We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value accommodation”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Hotel Astoria
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Solothurn
London
Level Contributor
211 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A bargain, by Swiss standards, for a good standard of accomodation in a slightly dated 1970s building. Room clean, wifi good, although not much room to swing a cat. Traditional style breakfast with some nice cheese. Comme on dit en francais 'bon rapport prix-qualite, ie. good value for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
4
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I spent just one night for a short business trip at the Astoria; the reception looks a little dark, too much old fashioned (70s) and the first impression wasn't good at all. The bright smile of the receptionist was the only reassuring thing. Furnitures, decors and fabrics survived over at the least the past 20 years but after this first impression everything is perfectly functional and organized, excellent maid service, (small) bathroom impeccably clean, sheets White and perfectly ironed, (old) tv with flawless signal reception, wifi included on request.
The staff is lovely and the breakfast is simple but delicious. The thing I really appreciated was the soft light entering from a small window up the room door from the main corridor; what you need to sleep tight not in the total room darkness.
Not a boutique hotel at all, however I had much more from this hotel than from other more blasonate 4-star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGC2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

i spent 5 nights there during Feb. it was quite nice hotel. room was clean, small clean bathroom with hot strong water, heaters, room service was s nice, friendly staff who are always smiling and give you the needed tips.
breakfast was fine, but no much varieties.
safety box was fine.
location of the hotel is more than perfect, it is by the river, the old town, and less than 1 min walking from Soluthurn west train station, as well 3 min walk from the bus station. and super markets nearby.
bed was cool.

negative points:
TV channels were in German only.
WIFI access was working only on 1 device (couldnt connect using the from both cellfone and laptop)

summary:
only a small clean room.. this is the hotel.

Room Tip: the front view rooms have a better view. facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomRom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

On arrival the outside and lobby is dated and sad however the staff and service was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was free. Room was adequate but needs some pictures or color coorindation Bathroom was updated and nice. Dinner on the patio was excellent. Staff was professional and helpful with suggestions. Breakfast on the sixth floor was fine. It was hot and we had the windows open and therefore lots of street noise.

Room Tip: If you stay in this hotel, we can recommend the dinner meal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Booked a non-smoker twin room which was very clean and quite small. A big minus was that there was a disgusting smoking smell coming from the toilet ventilation. That's why the toilet door had to be kept close at all times, because only then the smoke didn't get into the main room.
Other than that the hotel was actually quite nice, the receptionist personnel spoke English (in a small town of Solothurn that's not anything to be taken for granted), the free breakfast was nice even though quite small (the variety) and the location was good (5 min' walk to the centre).
Although our visit was in January the nights were quite warm in the room so had to open the window for a while to cool it down. Since there was no air conditioning in our room, I can only imagine how hot it gets during the summer :/ Also the church bells ringing nearby every 15 minutes some people may find annoying since they ring also at night times and if you have to keep the window open then (in summer). Any other disturbing sounds during the night there were none, the hotel is on a peaceful side area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solothurn hotels
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Solothurn
H4 Hotel Solothurn
#1 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
#2 of 14 in Solothurn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochsen
Hotel Roter Ochsen
#5 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swiss Quality an der Aare
Swiss Quality an der Aare
#4 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roter Turm
Roter Turm
#6 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#9 of 14 in Solothurn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Wengistrasse 13, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing