We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Headline Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Express

Glacier Express
Book In Advance
More Info
US$526.01*
and up
One-Day Glacier Express Tour with Private Guide
Ranked #38 of 711 things to do in Swiss Alps
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This train cuts through the Swiss Alps, providing passengers with some of the most beautiful scenery imaginable.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Headline Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have always loved mountains and railways so the Classic Glacier Express trip run by Great Rail Journeys was fantastic and the whole package cannot be too highly recommended. After starting our stay in Switzerland based at Brig we travelled to Chur on the Glacier Express. The name "Express" is a slight misnomer in that speed is not a primary factor or indeed desirable. The line is single track metre guage and assisted by cogs on the steeper gradients. It is a serious transport link with electric traction and traverses one of Switzerland's major watersheds between the Rhone and Rhine via the Oberalp Pass. It is however a delight for lovers of spectacular engineering and mountain scenery. It travels through low and high Alpine valley to the slopes where skiers still swooped via tortuous and ingeneous curves, tunnels and viaducts, finally descending to the "Swiss Grand Canyon" before arriving at Chur. The meal served as we wound our way from Andermatt to the snow of the Oberalp Pass was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank metalbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    221
    118
    41
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Breathtaking ride. Just brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

For our week in Switzerland we elected to use a Swiss Rail Pass. What a good idea that was. I became more impressed with the Swiss Railway system more and more each day. It seems that there is no village too remote, too high or inaccessible for a railway to reach it, and it seems that they manage to run regularly throughout the year, despite the weather, and very regularly. The Swiss have an excellent attitude to railways, encouraging people to use trains rather than road, and keeping most freight off the roads and on the tracks. Trains were always clean and efficient and the Glacier Express was no exception. It is billed as the world's slowest express train, owing to the tight curves and steep gradients. The views are breathtaking and the ride is designated, I believe, as one of only three UNESCO World Heritage tracks. A well earned and worthy designation. We elected to have a meal served on board, and this proved to be ample in its portions and very tasty. Served with a smile, the food was a little unusual, given the mountain of spinach served and the pasta type of carbohydrate, but we ate it with relish and found it to be a part of the trip that really made it a memorable.
I loved this ride, I love railways, and this proved to be an exceptional choice of rail journey. Just brilliant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I travelled the train from Zermatt to St. Moritiz - a full 8 hour day, however the time went by in a flash. The scenery was breathtaking and every changing. We enjoyed a delicious meal, wine, snacks .... the train was spotless, the staff was beyond accommodating .... if you are in Switzerland it is a must!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank TheGoodWife2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Must Do...on every switzerland trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

we rode the train from andermatt to chur, totally entranced by the lovely landscape on both sides....for once I wished I had eyes which could look east and west at the same time!! Also enjoyed the lunch served by friendly staff. A great experience in totality, I would look forward to it whenever I visit the gorgeous swiss alps again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellloholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
301 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience - a must if you visit Switzerland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed the incredible Train journey with the famous glacier Express from Chur to Zermatt. We choose the first class Panorama carriage and prebooked a lovely three course lunch (good quality food for a reasonable price including very friendly service by the train crew). The trip on a very sunny and beautiful day took altogether 5 1/2 hours in travelling time. The various scenery is just breathtaking and a once in a lifetime experience not to be missed. If you are from abroad it is cheaper to buy a Swiss train pass right at the Airport in Zurich. Then you only pay CHF 13 for seating reservation. We recommend to make a booking as early as possible because this is such a popular trip for tourists and locals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RROesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacier Express also viewed

Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Filisur, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Glacier Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing