We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low value for your money”

Crossbox Backpacker
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crossbox Backpacker
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Low value for your money”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A guest at the hotel at busy times shall share Bathrooms with other guests, No plug points to charge electronic devices, WI FI does not work in Top Floor , where I stayed.
Breakfast was nothing for 10 swiss francs, This place should be charging about 50-60 us $ for the facilities they provide,

Since it was winter and off peak time, the facilities looked cleaner.

Room Tip: If you are intending to stay just for a day and cannot find any other place, this may be ok orelse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinroopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
1
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mojstrana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Interesting properties in the old style.You can use the room to yourself for the price 85CHF, or you choose a room for more than one person-multi for price 40 CHF.The following premisies are located nice pab.The city centre is within easy reach.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

To be honest we were attracted by price and while cheap not so cheap that you shouldn't expect towels or less dingy communal toilets and showers. The breakfast is particularly poor value- 10 euros for a glass of juice, a coffee, a slice of bread and couple of bits of ham. That said the place has an interesting edgy feel located as it is behind the station and surrounded by on going development either side like the little old lady's house in one of the Herbie films. It also seems to have a permanent coterie of locals smoking and drinking at the bar. Interesting to have stayed once but would not repeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taralulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schaffhausen hotels

Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I needed a place for my son (25) to stay while he visited me.They put him in a single room that gave him his space and peace of mind. He had a great time, met the local crowd, who showed him how the Swiss party. The staff was friendly and helpful

Room Tip: single room with common bath is ok, full suites are available, but they go fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grm688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Calif.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We enjoyed the Crossbox. Clean, quiet rooms, just a block or two fm. the train station. It is a shower down the hall, bring your own towel (or rent one for 5 Fr.s) sort of place but the price was right, the rooms handsome and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1671438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaffhausen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
0.0 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Sorell Hotel Rueden
#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossbox Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossbox Backpacker

Property: Crossbox Backpacker
Address: Hintersteig 1, Schaffhausen 8200, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Schaffhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crossbox Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing