We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there if you don't have to”
Review of Hotel Rheinfall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rheinfall
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is in dire need of a complete renovation that would bring it to modern standards. Rooms are very small, with worn down furniture and very basic beds. Bathrooms are very basic indeed, in smaller (single rooms) they are in fact sheds built into the rooms, probably by the owners themselves. Rooms have no sound insulation, so noise from the street below and from other guests, especially when they check out in the morning, is a problem. I was already twice forced to use my noise canceling headphones to be able to sleep. Breakfast is also very basic - just bread, cereals plus cheese and ham. Cereals are OK, I never tried the rest - it didn't look good enough to tempt me.

I have been there a number of times, because I do business with a company in Neuhausen and there is no other hotel there. So I traded comfort, good sleep and shower for a short walk to their office in the morning. But no more - I don't enjoy sleeping in headphones, so this time I will look for a different place in nearby Schaffhausen.

To be fair, though, I have to say this place has one bright point - its owners. This hotel is owned & run by an Indian family and they are very polite and helpful. The problem is that they either lack funds to invest in a renovation or don't want to do so. For now they are trying hard to keep up with what they have. I wish them no harm, however I think Neuhausen would have benefited if they sold this place to a chain / company that could make it into a hotel again. Because as of now it clearly isn't what I'm used to expect under that name.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, you will get less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

The Rheinfall is a clean basic hotel, but does have the advantage of WiFi in all rooms. I am happy to recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for clean, reasonably priced accommodation in Neuhausen.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The waterfalls are beautiful, worth the visit, but the whole town is a tourist trap, and one of the worst I've seen.
This particular hotel would be alright if it was 3/10 of the prize.
It is old, awfully decorated, the bathrooms are scary and not particularly clean, the rooms are more or less clean but terrible aesthetically.
The breakfast is really very low quality, a big disappointment.
The staff looks suspicious but they are nice though.
For the price once I paid once for a suite-kind hotel in the NH in Seville (Spain) (the breakfast there was spectacular, the location fantastic) I got a room in what it looks like a low quality brothel in an un-charming location...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The bus stop right in front of the hotel – how sweet is that! This is why I picked this hotel. Nuehausen is rather small. It was a working distance from the hotel to the famous – biggest falls in Europe – the Rheinfalls!

There are restaurants, supermarket on the same street as the hotel, I just walked to anyway. I took the bus in front of the hotel to go to Schaffhausen and it was only 15minutes away. The train station is located behind the hotel where you also get to Schaffhausen or any other cities in Switzerland.

The minute I enter the hotel though, I could smell the Indian incent which gave me a pretty weird feeling.

The service of the staff was fantastic. I screwed up the booking. When I arrived at the hotel, the staff told me I had 2 reservation, one was booked through their website on one was through Booking.com. I was very sure I cancelled on of them tough. They wanted me to cancel the booking with Booking.com however it was too late and I was subject to a night charge. I thought I was going to pay 2 rooms night because of my mistake however the staff was kind enough to let me cancel my booking with them without a charge!

The room was clean and the single bed was comfortable. Although I find it was a little weird to have a sick in front of the bed. The bath room was clean with enough amenities.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was good. Free wifi throughout the hotel was convenient. Again, I could smell the Indian incents at breakfast that didn’t impress me much.

Since this is the closest hotel to Rheinfalls and I think the only hotel in Nuehausen, I would probably go back to this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

i don't know how they get away with their website. entirely overselling. crappy, loud rooms with kitchen smells. rudimentary bath room (actually a shed built into the room). short: don't go there.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artys007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Miss V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Johannes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuhausen am Rheinfall
1.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Sorell Hotel Rueden
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#6 of 7 in Schaffhausen
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinfall

Address: Zentralstrasse 60, Neuhausen am Rheinfall 8212, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Neuhausen am Rheinfall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neuhausen am Rheinfall
Price Range: £90 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinfall 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rheinfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rheinfall Switzerland/Neuhausen Am Rheinfall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing