We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You grow into it... discreet luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“You grow into it... discreet luxury”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Gstaad Palace in late September as we took over the hotel for 2 days - so I had a chance to see all areas! As you get through the quite small reception area, the quality and friendly feel of the hotel is truly as described by other reviewers. It only has 90 rooms so keeps a small luxury hotel feel to it.

The single bed rooms are small (7 of them I think) but well planned out - and the larger rooms with views of the south mountains are very appealing. And the Maitre d'Hotel - Gildo - is like a perfect father meeting and greeting family back for a stay.

The food was exellent and there is a regular shuttle bus between the town\village (2 minutes down the hill) and the hotel.

For a five star hotel - it has six star prices, and the high level of the Swiss Franc does not help. hence it may be struggling a little but luxury is permanent and it will continue to be a success. I can imagine how it comes into its own during the winter months with snow on the ground, and the fires in the grates.
I didn't encounter any problems with any of the staff and the diversity from Italy, Germany and Switzerland was refreshing. They were all excellent and I love the motto of something like "We have kings as customers, and all of our customers are kings".

Having been I think that's it, I don't need to go back again but I am glad I went.
After we had our 2 day conference they closed until 16 December for the winter season.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seperior South or above so you do get a South facing room with the mountains\ hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    33
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
115
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed at the Gstaad Palace in late August for one week. The quality and ambience of the hotel is truly as described by other reviewers. However....for a five star hotel with five star prices the lack of service in the Lobby lounge bar and the terrace outside let the hotel down. To attract attention to order a drink was very difficult as the waiters were either talking to each other or just kept looking the other way. My friend and I had to get up each time to get the drinks menu, then order the drink and then pay for the drink. You could be sitting for quite a long time feeling very thirsty otherwise. I would advise the hotel management that they could be making a lot more profit out of their lobby and terrace bars if each customer was served promptly and drinks orders refreshed on a regular basis. I didn't encounter any problems with the concierge, reception, housekeeping and spa staff. They were all excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Alps rather than one overlooking the town. Probably a lot more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruemde d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Iconic hotel set up at the top of this lovely mountainside town. The spa is the best we have ever been too- sensational. Our room wasn't huge but was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We arrived mid afternoon and so grabbed a salad in the bar area- the staff in there were very unfriendly and pretty rude and whilst the salad was good we could not get over how expensive it was-WOW! Other staff we encountered at reception, in the spa etc were very nice indeed. The band that played in the evenings were wonderful. A hotel with a sense of tradition and history although a bit snooty in places and prepare to break the bank!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieAndCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed 1 night at this hotel in summer 2012 with a friend in a superior room with southern (so mountain) view and this hotel is simply magical!

Right from the arrival at this majestic property you feel transported into a fairytale somewhere between the Sound of Music and Disneyland. The hotel's atmosphere managed to find a mix between relaxed and cosy, the charm of the Swiss alps and timeless chic and elegance with just a touch of magic. The decoration of this property just fits so wonderfully right to this amazing location and atmosphere of this house, it is impossible to describe.

We were given a superior room with mountain view: the wonderful decoration and look'n'feel of this hotel continues in the room; an astonishing mix of romantic mountain chic and modern touches. The room was rather big, did feature a little balcony and a huge walk-in dressing room. At arrival we were offered a welcome homemade ice-tea and complimentary bottled water and a fruit plate in the room. A true highlight was the bathroom, which, you might have guessed it, was as well wonderfully painted and decorated. Sleep quality was wonderfully; very high quality bed linen. The hotel does have free wifi but no AC.

The spa area of this hotel keeps to the charm of the rest of the property, though properly plays its cards fully on cold winter days. Typical features like sauna, steam room, indoor pool and a fitness room are complemented by a heather exterior pool with jacuzzi. A true highlight in summer is the huge outdoor pool with several diving boards - great for summer days and swimming, very unusual for hotels in Switzerland.

Staff at this hotel is incredibly charming and lovely: always willing to help and very courteous.

Breakfast however was a little limited in its selection - yet still okay.

I would stay at this hotel again anytime and recommend it to anybody - it is just magical!

+Location
+Atmosphere and look'n'feel
+Spa
+Staff
+/- Brakfast

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Gstaad palace is one of the best properties i have stayed in. The location is perfect and luckily our room had excellent views of the surrounding mountains. must say the service is also great and they truly make you feel pampered.

The spa is a high point. they have a lovely pool with excellent views. we were lucky to have indulged in their hamam experience, which i feel is a must try.

very expensive and should be prepared to spend upwards of 1000 swiss franc a day.

Room Tip: should try to take a room facing the swiss alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Gstaad Palace is an icon towering above Gstaad. It is in a classic style with a beautiful lounge The rooms are bright, spacious and beautifully furnished. The walk into town is 7 mins but quite tough going uphill. There is a free shuttle to the station. Free wi-fi. The service was very good at reception and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Gstaad Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Cathie,

We would like to thank you for your precious comment of yesterday. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Palace!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Romuald Bour
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Expensive
Excellent service
We have stayed twice and every time it gets better.
If you want a piece of luxury (trust me you are paying for it) this is worth it. Suite was amazing, food delicious - we went full board as the restaurants were amazing. You are treated with dignity and get good service. The ideal place to stay in Gstaad.

Room Tip: Go full board and if staying here go a quality first class suite - yes its expensive but its worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisonDeLOrbBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Gstaad Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment, for which we are very grateful. It was a pleasure to read it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Palace.

Best Regards

Romuald Bour
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
106 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaad Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaad Palace Hotel

Property: Gstaad Palace Hotel
Address: Palacestrasse 28, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gstaad Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years the Gstaad Palace has earned an unrivalled reputation for discreet, refined hospitality, and has always welcomed the most discerning international clientele. Set on a hill overlooking Gstaad, the resort is privileged to offer a breathtaking view of the majestic Swiss Alps. The 104 tastefully decorated rooms include 19 junior suites, 4 suites, 2 Tower Suites and the most luxurious and sophisticated three-bedroom Penthouse Suite ever built in an Alpine resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gstaad Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing