We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a town where everything is expensive...”
Review of Posthotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posthotel Roessli
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Post Hotel Roessli is an old favorite of ours. We have stayed there four times over the past 10 years or so and it's always a reliable choice in Gstaad.

In August, my daughter and I were on a 10 day bike trip from Munich to Salzburg to Geneva; we planned our route to go through Gstaad so that we could enjoy the gorgeous Bernese Oberland scenery. We stayed at the Post Hotel Roessli in a nice, typically Swiss room (wood paneled walls and ceiling, simple furniture) and had dinner and breakfast there-- both were fine.

The only disappointment came when a young couple's noisy argument in the center of town woke us up-- they were really screaming at each other-- so, if you like to sleep with the windows open (as we do) you should be prepared for the possibility of some noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Posthotel Roessli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

A lovely family-owned and run hotel in the centre of Gstaad. From there (and hotel has its own parking facilities) the Gstaad sights, shops and Festival locations (e.g. Menuhin Festival Concerts) are a short walk away. Service, by both management and staff, is very good: helpful and with no-fuss efficiency. Rooms are relatively simple (as befits a traditional chalet) yet well appointed, well equipped, clean and cheerful. Breakfasts are great, with the best of fresh bread varieties. The restaurant is a bit of a landmark and one does well to reserve a table beforehand. It serves a number of dishes (e.g. calf's liver in a vinegar sauce with roesti) that are - or should be - famous across the land..! A very nice hotel, to which we will certainly return!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main "square" of Gstaad provide a lovely view! The down-side is that...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Visited here with friends who had been before as it was a real treat to try the local dish of sausage and hash browns (not the local name) which was delicious. The staff were very friendly and the surroundings charming. A place not to miss if you are in Gstaad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a very nice Chalet/Hotel
Located on the begin of the pedestrian area, its no problem to unload your car in front of the main entry and park behind and take a different entrance.
The staff is very friendly, we have been travelling with 2 kids and we got an upgrade to a bigger room.
The rooms are very warm, and the bathrooms have a good standard.
It was quiet silent and we could not hear other guests.
I would recommend for family ( there is no lift for buggy )

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bogdan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

The Rossli appears to be a charming local institution and enjoys a great location right on the main promenade in Gstaad. We stayed at the recommendation of friends who are 20 year veterans of Gstaad.

The rooms were nice if simply furnished - in keeping with a three star hotel. The vintage photos and prints hint at the history of both the town and the establishment. Breakfast is included in the room rate as is Wifi and parking.

The staff was overall much more welcoming than the hotel management. If you want to be in the thick of the Gstaad scene, then this is a reasonable option. For a bit extra, the Bernerhof Hotel (4 stars) is also on the promenade. It has nicer rooms and better facilities like an indoor pool and sauna plus a couple of restaurant options.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We've been to the restaurant, wich is inside the Hotel... The food was very nice, and the fondue was delicious. They sai that that was the first hotel in Gstaad area, and it is walking distance for city main road (shops, bars, etc).

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The family-run Post Hotel Rossli in the center of Gstaad embodies the essence of a Swiss family-run Chalet. Our room was large, quiet, very clean and nicely appointed with wonderful views of the Alps and grazing sheep. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful with respect to cycling routes, restaurants, hikes and other outdoor activities in the Gstaad area. We went 3 days without the use of our car – you can walk, hike, bike and take the trams and gondolas everywhere. The Gstaad Sports Complex is very close by, offering tennis (indoor and outdoor), swimming and much more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarterBravmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
410 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posthotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Roessli

Address: Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gstaad
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#8 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range: £98 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Roessli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posthotel Rossli - the most traditional and oldest Hotel in the middle of town! This building was built approximately in 1823 and bought by Bendicht Steffen in 1844. It first opened in 1845 as a guesthouse. Back then it also was used as as a post office. By the way, the Rossli-Hotel is the oldest hotel in town. Since 1922, our family owns the establishment, and today we are proud to be the fourth generation, managing the Posthotel Rossli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posthotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing