We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant, hip, historic Swiss hotel with lovely staff, convenient in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Reviewed 21 March 2011

An unrelated logistical muddle -- a spam filter turned out to be the culprit – led to my mistakenly removing this review. I am glad to have a chance to repost it:

7 January 2011

This is the first time I have written a review before the end of my stay.

Solothurn may be one of Europe’s most beautiful medieval towns, but I have chosen to stay here and hop on the train to Basel and Bern (each roughly a 45-minute train ride away) for my work in those cities for a single reason: this hotel, which is an unexpected hybrid of ‘boutique’ and old-fashioned family-run establishment.

Okay, I'm here for a whole week because it’s winter and the family running the Zunfthaus zu Wirthen has given me an off-season discount on the most gorgeous room – which I was allowed to choose myself. But the experience so far has been so perfect that I feel as if a magical spell put me here.

Practical people will want to know: the chef turns out delicious and inventive meals at lunch and dinner at prices that seem fair, a rare experience in Switzerland for anyone from less prosperous countries. All the double rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the staff extremely flexible about accommodating all reasonable requests. ... You can walk across the street in the morning to buy your newspaper and travel not much further to the chemist/pharmacist ('apotheke') and a large department store.

The romantic and the intellectually curious will want to know: the ten-minute walk from the train station across the River Aare at night would be unbeatable for the start of a honeymoon. The lights of the old town and cathedral are reflected in the still water, as are the bare branches of some unusually graceful tall trees whose name I’ve yet to discover. Look up the history on the hotel’s website and you couldn’t feel more strongly connected to it than when you take in the quirky layout of both public and private rooms or are sitting in the main dining room with its glowing honey-coloured wooden walls and stained glass mural. There are flowering potted plants in gorgeous colours on every table. The atmosphere and cooking smells attract lots of local residents at every meal – and I am longing for snow, for a chance to experience the contrast between this interior and a white, icy drama outside.

I am checking the box for free high-speed internet because I have been given the information I need to use it, but haven't yet tried this out.

[ I did try that out near the end of my stay. No problems to report. ]

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: So weit wir von anderen Gästen hören konnten sind alle Zimmer sehr gut eingerichtet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenissaJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jinke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Enea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Phil_Eddie_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brige74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solothurn hotels
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Solothurn
H4 Hotel Solothurn
#3 of 13 in Solothurn
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Couronne Hotel
La Couronne Hotel
#1 of 13 in Solothurn
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochsen
Hotel Roter Ochsen
#6 of 13 in Solothurn
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swiss Quality an der Aare
Swiss Quality an der Aare
#5 of 13 in Solothurn
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#13 of 13 in Solothurn
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#9 of 13 in Solothurn
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zunfthaus zu Wirthen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zunfthaus zu Wirthen

Address: Hauptgasse 41, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range: £95 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zunfthaus zu Wirthen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zunfthaus zu Wirthen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing