We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good for the price, in the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Cernusco, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quite good for the price, in the city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The price was extremely good considering it's Switzerland and that it was in the exact center of the city! It was very clean, spacious enough and the furnishing was very nice and modern enough, including an unneeded giant TV in the room. The included breakfast was of good quality and they provided a good amount of food.

There are just the common inconveniences of not having the bathroom in the room but... you know it when you book it! Also, the stairs are quite steep, but I prefer it this way than made to fit lazy modern people taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
1
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I loved this place. Room was large and bright that included a TV with satellite channels. It had a basin and a shower but a shared toilet which was outside the room.

The staff were helpful and the location was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elleirbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atene, Grecia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is old, but the rooms are spacious. The manager is friendly and the breakfast si really fantastic! The price is very good for the swiss standard. The position si excellent, just in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeAtene_Grecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Weisses Kreuz. The bar at night was fun and as travelers on a budget, we appreciated that the hotel did not cost much more than a hostel (per person). If coming to St. Gallen for Open Air Music Festival, stay the night, but make sure to book in advance! Stefan is also a great source of information, and an all around interesting guy with whom to chat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The rooms are normal. Showers & toilet in corridor. Brilliant central location. Very good breakfast. The staff is fantastic; friendly & helpful. Very clean. Cheapest beer in town. Nice Americans at the bar.

Room Tip: Get the lowest floor you can. no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreganSt_Gallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

Stayed in the hotel in Feb 2007. stay was fine. rooms very small. shower/etc. in the main hallway/outside the room.
on checkout, was charged by mistake by 1,000 swiss francs more than should be. after waiting for 20 minutes, the transaction was cancelled and i was charged the right amount. however, 2 days later i found out that after i have already left to the airport, the staff charged me 2,390 Francs (approximately 1,600 Pounds Sterling) for 2 nights. Rooms cost approximately 30£. Still trying to sort it out. Apparently, someone has decided to use my card again (i.e. staff) and charge the "cancelled" transaction again (twice). Not very helpful in sorting it out. So, unless you pay cash--- I would worry about FRAUD!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor customer service and fraudulent acvitity with my credit card
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NukaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Gallen hotels

LA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

Inexpensive - small rooms over a bar, but quiet and friendly and clean. Breakfast included. Good, central location. You probably won't find a less expensive place in the area unless you stay at the Youth Hostel, which is out of town a bit.
Prefer cash, but can pay by credit card. English-speaking.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaValderi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walhalla
Hotel Walhalla
#9 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
0.0 mi away
Hotel am Ring
Hotel am Ring
#14 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisses Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisses Kreuz

Property: Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Address: Engelgasse 9, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Weisses Kreuz 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Weisses Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing