We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dom
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel on two different ocassions, just one night each time. Location is very good but there is no parking for hotel guests, so one has to leave the car in one of the city garages, which is not the most convenient. There has been a lot of renovation work done on neighbouring buildings, so it was quite noisy both times we stayed here. Since this place is rather expensive, we opted for a room with no bathroom the second time we had to overnight in St. Gallen - not very convenient, plus one gets to hear doors opening and closing all night long. But the overall impression is good, breakfast is ok, and the fact that one is in the very historic center makes up for most of other problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    77
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
39
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uccle, Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is close to the center of St Gallen with many restaurants in the proximity. The room is not very big but well designed. Confortable bed. My room was on the street side and the day I was there, as from 7.00 AM people were cleaning the street and generated a lot of noice (bad luck??). Breakfast is okay but nothing special. Total price for the night was CHF 145.
I would probably try again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDRE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Andre D

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is located very central and is also very close to the railway station. The Hotel Dom is placed on a side street in the middle of the old town. For a city hotel, the hotel Dom is placed pretty quiet. So we are sorry, that you felt bothered by the noise, during your stay. We also offer single rooms to the courtyard side, which we would reserve you for the next time.

For the breakfast buffet we have chosen deliberately a limited offer. We are very conscious of high quality and also that we offer mainly regional products.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Dom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We are spending our second night of six at Hotel Dom and already love it! It was one of several area accommodations suggested in conjunction with a conference I am attending. [NOTE: This is a combined business/personal trip with my spouse.] Between the hotel's website and Google maps, I determined the Dom's location to be just perfect--in a (mostly) pedestrian zone, near the rail station, and in a more historic part of the city. The hotel itself is of contemporary design, however, and "something different." Picking hotel rooms from the web is tricky, but in this case, my hunch paid off!

Since we arrived early on Sunday morning, before check-in, the staff took charge of our luggage, which left us free to begin exploring St. Gallen, checking out cafés/restaurants, and expanding our photo collection! In the afternoon we returned to settle into our room, which is in the "orange" hallway. All rooms have white modular interiors accented by the "theme color" displayed in each hallway.

The room is en suite, which is small, but comfortable and efficiently designed. Once I determined the shower had good water pressure and toasty hot water, I was "sold." The en suite door is a sliding panel of frosted glass, which transmits a wonderful glow when lit from behind.

Beds, fitted with very comfy duvets and feather pillows, helped us get rid of any lingering jet lag in short order. Our room, on the back side of the hotel, has a generous balcony with chairs and a small table. The balcony view is not spectacular, but the peace and quiet more than makes up for that! The only thing the room lacks is significant storage/hanging space. But we may travel with more than others, so that is a subjective assessment.

Breakfast, included, is a buffet with numerous options--cereals and grains, breads from local bakeries, cheeses and breakfast meats, juices, yogurt, fresh fruit and fruit juices. The coffee was wonderful--we like ours strong--and what we had this morning was just that!

Other amenities include guest access to Wi-Fi, TVs with some English-language channel options, in-room safes (a big plus in our book!), and room "tags" (electronic devices) also permit hotel entry after 10 PM. While I am traveling with my spouse on this trip, I often travel alone, so I am especially appreciative of security features. One other point--Hotel Dom participates in an employment initiative that offers jobs to persons with disabilities, allowing them to learn skills and be part of a productive team. That's just the sort of organization we like to support!

We would choose Hotel Dom again and would recommend it to friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Balconys are on the back--not overly-picturesque views, but a quiet outdoor space to sit and read, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jruthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear jruthg

Thank you for your detailed and very positive feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our house. We look forward to welcome you and your wife soon again.

Hotel Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I visited St. Gallen over Easter to attend a powerful performance of Bach's St. Matthew Passion at the St. Laurenzenkirche around the corner. The area is beautiful and short walk to the train station, marketplace and of course the Dom. I liked the bright, clean, contemporary art museum feel - with placards at each entryway with a photo and commentary. The room was good-sized, clean and bright and bed quite comfortable. Wireless internet was simple free. I liked the Maxi Bar concept - a gathering area on the first floor where one can brew a fine cup of coffee or tea and grab a piece of fruit. Bottles of local Biers and various snacks were also available - for these one simply needed to itemize them on forms provided and pay for them at checkout. I had a delightful brunch on Easter Sunday at the hotel restaurant (where I was greeted by the pastor who was dining there as well). The price, as its seems with all things Swiss, was higher than I was used to in Germany, but not at all out of line with other nearby lodgings. I will happily stay again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Team Réception at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear jt_powell

Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you have taken to share your Dom experience here on TripAdviser.
It is always great to read, when our guests enjoy their stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again.
The Hotel Dom-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My family and I spent one night here on our way to Germany and thought that the hotel was in a perfect location. It was a short walk from the train station and right by old town and the cathedral. We were visiting during their Christmas market weekend and it was beautiful! We stayed in a budget room, which was average and clean, but still way overpriced (just like everything in Switzerland). However, the service was amazing and at night they even got my one year daughter some milk. The breakfast was also superb with many different choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayday19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The Dom is very well located. It is close to the cathedral and market area of St Gallen. It is also very walkable from the train station and conference centre.

The room is very basic but is clean and airy and very comfortable.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a reasonably priced (for Switzerland that is) hotel in St Gallen.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

spent one night at the budget room at this hotel for the conference. For 3 star hotel, the price is high, but the service was very nice. The toilet and shower was not in the room, but the view was onto the main square and it was cute to live on the last floor and be able to glimpse around those tiny small buildings of the town. The location to station is very close, and to the main street and cathedral also. Great small swiss town!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.1 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walhalla
Hotel Walhalla
#9 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom

Property: Hotel Dom
Address: Webergasse 22, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Gallen
#2 Business Hotel in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmistakeable Whether you stay for one night or for a whole week - you will love the personal character of Hotel Dom. Sober on the outside and colourful on the inside, situated in the middle of the 'Klosterviertel' district, tranquil, modern and independent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel St Gallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing