We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting modern rooms. Morning buffet, service an cleanliness could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dom
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Certificate of Excellence
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting modern rooms. Morning buffet, service an cleanliness could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very modern and interesting rooms. Cold style and not cozy (as expected based on the pictures). The room was clean and WiFi was working and stable.

The rooms do not have a mini bar but there is a "maxi bar" on the first floor with free tea and coffee.

Morning buffet was god quality but very limited and boring.

I ordered a cappuccino that was served on a visibly dirty under cup (bread crumbs). After spending 10-15 min. trying to get the three staffs attention to order my second cappuccino, i gave up and headed to the maxi bar to make it myself.

Parking at the hotel was not possible so i had to use nearby public parking that cost 25 CHF for one night.

The rooms were an interesting experience but i would not book the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aksel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Assistenz Leitung Hotel at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Mr. "Aksel"

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you liked our rooms. Concerning our breakfast buffet we usually receive more positive feedback. It would be nice to know what you have been missing? We rethink our range regularly and are happy to have concrete feedbacks.

For the dirty saucer and the long wait we apologize to you and assure you that this is not our standard. Unfortunately, we cannot understand what the problem has been on this morning. As you probably know, we employ approximately 55 people with a handicap. This should not be an excuse, because we owe them a big part of our success. They do their work mostly with much joy, love and commitment. It happens, however, that an employee with disabilities has a bad day and his performance is limited - because of his disability. It is the task of the management team to notice that and compensate. We are sorry that we have not achieved this on this day 100%.

The Hotel Dom itself has a limited number of private parking spaces. We work with the parking garage "Einstein" together and can offer our guests an parking ticket for CHF 20.00. For this price you can leave your car parked as long as you want. If you park your car in another parking garage, the cost is of course higher.

We would appreciate if you would give us a second chance.

Best regards
Yvonne Fanconi (yvonne.fanconi@hoteldom.ch)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    77
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
38
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised. Great location, very clean and a very friendly staff. I arrive very early from the US and they were able to give me a room before noon. Enjoyed reading on the balcony and the shower was very good.

Room Tip: I thought the room with the balcony was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Assistenz Leitung Hotel at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear "Scott S"

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay in our house and you noticed specially the cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again in our house.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel Dom is strategically located in the heart of the main shopping area and is just a 15 min from the train station and 10 min from the Abbey of Saint Gal. Staff are really friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was very clean and tidy, bed was very comfortable and bathroom very convenient. Breakfast was good and varied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 191Happy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Assistenz Leitung Hotel at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear "19Happy888".
Many thanks for your great review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay in our house. We hope to welcome you soon again!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

First of all, what a beautiful little city in the Eastern part of Switzerland. Definitely worth a stop if you are backpacking/train riding the country.

This place was perfect. It a quaint part of the old town. Within walking distance of many restaurants, shopping, banks, and the train.

It was very clean, super friendly, and even had a nice breakfast with meats, breads, egg, cheeses, fresh butter, fruit and yogurt.

They have the option of sharing a bathroom with several rooms or having your own bathroom. For Americans this can be weird and we opted for the room with a bathroom, but the community bathrooms were super clean and had nice shower stalls so you had plenty of privacy.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting St. Gallen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbur24795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Assistenz Leitung Hotel at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello "wilbur24795"

Thank you for your great feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our house and that you like St. Gallen.

We are also delighted that you noticed the cleanliness in our house. Cleanness is very important to us - we want that our guest's feel at home.

We hope you visit us soon again. Best regards

Yvonne Fanconi, Assistenz Leitung Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Clean, comfortable room, with easy wifi access. Great location. Nice size room. Towels were sufficient for 1 person, but not overly generous. Same for soap and shampoo. TV channels lacked CNN or other English language stations. Breakfast was fine, but again not overly generous. Will return, but could have had an ounce more of everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketrobMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Assistenz Leitung Hotel at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have taken not of your feedback referring our generosity. Please inform us about your concerns/wishes text time right during your stay in our house. Of course we would have offered you extra towels, soap and shampoo. That would have been no problem.

We hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Dom Hotel is in the best location in the old town. Because of the nature of small and tightly-packed houses in old towns, the bed rooms are small. However, the rooms, beds and amenities are modern, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for rooms on the back-side of the hotel, away from the street and noises if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivier t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Arrived late to this hotel and found a little gem. Right in the middle of old St Gallen this small hotel is
so minimalist in style it is almost Japanese.
The fittings are spare and minimalist with a lot of style.Slept like a log in the immaculate room with ultra comfortable duvet.
Loved it. Breakfast was unremarkable but the reception service was good and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F, Assitenz Leitung Hotel at Hotel Dom, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Google Translation
Guten Tag "Hugo54321"
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass Ihnen der Stil unseres Hauses gefallen hat und Sie unser Hotel als "kleines Juwel" betiteln. Schön, dass Sie eine gute Nacht in unserem Haus verbracht haben und die Qualität der Bettdecke und Matratze geschätzt haben.

Wir freuen uns, Sie bald wieder in unserem Haus begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen noch ein schönes Wochenende.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.1 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walhalla
Hotel Walhalla
#9 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#12 of 18 in St. Gallen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom

Property: Hotel Dom
Address: Webergasse 22, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Gallen
#2 Business Hotel in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmistakeable Whether you stay for one night or for a whole week - you will love the personal character of Hotel Dom. Sober on the outside and colourful on the inside, situated in the middle of the 'Klosterviertel' district, tranquil, modern and independent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel St Gallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing