We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOTEL ELITE - ST GALLEN”

Hotel Elite St. Gallen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elite St. Gallen
Ranked #5 of 7 St. Gallen B&B and Inns
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“HOTEL ELITE - ST GALLEN”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Friendly staff, extremely clean throughout. Close to the Marktplatz. A 10 min amble to the bus and rail station also a very frequent bus / trolleybus service (2 or 3 stops) .
Short flight of steep stairs to the reception on the first floor, lift to all other floors. Buffet-breakfast was unimaginative.
This was my third visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
2
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
590 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

But you do hear everything in the room next door. The location is indeed central. The staff are kind and smiling. The wifi worked fine. Scrupulously clean. Some rooms without toilet or shower for 80 CHF....

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Hotel is nearly downtown and therefore it was our choise for the night. We had a double room with bath. The room is small but not tiny. The bath is small and old. Never before I have been in a hotel with shower curtains. It had a smell while I toke a shower. The bed was too soft for me, haven't had a long sleep that night.
The breakfast was special as there were no fresh cheese or meat. Everything is in small single portions: jam, spread cheese (absolutely not easy to spread), liver sausage, butter. There were only plain yoghurt and fruit yoghurt that were fresh. Eggs where cooked and colored like you get them at easter.
Eventually the hotel was "Elite" some 30 years ago, but wasn't refurbished since then. Even the crockery looks that old.
It was disappointing for 160CHF.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Gallen hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I picked this hotel because of it location and reasonable price – one can hardly find a hotel room under CHF100! Room rate came with a good continental breakfast.

This hotel located very close to the market square and only 5 minutes walk from the train station. It was easy to find the hotel, once you found the street; you can see the big sign of the hotel. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel so looking for a meal is never a problem. A metro station was just by the entrance of the street. Therefore it is easy to go anyway although I could just walk to the main train station and the city center where the tourist information center are located.

The single room is a lot more spacious then Hotel Oberland. I even have a closet in the room. Room was clean and the double bed was comfortable, although the may need to fix the headboard of the bed.

There was heater, a sofa and a small TV, a working desk and a chair in the room. Free wifi in the room is a plus.

Bathroom was clean with enough amenities.

One thing I have mention here though, I had to walk up a few steps before reaching the reception. This may be hard for people that carry big bags. However the service from the staff was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I picked this hotel because of it location and reasonable price – one can hardly find a hotel room under CHF100! Room rate came with a good continental breakfast.

This hotel located very close to the market square and only 5 minutes walk from the train station. It was easy to find the hotel, once you found the street; you can see the big sign of the hotel. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel so looking for a meal is never a problem. A metro station was just by the entrance of the street. Therefore it is easy to go anyway although I could just walk to the main train station and the city center where the tourist information center are located.

The single room is a lot more spacious then Hotel Oberland. I even have a closet in the room. Room was clean and the double bed was comfortable, although the may need to fix the headboard of the bed.

There was heater, a sofa and a small TV, a working desk and a chair in the room. Free wifi in the room is a plus.

Bathroom was clean with enough amenities.

One thing I have mention here though, I had to walk up a few steps before reaching the reception. This may be hard for people that carry big bags. However the service from the staff was good.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Walhalla
Hotel Walhalla
#9 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Ring
Hotel am Ring
#14 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite St. Gallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite St. Gallen

Property: Hotel Elite St. Gallen
Address: Metzgergasse 9 9000 St. Gallen, Switzerland, St. Gallen 9004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Elite St. Gallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing