We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Well Worth A Visit"”
Review of Schynige Platte

Schynige Platte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$189.11*
and up
3-6 Day Jungfrau Travel Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“"Well Worth A Visit"”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We travelled from our hotel in Wengen by train to Lauterbrunnen station and then we got the train to Interlaken but we had to get off at Wildersville station to catch the cog railway up to the Schynige Platte.On previous reviews,it can be quite costly to get up to the top of the Schynige Platte but if like us you have the Jungfrau 6day pass,it will entitle you to free access up the Schynige Platte as well as all the other trains and cablecars and boats in this region,so over the 6 day period whilst you are on holiday,the 6day pass will definitely save you money and time.
The journey up to the top takes about an hour but my advise is to try and sit on the right side of the carriage on the way up and then you will have the truly spectacular views of the Eiger,monch and Jungfrau mountains as well as the lakes of Thun and Brienze in the distance,not to be missed and get your cameras ready for the views.
Also,try and go when its not too cloudy and misty otherwise you will be disappointed at the top with not much to look at.We were lucky when we went.as it was brilliant sunshine and teashirt weather when we were at the top of the Platte.
Once at the top,you can either walk up the road to the self service resataurant which has great views of the three famous mountains as well as the views down in the Lauterbrunnen valley whilst you have refreshments.Or you can make you way to the Alpine Gardens which in back end of September were not many flowers left to look at but still has great views of the surrounding area.The paths are quite narrow around the gardens so take care when there is a lot of people around you and there are some benches to sit on and take in the views.
For the more adventurous of you,there are plenty of walks you can do in the area varying from easy to difficult gradients depending on your experience and fitness.
We did a circular walk around the Gardens and surrounding area taking in the tremendous scenery,it took us about an hour to walk round,then we got back to the station and we made our way up to the Resataurant for a bite to eat before we headed back down the Schynige Platte and back to Wildersville.
If you get chance to visit the Schynige Platte and its Alpine gardens,you won"t be disappointed,it is "Well Worth A Visit".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank simonGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    52
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Schynige Platte to First”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Schynige Platte is accessed via a cog railway departing from Wilderswil which is about 5 minutes by the regular train from Interlaken Ost (East) train station.
I was heading there for the highly recommended Schynige Platte to First hike so I did not spend a great deal of time there but I did take a walk through the alpine garden which was quite interesting, although understandably due to the late season was starting to go into hibernation for the winter.
The views from Schynige Platte of both the town of Interlaken and lakes Thun and Brienze are fantastic, a short walk on the escarpment can improve the view even more. As other reviews have identified the views of Eiger, Jungfrau and Monk are also very good.
Probably the best thing about it from my point of view is that it is less inundated with 'regular' tourists who prefer the more standard routes that go directly to the main Alps attractions, so it is quieter, giving you the chance to really take in the scenery with less distractions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Considered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
418 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A worthwhile side trip from Interlaken”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I really enjoyed taking the cogwheel railway up into the mountains and especially liked the alpine garden. There weren't a lot of flowers due to the lateness of the season but the views were wonderful and we felt it was well worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Ride and Views!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The anticipation starts when you get on the cog railway at Wilderswil. You chug up at a sharp angle for 50 minutes (including 2 stops). Initially in hills and forest area, then around a corner you get the views of Eiger, Monk, and Jungfrau, and it's all worth it!

Take your time on top. Walk around, enjoy the scenery, get a bite to eat. If you have clear weather, you won't want to leave. Even with partial clouds we couldn't take our eyes off the big mountains in the distance.

There is a snack shop by the station, but you might as well walk the 100m to the Berghaus to sit on the large deck for the views.

As others have said, there are many hiking trails of various distances around the area (see map pic). There are also some interesting picture frames just up from the train platform that will 'frame' your shot of the mountains for you!

Tip: Sit in right-hand side going up to get the mountain views at the top. Or sit on left-hand side going up to get the views of Interlaken during the hills/forest part.

All in all, yes, it's expensive, but worth it, IMO. (it's half price with Half Fare Card)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank vgroten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nostalgia and Scenery”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First you ride an historic electric cog railway where the scenery just gets better and better. Then you arrive to views to die for. Alpine horn players serenade you whilst you take refreshment from the self service cafe or the restaurant. You might then indulge in a walk of almost any length to suit you. There is also an Alpine Garden to view, but path is not suitable for those who are less able. Just be careful on the return that there are no booked parties on the train or you may have to wait. There is usually a train every forty minutes and spare ones to get everyone down at the end of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Festie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schynige Platte also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Schynige Platte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing