We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in all ways”
Review of Hotel Kronenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights during the jazz festival ( just 5 minutes away through some delightful alleyways). Great Swiss breakfast. The sauna and leisure centre were relaxing and a pleasure. Picturesque city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank OllielollieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location central to everything in this delightful city. The breakfast is excellent and complementary. Only downside is that as the weather was hot we needed to leave the windows open to get some fresh air which meant we had a lot of noise from the restaurant downstairs until the wee hours. There is a fan provided which helped but if rooms away from the front were available, we'd probably suggest choosing one of those. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Not sure if it's possible to do so, but I would choose a room away from the front if I could.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soultravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights a while back visiting my mother. Very central, nice rooms, not too expensive and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again if needed, fortunately my brother has a very nice and large house lol. Works both ways when he comes back to Australia

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for only 1 night, but the experience was very positive. Though somewhat pricey, the location couldn't be more central. There is good wifi that is free of charge, a SPA right in the hotel and a tasty complimentary breakfast seems to be standard. The staff are friendly and helpful, and parking is available outside, though you do have to pay.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom and shower. Comfortable beds and TV with an assortment of international channels.

We enjoyed it and if the need arose again, would likely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located right in the Kirchhofplatz in the old town, Hotel Kronenhof offers an excellent mix of old world charm and modern luxury. Rooms are clean, the WiFi is included (although we had some spotty coverage), and the attached restaurant is excellent. Parking is in the square just outside the door, and you have easy access to both the train station (500m) and all of the attractions of the city center. The wellness center/gym is fine, but if you'd exercise outdoors, it's just a 4km stroll along the Rhine to the falls!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is the 3rd different hotel i stay in the area, and it has been the best.
Room is modern and clean, service at reception is fast and efficient.
breakfast has enough variety. we haven't seen anyone at the breakfast area though in case you want to ask for something
there is no room service, so if you like anything for your room - like still mineral water, ask when checking in so you don't have to go down again.
free internet, easy to use.
very close to the train station - it also has a spa for the ones with a bit more free time.

Room Tip: the lift is small (max 2 people with small bags) and slow, so if you have light weight bags ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is very well kept, and maintains some of old charm such as an older glass elevator in the center of a circular stairway, with modern amenities such as high speed wifi and a small gym. The room was small, with a tiny desk, small closet and ensuite bathroom with a shower. Breakfast was a very basic buffet with meusli, yogurt, cheese, meats, fruit and bread, and an interesting contraption that boiled eggs. The room came with two sets of earplugs since there is a church bell right next door that starts ringing at 6 am. There is a popular bar at the hotel with a nice whiskey selection. The property is located almost exactly in the center of town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaffhausen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Sorell Hotel Rueden
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
0.2 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Kirchhofplatz 7-9, Schaffhausen 8200, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Price Range: £96 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kronenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of scenic Schaffhausen on the High Rhine, the Hotel Kronenhof offers stylish rooms, free Wi-Fi and seasonal, market-fresh cuisine. Hotel Kronenhof features a cafe restaurant with a sunny patio. A variety of steaks are served in the new Steakhouse Ox. Nearby attractions include the Munot fortress, the Allerheiligen monastery and the impressive Rhine Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing