We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About Location”
Review of Hotel Walhalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Walhalla
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's All About Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of the trusted name (Best Western) and its location (right across the street from the train station). It is a bit pricey, but not out of line in terms of others in the general area, especially given the location that we were seeking. The staff were very courteous and helpful, their ability to speak English a definite plus. If we had occasion to be in the area again, we'd stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    84
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
45
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
250 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel offer everything you need for your stay in St. Gallen. Less than a minute away from The train and busstation and on walkingdistance to the centre of town and Stiftlibrary.
The room was spacious, clean and everything you need was provided; like a Nesspressomachine and minibar and a bathroom with plenty amenities. The beds were very comfortable. The personel couldn't be more friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast was perfect, lots of choices of bread, yoghurt and hot and cold things to eat.
Would definatly stay here again and I can highly recommend this hotel for a stay in St. Gallen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location is great since the hotel is near the train station.Everything is cheap looking and made of plastic, the room looks more like a cheap motel and very cold. For the price payed it is definetely not worth the money. Braekfast is very good and the room is clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRIEGSTETTEN
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The personal was very friendly and did know theyr job. The room was very clean and all you need is in the room, even a Nespresso Coffemachine. Only the bed was not so confortable, but i was so tired so it was not realy important.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a nice surprise wen arriving Friendly staff and a smooth check in.The rooms are clean and have a Nespresso machine in the room.The beds are good but the Bathroom needs a update.Good breakfast with plenty of choise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hello,

I booked a twin bedroom for this hotel and here are my reviews!!

Positive

1) The location is great!! It is just right next to the train station!!You don't have to spend any money for taxi.. You are never too far away from the nearest restaurant or supermarket..

2) The breakfast and the main restaurant is actually very good.. I love the decor and the breakfast choices are typical standard European breakfast..

3) The room are clean, functional and the bathroom kit is complete.. Typical chain hotel standard..

Negative

1) The rooms are too standard and basic to be considered a 4 star hotel.. The bathroom is made with cheap white tiles and very boring.. Furthermore, the room decorations are simply too standard for a 4 star hotel. The only comforting factor is the size of the room, which is larger than the usual 3 star hotel.. I have seen 3 star hotels with much better rooms and toilets than here!!

2) The price reflects more of a 5 star hotel rather than a 3 star hotel.. Basically, its just not worth it..

Overall, it can easily pass as a good 3 star hotel, but it does not reflect a 4 star standard..

Room Tip: Its just not worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have just came back from switerzerland after a wonderful 9 nights holiday..the first 2 nights we spent at the hotel Walhalla ,And must say what a great hotel it was... on arriving I pulled up to the car park barrier and was surprised to be greeted with a very good English speeking lady,,then made our way to reception and the same lady greeted us with a very professional
manor,, we arrived at about 1145 am and the room was ready for us ,,And it was better than I was expecting.. large double bed and very comfortabl too,, a large amount of bathroom toiletries so don't need to take any at all , The main restaurant ??I think?? was closed for a few weeks but the bar restaurant area was plenty big enough with a very good choice of breakfast items .we had a drink and meal at the hotel witch was very good with good portions and very service,,all I all we felt very relaxed and treated well ,,,A big thank to all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRGRIMSDALE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#4 of 18 in St. Gallen
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walhalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walhalla

Property: Hotel Walhalla
Address: Poststrasse 27, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walhalla)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Walhalla 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walhalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Gallen
St. Gallen Best Western
Best Western Walhalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing