We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Luxury accomodation”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Absolutely amazing place to stay, to relax, to work. Big rooms with every facility you need.
Great location, big balcony with views to the alps.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    35
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
122
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Fleeting visit to Gstaad for a bit of skiing. Stayed at The Palace as was recommended by friends. Enjoyed it, but not sure if we would stay again. It was almost very good, but was let down by minor things throughout the stay. Can see how it could be world class - just needs a little more polish though.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theyummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We came to the Gstaad Palace for the amazing tennis week with Roy Emerson. At first I was worried that we were well out of our depth having never stayed at a 5 star European hotel before. The room was incredible and I was only slightly embarrassed when I found that the staff would lay out my pyjamas if I left them under the pillow (they are designed for comfort not looks!)

The huge bathroom was a welcome retreat when I needed a bath after a hard day on the courts. The food was incredible and despite playing nearly 5 hours of tennis a day, I still managed to put on weight. The spa is incredible - albeit the prices are eye-watering and I wasn't aware that people would pay so much for such tiny items of spa-clothing.

I didn't experience any of the snobbery that others have referred to - quite the opposite in fact. If you love tennis, this is one of the most amazing things to treat yourself to. We are going back there this July having saved very hard to afford it - can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryqueenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

First, the setting is unforgettable. Admittedly, It lacks the dramatic, jaw-dropping scenery of the towering Alps as viewed in other parts of the Bernese Oberland. Instead, the Palace backdrop features a more serene Alpine beauty, with lovely hills and mountain areas. It's as stunning as Adelboden and Grindelwald, but in a different, more understated way.

My friend and I came to the Palace for a girls get-away. We received a great package deal: the three night stay included one free night, breakfast buffet each day, a four-course dinner for three nights, and a 50 minute massage or, in the alternative, two 25 minute massages. We loved every minute of our stay.

The staff was so friendly, particularly the maid service. In the morning, as soon as we left for breakfast, the staff immediately cleaned our room--seemingly within minutes of our departure. The cleaning staff greeted us with big, genuine smiles, looking sincerely happy to work at this hotel. Turn down service was lovely, with bottled water placed by our beds along with fabulous Swiss chocolates.

The bathroom featured great Molten Brown products. In both the bathroom and the hallway there were loads of cabinet and closet space.

The waiters were friendly, good-natured, and accommodating--particularly the Italian waiters. Both my friend and I don't eat red meat, and the waiters provided additional servings of the delicious fish and vegetable offerings. The food was over-the-top wonderful. The dessert was decadent. A very talented piano player/singer entertained at dinner-time.

I loved the spa! It's gorgeous--a lovely set up with beautiful views of the indoor and outdoor pools, and the surrounding greenery. While maintaining its character as an Alpine luxury retreat, the set-up seemed very modern and a bit Zen. There were countless comfortable lounging areas where I could relax in my comfy, plush spa robe near large window overlooking the indoor and outdoor pools, enjoying tea and other healthy treats. A beautiful fireplace serves as the centerpiece of the spa area—it must be amazing all lit up during wintertime.

The outdoor thermal pool featured an array of jet massages for tired, sore muscles. This was much needed after our two-hour stroll in the amazing mountains turned into a five hour journey. Thank goodness for those Irish boys who gave us a lift back to Gstaad!

If you visit the Palace, spend time soaking in the thermal pool while gazing at the beautiful mountainous surroundings and listening to the cowbells clang in the nearby alpine villages as the sun sets. It’s an unforgettable memory.

Yes, the hotel is older, and some hallways are seemingly sparse. But it is elegantly sparse. And keep in mind, old doesn't mean tired. The Palace is spotless, classic and replete with modern conveniences. The bar and patio areas are inviting, refined and gorgeous.

I never encountered any of the perceived "snobbery" from the hotel described in a prior, and in my opinion, extremely unfair review. Upon check-out, the hotel clerk ( so handsome!) inquired about our stay, wanting to make certain all went well. He enthusiastically recommended a return trip in winter. I hope one day to return to this lovely hotel in this majestic, peaceful setting.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdtravelgirlSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

They should renovate it a little but overall is nice Hotel Food is nice and not overpriced

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurnalistus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

I first stayed at the Palace over 20 years ago and over the past decade have been a regular visitor for both business and pleasure.

My most recent stay, just before Christmas, reminded me why this hotel manages to keep guests coming back again and again. The service is effortless, the ambiance refined without being overpowering, and a spinkling of snow on the ground outside always helps too, although Gstaad is equally lovely in the summer.

This time I was upgraded to a corner suite, perhaps too large for my needs and shamelessly indulgent, with fantastic views, a large sitting room and a well appointed bathroom. The walk-in shower, with beautiful stonework, was a nice feature, and there was plenty of space elsewhere to work, relax or eat. The Palace has apparently just spent CHF.15 million on upgading their spa and although I didn't have time to sample it, friends have enjoyed it. Most relevant of all, perhaps, the staff at the Palace are ultra professional and attentive, and I notice that there appears to be very little turnover, always a good sign.

No one nationality dominates amongst the guests, they come from a wide age group (well, 35-85 anyway...) and dress and behaviour are relaxed but smart, so the atmosphere is easygoing.

Needless to say, the bill is seldom less than eyewatering, but you get what you pay for, and in my opinion there still isn't another hotel in Gstaad- or many other places- to touch the Palace.

  • Liked — Accomodation, service, views
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank veryhardtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

Beautiful hotel, excellent staff -but no wheelchair access to anywhere except dining room and main bar. Hotel staff will always help(at some risk to you!) but there is no possibility of any independence. I was talked into booking a junior suite -but couldn't access the room unaided or the toilet or the balcony once I was in the room - a dreadful experience.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank susant46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
110 reviews
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaad Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaad Palace Hotel

Property: Gstaad Palace Hotel
Address: Palacestrasse 28, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gstaad Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years the Gstaad Palace has earned an unrivalled reputation for discreet, refined hospitality, and has always welcomed the most discerning international clientele. Set on a hill overlooking Gstaad, the resort is privileged to offer a breathtaking view of the majestic Swiss Alps. The 104 tastefully decorated rooms include 19 junior suites, 4 suites, 2 Tower Suites and the most luxurious and sophisticated three-bedroom Penthouse Suite ever built in an Alpine resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gstaad Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing