We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Grand Bellevue
Nearby Hotels
US$214
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn(Gstaad)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posthotel Roessli(Gstaad)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arc-en-ciel(Gstaad)
US$362
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Gstaad(Gstaad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olden(Gstaad)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
506
48
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
48
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench toastsushi baramazing spamichelin starfinnish saunathe owner managerevery guestattention to detailus feel at homedifferent kindsworld class spatreatment roomstower suitea la carte menugreat facilitiesvery special placeprivate cinema
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have stayed at the Bellevue for the last 5 years and went back in August 2013 to eat in the restaurant. The complete update to the foyer, furnishings and facilities is immediately pleasing; the old chrome and leather look of the 1960's (which we rather liked) is now ''soft and squsihy''; the cocktail bar is now adjacent to the main restaurant and the new owners are cosmetically changing the look and feel of an aristocratic hotel.

The restaurant is much better than at any time in the last 3 years. Set menu (good) is a reasonabl;e CHF70; great cocktails; service is friendly although not very qualified (typical problem of recruiting career people around Gstaad); a rather poor selection of Swiss Wines disappoints; good fresh ingredients although little creativity in presenting classical ''mountain'' dishes.

The Bellevue faces immense competition in Gstaad (especially with the opening of the new Alpina Hotel) so it has to try harder and this is evident in the attitude of the new owners. For a posh meal, it's very good and should get even better.

Note that the Spa is also excellent although you will pay top prices for everything becasue it's Gstaad.

Room Tip: Suites are interesting and varied.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Noel G,

It has been a year since your very kind review to which I am most grateful. Thank you so much for having visited us, and for the continued support following our renovation.

I am delighted you appreciate all the changes. We have now also completed the full renovation of the rooms, so I do hope you shall come by and see them.

One of your comments struck me to heart, and which I fully agree with you on, with regards to the small selection of Swiss Wines. My sommelier and I have dramatically increased this, with now 67 references of Swiss wines.

I do hope you shall find the time to enjoy these here in the near future and wish you all the best in the mean time.

With kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel. The front of house staff are very helpful and polite, and our room was spacious and comfortable, although the replacement of the furniture as part of the scheduled refurbishment will be welcome.The facilities are excellent as is the location so close to the centre.
Whilst the food in the restaurant was very good and commensurate to its standing, the restaurant staff (barman excluded) at dinner really let down the hotel. Staff seems polite, but there is so much more to service at this level. Our bill contained an extra charge and having ordered a dish on the server's recommendation, a different meal was provided (this was confirmed on the bill). Although the extra charge was removed, such basic errors are not to be expected at a 5* establishment. We thought about giving the restaurant a second chance as the dinner menu had impressed. However, we wanted a table for dinner on the terrace in spite of the downpour in the afternoon. We have been told that the weather was to be clear for the rest of the afternoon/evening (and it was so), and the front of house staff (manager?) offered to have a table set up in the presence of the restaurant manager. However, when we later tried to confirm the table, the restaurant manager would not agree to the table. It was particularly disappointing when we saw two people who appeared to be finishing on the terrace when we returned from town later that evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GPLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear GPLove,

My apologies for not writing sooner, however since your comment, we have been heartily working on improving all of our facilities and structure to address exactly the valid comments which you have made. I am highly confident now with the new team, the new structure, and direction that you will be wholesomely pleased with the new restaurant Leonards and the excellent staff which we have now in place.

I thank you for the comments, and shall continue with my team to improve each element to ensure such disappointment does not occur again.

I wish you the best, and hope you shall give us another opportunity to delight you.

With kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Everything was great , could use a few more English channels on the tv . Breakfast was amazing and the entire stay was just a possitive experience. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the great pool and wellness area

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Mick P,

Thank you so much for your kind review and my apologies for this delayed reply...We have been working on further renovations, and you will be delighted to know we have fully changed all the technology to the latest flat screens with music systems and many many many new English channels!

I do hope you shall come and see us soon...

With kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great remodeled hotel, new owner, very pleasant help, greeted with a welcome drink. The room was very large, many closets and draws. You could stay a week! Spa facilities including indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast had wonderful croissants both plain and chocolate, breads and cheese, choices of juices and fresh cut fruit. For dinner the appetizers were very tasty, main course was just ok. Walking distance to town. Lovely outdoor dining with gardens surrounding the terraced area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are quieter. In the rear of the hotel the local train passes several times a day.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potlowmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear potlowmi,

My apologies for this rather belated reply, however we have been diligently working on improving our facilities and services over this last year. Thank you so much for your comments and feedback.

We have now introduced a new granite lounge, sushi bar amongst other wonderful features, so I do hope you shall return and try it all out again.

Thank you again for your constructive observations.

Wishing you all the best and safe travels,

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This property is under new management and the owner is very much present and hands-on,making sure his guests are happy.Our three night stay in late July,2013, was perfect and we look much forward to returning soon. The spa and pool are wonderful.The walk to the center of Gstaad just 200 metres. We and our friends who joined us have nothing but praise for this wonderful,small leading hotel.
If you stay for more than a few nights and wish a little dining variety we recommend the Rialto restaurant in town.

Room Tip: Insist on luxury rooms facing the front with view. All remodeled in a clean, modern style.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pontormo187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Pontormo187147,

My apologies for this belated reply to your very kind review. Since your stay we have further improved the hotel with a new granite garden lounge on the lawn, as well as fully renovating the rooms to being even nicer! We have subsequently been highly busy, but it is all going very well!

I do hope we shall see you again very soon and wish you pleasant stays and dinings wherever you are.

With kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews