We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has the necessities, but kind of like a grandmother's spare room”
Review of Hotel Rheinfall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rheinfall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neuhausen
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has the necessities, but kind of like a grandmother's spare room”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As the title suggests, my room had a good bed, a large desk, Internet, working amenities, and - actually - more free hotel stuff than usual (lotions, conditioner, shampoo, comb, shoe horn, etc.). The breakfast included was probably a 2 out of 5. It is an old building. The room, shower, and toiler were all clean. If you're looking for somewhere romantic and sexy, I would recommend the Radisson Blu in Zurich. Hotel Rheinfall has what you need, but that's about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    16
    21
    8
See reviews for
12
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good hotel for people on a budget. Not a five star place but good value for little money, considering Swiss standards.
GREAT indian cook in the restaurant downstairs. Excellent Indian kitchen. Friendly staff. Yes outdated decoration but you get what you pay for; a room, a good bed and an inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandizzo, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Old hotel ten minutes walking from the Rheinfàll .
This "old style" hotel ( a little decadent ) is in the center of the town, easy to reach and close to a lot of touristic roads and nice walks.
Parking available. Bed not so bad. New TV. Working wifi free.
Probably the price is too expensive in relation the the quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis5Five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Neuhausen hotels

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

The room was tiny, the "en suite" was little more than a cupboard, the decoration terrible with wiring everywhere and drunks in the foyer in the evening. All this for 100 Swiss Francs per night for a single room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It should be more a hostel or motel like a hotel. Very smokey, I felt smoke in my room and in the second one as well which I got after complaining.
Room is not new, the internet connection signal is lower than 0. I couldn't use it normally.
Bathroom is poor, but there is hot water...
Breakfast is small, just 2-3 kind of salami and some kind of musli. That's all.
You don't get the service for the money you pay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is in dire need of a complete renovation that would bring it to modern standards. Rooms are very small, with worn down furniture and very basic beds. Bathrooms are very basic indeed, in smaller (single rooms) they are in fact sheds built into the rooms, probably by the owners themselves. Rooms have no sound insulation, so noise from the street below and from other guests, especially when they check out in the morning, is a problem. I was already twice forced to use my noise canceling headphones to be able to sleep. Breakfast is also very basic - just bread, cereals plus cheese and ham. Cereals are OK, I never tried the rest - it didn't look good enough to tempt me.

I have been there a number of times, because I do business with a company in Neuhausen and there is no other hotel there. So I traded comfort, good sleep and shower for a short walk to their office in the morning. But no more - I don't enjoy sleeping in headphones, so this time I will look for a different place in nearby Schaffhausen.

To be fair, though, I have to say this place has one bright point - its owners. This hotel is owned & run by an Indian family and they are very polite and helpful. The problem is that they either lack funds to invest in a renovation or don't want to do so. For now they are trying hard to keep up with what they have. I wish them no harm, however I think Neuhausen would have benefited if they sold this place to a chain / company that could make it into a hotel again. Because as of now it clearly isn't what I'm used to expect under that name.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, you will get less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The Rheinfall is a clean basic hotel, but does have the advantage of WiFi in all rooms. I am happy to recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for clean, reasonably priced accommodation in Neuhausen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuhausen
1.0 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Sorell Hotel Rueden
#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#6 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.3 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinfall

Property: Hotel Rheinfall
Address: Zentralstrasse 60, Neuhausen 8212, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Neuhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neuhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinfall 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rheinfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rheinfall Switzerland/Neuhausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing