room was spacious, clean and everything you need was provided; like a Nesspressomachine and minibar and a bathroom with plenty amenities. The beds were very comfortable. The personel couldn't be more friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast was perfect, lots of choices of bread, yoghurt and hot and cold things to eat.
Would definatly stay here again and I can highly recommend this hotel for a stay in St. Gallen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location is great since the hotel is near the train station.Everything is cheap looking and made of plastic, the room looks more like a cheap motel and very cold. For the price payed it is definetely not worth the money. Braekfast is very good and the room is clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The personal was very friendly and did know theyr job. The room was very clean and all you need is in the room, even a Nespresso Coffemachine. Only the bed was not so confortable, but i was so tired so it was not realy important.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a nice surprise wen arriving Friendly staff and a smooth check in.The rooms are clean and have a Nespresso machine in the room.The beds are good but the Bathroom needs a update.Good breakfast with plenty of choise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hello,

I booked a twin bedroom for this hotel and here are my reviews!!

Positive

1) The location is great!! It is just right next to the train station!!You don't have to spend any money for taxi.. You are never too far away from the nearest restaurant or supermarket..

2) The breakfast and the main restaurant is actually very good.. I love the decor and the breakfast choices are typical standard European breakfast..

3) The room are clean, functional and the bathroom kit is complete.. Typical chain hotel standard..

Negative

1) The rooms are too standard and basic to be considered a 4 star hotel.. The bathroom is made with cheap white tiles and very boring.. Furthermore, the room decorations are simply too standard for a 4 star hotel. The only comforting factor is the size of the room, which is larger than the usual 3 star hotel.. I have seen 3 star hotels with much better rooms and toilets than here!!

2) The price reflects more of a 5 star hotel rather than a 3 star hotel.. Basically, its just not worth it..

Overall, it can easily pass as a good 3 star hotel, but it does not reflect a 4 star standard..

Room Tip: Its just not worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have just came back from switerzerland after a wonderful 9 nights holiday..the first 2 nights we spent at the hotel Walhalla ,And must say what a great hotel it was... on arriving I pulled up to the car park barrier and was surprised to be greeted with a very good English speeking lady,,then made our way to reception and the same lady greeted us with a very professional
manor,, we arrived at about 1145 am and the room was ready for us ,,And it was better than I was expecting.. large double bed and very comfortabl too,, a large amount of bathroom toiletries so don't need to take any at all , The main restaurant ??I think?? was closed for a few weeks but the bar restaurant area was plenty big enough with a very good choice of breakfast items .we had a drink and meal at the hotel witch was very good with good portions and very service,,all I all we felt very relaxed and treated well ,,,A big thank to all

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRGRIMSDALE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for business trip for a few nights.

The hotel is located 2 minutes off the St. Gallen main train station, and minutes by foot to the Church. Overall location wise its the place to be.

Rooms are clean, and spacious. The hotel provided a Nespresso machine, and as well as various amenities. I highly recommend to request for a quiet room location.

Food wise, the breakfast isnt too bad when compared to norm Swiss hotel standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
0.3 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
26 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Newstar
Hotel Newstar
#6 of 18 in St. Gallen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walhalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walhalla

Address: Poststrasse 27, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walhalla)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Gallen
Price Range: £81 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Walhalla 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walhalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Gallen
St. Gallen Best Western
Best Western Walhalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing