We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to visit”
Review of Giessbach Falls

Giessbach Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.37*
and up
Jetboat Scenic Ride in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These picturesque waterfalls tower over 1,500 feet high and are the defining landmark of this popular tourist town.
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great place to visit”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Gissbach falls are wonderful. The water cascades dowon the mountain in several steps, you can take a short walk really close to the fall.
It is a wonderful, magic and peaceful p,ace.Even though mans people were visiting at the same time, you always found a quiet place to watch and wonder.
There is a parking, that costs 5 sfr "for the whole day".The entrance to the falls is free.
At the bottom, you have the Grandhotel Giessbach, wonderful.y renovated, with a nice garden restaurant where you can eat or have coffee, indoors and outdoors.
You have a great view at the Brienzer lake and the surrounding mountains.
Giessbach falls is worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank YvonneK474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lesser known yet Stunning Waterfall”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Although this beautiful fall is overshadowed by popular trummelbach & Stubach falls, nevertheless this is worth a visit.

On a scenic boat ride from interlaken to Brienz, lies this hidden falls which are not fully seen from outside. One needs to get down at Giessbach. Take a train (5 mins) or Hike (20 mins), to get to beautiful old castle looking hotel & waterfall. I would recommend, taking a train while going up, and hike while going down.

There are different viewing levels. One can go all the way to top if has plenty of stamina. Trail is medium difficult (mainly because of high slope)

Keep a note of next boat arrival time as Not all the Interlaken-Brienz boat stops here. Next boat could be as 2 hours apart !

Its a nice fallback option on a cloudy day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank PGogri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
510 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“If you love waterfalls and beautiful scenery......”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

These beautiful waterfalls leap down a steep mountainside in stages to reach Lake Brienz.
We were fortunate to visit during the spring when there was planty of water coming over the falls - in fact a serious amount of water after weeks of rain combined with the snow melting on the mountains.

There are paths around the falls with two bridges giving good views of the falls and back down to the Giessbach hotel in its' scenic setting. We had been told by friends that these falls were a "must do" during our stay in Interlaken and we weren't disappointed. It is possible to climb up an uneven path to the very top of the falls but we were content with the main viewing paths.

We had reached the falls after walking alongside the lake from Eisenwald (end of the line for a bus out from Interlaken) - an hour and a half hiking through beautiful trees alongside the water. When we reached Giessbach at water level, we took the funicular railway up to the splendid hotel - a beuatifull restored building from the age of grand hotels. It is possible to walk up (20 minutes steep path) to avoid the 9 Swiss francs charge.

We wanted only a light lunch and this is where we came unstuck - the hotel has a beautifully situated restaurant overlooking the falls, but with prices which for us, are out of range for a lunchtime snack in the middle of a busy sightseeing day. The only alternative was a kiosk at the top of the funicular whch served hot dogs, toated sandwiches etc. Just about adequate on a sunny day, but with nowhere inside to eat it was not ideal on a cold, wet day.

It is worth checking the times of lake steamers if you are not driving - they call about once an hour, but outside peak season there is a two hour gap at lunchtime. We took the steamer on to Brienz and train bak to Interlaken. We could have walked on to Brienz around the lake, but that would have been another hour hiking. A great day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular waterfall walk”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After the short ride up the oldest funicular railway in the world, you will need good shoes to manage the rough path. The climb is worth the effort as the views down the falls towards the Grandhotel Giessbach are spectacular. Not good for those who suffer vertigo as some of the path is a little exposed. Would not be fun on a wet day as some of the path woudl be slippery. The whole ascent is over 2200 feet from the Breinzersee to the top of the waterfall. We had afternoon tea in the "Grandhotel" before we set off (worth the money as we were allowed to look around the grand reception rooms on the ground floor). The hotel is one of the Swiss Historic Hotels. It has been restored to its 19th Century splendour and is worth a visit in its own right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TechnoPrisoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“stunning Swiss scenery”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

You can combine seeing the Giessbach waterfalls with a paddlesteamer trip on the lake, a short trip on the funicular and a drink, meal or overnight stay at the classy historic Grand Hotel. We went on the funicular and were treated to a travelling group yodelling! Wunderbar! The waterfall is spectacular and you walk through pretty woodlands to various viewing spots and you can walk under the falls at one point. There is a lovely view of the falls from the hotel terrace and a view across the lake. Pretty stunning. We drove there and it is a pleasant drive up from the lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giessbach Falls also viewed

Brienz, Bernese Oberland
Meiringen, Bernese Oberland
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Brienz, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Giessbach Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing