We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean, convenient”
Review of Hotel Vadian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vadian
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My husband and I stayed here in early January. It is a very tidy, clean, efficient hotel with wonderful staff. The breakfast was better than some three star hotels we stayed in. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to help us coordinate our late luggage delivery. It is also right around the corner from the Abbey library and the old town. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkabout2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2009

We expected a clean neat hotel in the city-center - and were very disappointed. As I booked by phone they were friendly. But they didn't inform me that I had to pay in advance, that one side of the hotel was under construction and that the bath-room was separated from the beds only by a curtain! All these inconveniencies made our stay quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tourist1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Bereichsleiter Hotel at Hotel Vadian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We should have informed you of the construction work during your stay and we appologise for not having done so.

Since 2009 a lot of things have happened. The majority of hotel rooms were renovated in 2010 (the hotel was closed for two weeks). Each hotel room has its own bathroom with shower/wc or bath/WC (in our annex). In 2013 we renovated the reception area and breakfast room. We now offer a small seating area in the lobby and we have upgraded our breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2005

My mother is from St. Gallen and I spent many summers there as a child. This summer I decided it was time to take my daughters (ages 11 & 8) to Switzerland, but needed an affordable place to call home, as my relatives are getting on in years and I didn't want to impose.

I booked us into the Hotel Vadian, and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station (no public transit access) in the historic Alt Stadt. Everything is within walking distance...and St. Gallen has a wonderful compact, pedestrian-only, city center. Just around the corner from the hotel is a lovely little square with a fountain (a low key flea market takes place there on weekends) and the entrance to the cathedral and Stiftsbibliotek. The Muehleggbahn (funicular) is a minute or two from the hotel--ride it up the hill, turn right, go up the stairs, and access a wonderful path with a wonderful view of the entire city.

The hotel might strike some as a bit quirky. Parts are ultra modern in that Swiss way, others older. But everything is *spotlessly* clean and we were very comfortable during our stay. Our room was for three, located at the end of the corridor on the second floor, facing the street. It was comprised of a smaller room with a single bed, small armoire, sink, in-room shower/toilet, and a larger second room with two twins forming a queen/king bed, a desk, and an armoire. Bedding was heavenly. TV in the larger room. Wood flooring. Large windows. There was some occasional street noise at that level and location, but tolerable.

Given the prices in Switzerland, the Hotel Vadian was extremely reasonable (we contemplated staying in Zurich, but my aunt assured me that it would be impossible to find a decent room at anywhere near the price we paid in quieter St. Gallen). Breakfast was included and served each morning downstairs in a breakfast room: tea, coffee, croissants and breads, cheeses, cold cuts, juices, jams. Excellent service.

My sense is that this hotel doesn't receive a lot of English speaking visitors. I can't guage the staff's English abilities, as I spoke German. Almost all of the tourism information was only available in German.

Another interesting note...the hotel is alcohol free, run as part of a cooperative, and a member of the Swiss Christian Hotel Association. The proceeds of the hotel support mental health programs in Switzlerland. So you're also doing good by staying here!

St. Gallen is often overlooked by visitors to Switzerland, but the city and the region have a lot to offer. And with distances being what they are (50 minutes to Zurich, 2 hours to Lucerne) it's a wonderful base to explore from.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank africamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se andate nel mes etivii chiedete di non andare nella dependance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank daisy62Locarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Manager at Hotel Vadian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coaching48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Salim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Newstar
Hotel Newstar
#6 of 18 in St. Gallen
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walhalla
Hotel Walhalla
#10 of 18 in St. Gallen
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#12 of 18 in St. Gallen
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vadian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vadian

Address: Gallusstrasse 36, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Price Range: £111 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vadian 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who like to be in the center of things, yet seek a quiet night's sleep: the charming Hotel Vadian and its Annex, the Dependance Pförtnerhof, are the right choice. The charming and affordable hotel lies in the heart of the abbey district, just a few steps away from the world famous abbey library. Nearby cafés and restaurants lure the hungry and thirsty, while quaint city shops invite you for a shopping stroll. Those, who prefer a walk in nature, reach St.Gallen's green lung within a few minutes with the unique Mühleggbähnli. The hotel itself offers comfortable single and double rooms, as well as family rooms. Each room in the hotel is decorated individually in a modern and convenient way, yet with a touch of nostalgia. All rooms offer en suite bathrooms with shower/WC television and free internet. The hotel is open all year. The Hotel now offers its guest access to its courtyard patio - a quaint hideaway in midst the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vadian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vadian Hotel St Gallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing