We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Central in Solothurn”
Review of H4 Hotel Solothurn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H4 Hotel Solothurn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Solothurn
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Business Central in Solothurn”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Location? Directly across from old town, on the river, easy walk to the train station, easy jump to the highway. Rooms? Big by Solothurn standards, good work area with high speed wifi, nice amenities. Nice cafe, and a great top floor bar with a wonderful view.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    125
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
75
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Generally a nice place to stay. It is a bit of an eyesore in comparison to all the beautiful old houses (a square glass building) but the rooms are nice and the crew is fabulous. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms, free wifi, free apples and chocolate at the reception, a small window to open (!), a small work out room, but all in all a good value for an extended business stay. Nice restaurant but just like everything else in Switzerland, expensive.
But, again, the crew makes all the difference. They are all very nice and helpful and assist their guest in which ever way possible.

Solothurn by itself is beautiful with very good restaurants everywhere. And thanks to the excellent train connection one can go on short trips anywhere.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the Are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiffy_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The staff was great, I was here for an extended stay for work and the staff made it feel like home after a while. The rooms are clean, the bar is great, the view of the river is beautiful. No complaints from me except the A/C would not get cool enough no matter how low I set it. But would still recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merdice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Beautiful location just near the water. Very close to the train station
Clean rooms, good spa area. Restaurant is a bit expensive but the food is worth it
Free apples at the reception;)
The only downside - there is nothing much to do in the town, but it has nothing to do with the hotel))

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrusya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We got a romantic weekend package with Ramada Solothurn including breakfast and spa access, everything worked and went well, breakfast was excellent, gluten free toast were available, with a view to the river. Cleanliness, service, location, everything met the standard of being a 4 stars hotel! And its in walking distance to everywhere you need to go in Solothurn. However, we did not use the Jacuzzi which was included in the package.. as the two Jacuzzi was 1 metre separated from each other and not inside a private room.. They were at the hallway of the spa center so everyone who passed by could have seen us there bathing in the Jacuzzi which we felt it would've been a bit weird, we're not that 'open' :D

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumberThirtyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We didn't have in mind to spend that much, but when I compared the room rate of CHF 241, incl. of daily tourist fee (Kurtaxe), with room rates at traditional Swiss style hotels, we think we got a better deal.
The breakfast buffet was better, eggs any style on demand free.
Very clean hotel with friendly, helpful reeption staff.
The Ramada is well located, near the railway station and also very near to the old town with its shopping possibilities and the nice restaurants and bars.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnstThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Londe Les Maures, France
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the stay here. Rooms are very comfortable with a small kitchen and living room.
Very friendly service and excellent breakfast.
The meeting rooms are also very well equipped and of good dimensions.
Ask for an room facing the river

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pascale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solothurn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
#2 of 14 in Solothurn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bad Kyburg
Hotel Bad Kyburg
#3 of 14 in Solothurn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Quality an der Aare
Swiss Quality an der Aare
#4 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochsen
Hotel Roter Ochsen
#5 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
#8 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roter Turm
Roter Turm
#6 of 14 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Solothurn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Solothurn

Property: H4 Hotel Solothurn
Address: Schaenzlistrasse 5, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel Solothurn)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Solothurn 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H4 Hotel Solothurn is located on the riverbank of the Aare in Solothurn, Switzerland’s most beautiful baroque city. The city, also known as «the city of the Eleven», has eleven churches, chapels, historical fountains and towers, as well as eleven altars and bells in the St.-Ursen-Cathedral. The H4 Hotel Solothurn has 100 rooms in the Comfort, Deluxe and Suite categories each equipped with air-conditioning, cable TV, Wi-Fi access (free of charge), a flat-panel monitor TV, a safe and blow dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Solothurn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Solothurn
Solothurn Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing