We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-star gem in Gstaad”
Review of Le Grand Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Bellevue
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A 5-star gem in Gstaad”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We decided to spend 4 nights at this hotel after reading good reviews about its new ownership on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.

This hotel is a five star hotel offering 5 star services with none of the stuffiness that sometimes accompanies such establishments. It is right at the entrance of Gstaad if you are driving or a few yards from the train station if arriving by train, so perfect location and very easy to find.

The hotel has recently been renovated with very tasteful and luxurious furnishings which exude a warm, inviting feeling - like a home away from home! Upon arrival, we were met and greeted by the owner Daniel, who made it a point to meet and greet all the guests daily at breakfast and dinner.

We (3) stayed in a deluxe double room which was very nicely appointed with a view of the town/mountains. It was spacious and accommodating, given that we also had a child’s bed in the room. I highly recommend rooms with this view! The mini-bar was also included in the room rate which was a great complement and was refreshed daily (although we did have to ask for the peanuts to be replaced!). The only slight criticism (and perhaps a personal one) is that we felt the room was too warm to sleep in and several times, had to get rid of the covers. It would have been perfect if the room had been 1 - 2 degrees cooler.

The staff are all very nice and friendly - special mention to Kristina at the Leonard restaurant who catered to our 4 year old’s whims in a very professional way! - However, there were times when I felt there was a disconnect between staff operating in different parts of the hotel. For instance, we had heard from another family that there was a kids club operating in the hotel, but could not get any information about this club from the staff at the spa (who seemed to know nothing about it). But in their traditional helpful way, the staff at the spa called around the hotel, got the required information several phone calls later, and were able to guide us to the venue of the Kids Club. We also experienced this disconnect with the ski-school arrangements which we booked via the hotel where we were told one thing by the reception and another at the ski-rental shop with regards to the transfer to the Ski-school. Perhaps the most annoying example is that we were also not made aware by reception or anyone else that there was a charge payable for the Kids Club which was not included in the room rate, and only found this out a day before our departure – which left me slightly peeved! However, these were just minor irritants - nothing major.

This review would not be complete without mention of the spa area and the restaurant Leonard. The spa area has been beautifully designed to offer a cosy, private and relaxing atmosphere with a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, several selections of sauna and steam treatment rooms etc., gym, solarium etc. and offering a great selection of spa treatments with first class products!. I had a massage treatment from Sak at the Spa and I cannot recommend the spa treatments highly enough.

The food at Leonards was simply amazing - compliments to the chef!! And even if you don’t stay at the hotel, the restaurant and the spa are definitely worth a visit if one is in Gstaad.

Finally, the kids club operated in the hotel was the icing on the cake for frazzled parents like us who could leave our daughter with Petra, knowing that she will be thoroughly entertained and stimulated while we indulged in some much-needed "us" time. Our 4 year old enjoyed the activities and events at the Kids club so much that she did not want the leave!

I highly recommend this hotel and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the town/mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mizmay,

I should begin with an apology for such a belated reply to your very kind review of our hotel!

Your comments are so welcome; it is always hard to know if our wishes for our clients are actually being received as such, and your words tell us we are going in the right direction. Your observations of how we remain luxurious but yet understated are my true intentions for this hotel, and it is so wonderful to read your response. Our staff cares very much, and I shall let them know of your appreciation of all of their hard work. Thank you.

You make reference to our free mini-bar, which is an important decision for us. It is important that our clients come and relax, and we do not believe counting pennies for wifi or minibar is the way to look after our clients, which is why they are both free... so thank you for noticing!

As a new hotel having been open only a few days on your arrival, and with so many new facilities (new Sushi bar, new Kids club, new Cinema etc) we unfortunately still have much training in order that our caring staff is up to date with all the information. You are absolutely correct to point this out, but I am now happy to say that our staff is now well versed in all the facilities. Of course we shall continue to learn and strive to deliver what all hoteliers aim to achieve, which is excellence in service.

Ultimately we wish you to come here, relax, indulge and return feeling pampered, and I am pleased that your time in the Spa, and your dining experiences have contributed to this!

Your return is graciously anticipated and we wish you a wonderful 2014.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    45
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
119
255
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The bellevue is thankfully in new hands on ownership.

It has been transformed to be a five star establishment in the Center of town . In spite of its grand hotel five star status it is warm friendly and welcoming to visitors and locals alike.

The restaurant is good and so is the service they are also happy to welcome people to the bar or terrace in the summer for simple fair .

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to any visitor or resident of the valley . I understand the hotel rooms are all new and superb though i have not stayed . For sure worth a visit .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear JonathonSwitzerland,

It is kind of you to have written such a review. We are delighted you appreciate the new hotel and particularly your mentioning our formidable location on the high street itself!

The snow is remarkable right now, it is truly picturesque.

Please do return and let us know.

With kind regards and wishing you Season's Greetings.

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Wonderful, excellent position and just completely refurbished ,this 100 + year old hotel ,what better way to end the day after skiing than a fantastic hotel!! The spa is gorgeous outdoor finnish sauna, indoor selection of fragrance and other steam rooms hamman style, fantastic for sore mussels apres skiing ... Rooms are spacious ,we never felt cramped with our 5 year old also sharing the room ,
We went for the stay 7 , pay for 6 deal which included breakfast and a 3 course dinner each night
The food was delicious pat on the back to the head chef , this deal also included a 5 day ski pass ..., our daughter made magnificent progress on skiis and all round an excellent experiance we will return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear "Pussinpants",

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us, and delighted to know that your daughter made such progress on the pistes!

We all appreciated the thoughts of a 'hotelier', and I personally enjoyed our conversations thoroughly.

Following our opening only 10 days ago, it was also fabulous for us to have filled the hotel with such kind persons, and I do hope you shall return to visit us soon.

Wishing you season's greetings and all the best to the three of you.

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during the summer last year.

Scene- beautifully renovated building with gorgeous scenery of Gstaad/ Alps
Very near to the oldtown.

Rooms– simple comfy clean room, with nice Bang and Olufsen tv, spacious and really nice bathroom.
The rooms are not equipped with air-condition so during summer it’s a little bit warm inside the room. So don’t open the window or curtains. At night thanks to their big windows I opened them completely and it was very fresh at night so we had a comfy sleep.
They have a 2 cute small balcony as well.

Service – quite ok but not yet impressive. Or I guess we were there during the Summer so most staff are just starting or having their internships. Thanks also for the free valet parking. Its nice to know that your car is safely hidden while your on a holiday.

Amenities - they have an entertainment room and they showed movies every night if I remember. The spa is on a separate building. Good service I can say.
They have a chalet outside the hotel a small grill restaurant. We tried that and it was lovely. Chalet is so cute. I enjoyed it there. :)

Buffet breakfast – its small but decent and delicious.

Overall it’s a nice hotel, expensive but I will try other hotel in Gstaad next time for the Winter.

Room Tip: Corner room is good as you have bigger windows so you can see the nice view of Gstaad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frauessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Kristine,

As the Owner and Managing Director of the hotel I wished to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your trusting us with your stay.

We had just opened the public areas prior to your arrival, so I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities. I am very glad you were also able to enjoy the private cinema, it is such a charming room to enjoy a movie. Perhaps next year you will be able to join us as we have a very large outdoor cinema too here at the hotel!

Wishing you many happy travels and all the best.

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

After being on the road throughout Asia for two weeks, we took a few days break at the Bellevue on our way home to Canada. It had a most positively unexpected and enjoyable stay. The facilities were impeccable and refreshing. The staff was most admirable and must be the envy of the competing hotels.

Their high standards can only come from the ("new" we are told) owner that we had the pleasure to meet. He displayed the greatest interest in finding out how we were enjoying ourselves and what he could do to make our stay even more memorable.

Finally, we loved the Bellevue's location as it was on the main street, a very short stroll away from all the restaurants, yet on the edge so that we could not be distracted by the activity.

We look forward to returning to the Bellevue in the very near future!

Room Tip: We suspect that there are no bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Rene,

Thank you so much for your review and rating.

I trust your return to Canada was a safe one? I know you are far away, but I do hope we can tempt you to return and try our new rooms which will be ready this December! All rooms will now have been refurbished.

Either way, it was a pleasure to have hosted you here, and am honoured for your mention.

Wishing you safe onward travels,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 11 nights in the beautiful village of Gstaad.Our room was fantastic, large and modern with the most gorgeous bathroom. All the staff at the hotel were first class and so friendly and efficient. The owner Daniel was on hand almost all of the time and was available to speak to at anytime.In the evening there were red and green tassles to put outside your door to let the cleaners know if you wanted it cleaned or not and they always came back to turn the bed down when you put the green tassle out. So much better than the cleaners knocking at the door as you are about to change for dinner! We chose the half board dinner menu which was a 3 course meal every night. It was beautifuly cooked by Urs but I was a little disappointed that it was only 3 courses with no little extras! Also I wasn't keen on the menu being the same for lunch specials and dinner!The bar area is fabulous and the cocktails amazing, also the bar menu is very good for a snack lunch.It is lovely sitting on the terrace in the sunshine having lunch and also sitting in the garden reading later. Overall we had a fabulous holiday in a wonderful area of the Bernese Oberland and cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room superior and it was very modern and fabulous but the owner is renovatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycharmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear 'Lucycharmax',

It is so lovely that you appreciated our special property, and my thanks for sharing this with other travelers. This is such an important element for us, and we are grateful!

It is also wonderful to hear about the details which our guests most appreciate, and those with a keen eye for detail. Our objective is to never disturb our guests, but always be available, so our door tassels is one such example, thank you for noticing. I do hope you will return soon, as we have now even more special key chains, which I am certain you will appreciate, along the same lines.

With best regards and wishing you pleasant hotel stays...

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had never been to the Alps in summer and we decided on an end of summer mini break to stay in the beautiful Bellevue hotel in Gstaad. It has recently been bought by charming young couple Daniel and Davia. Daniel welcomes all guests personally and his knowledgeable and loving attention to detail is everywhere. Davia is renovating and redecorating the entire hotel with her impeccable taste and what she has done so far is stunning. Cosy but stylish drawing room areas with a magnificent log fire and a wonderful open plan bar and dining room. We enjoyed fantastic cocktails and champagne and ate delicious nibbles before moving across to dinner. The whole hotel has a brilliant buzz to it and the service, especially at the front desk is fantastic. It is right in the centre of Gstaad but nonetheless both the rooms and gardens are hugely spacious. The spa and all the different saunas have to be experienced to be believed and we thoroughly enjoyed our treatments. We will definitely be back with our 3 small children for another visit in the ski season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGBgstaad, Inhaber at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear PickyTrav,

My apologies for this highly belated reply to what was such a kind review!

As you may imagine, we have been very hands on in the renovation process, and we managed now to finalise the renovation of the full hotel (rooms and public areas). As such, it means my responses are a little delayed! Sorry.

Your comments are exactly that which I would wish for, so thank you so much! We try hard to balance all of our guests needs and tastes, so your appreciation for what we have done makes it all so worthwhile. I do hope you return for some skiing (weather today is fabulous!!! Feb 27th!).

With kind regards to you and your whole family.

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gstaad
0.3 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bellevue

Property: Le Grand Bellevue
Address: Hauptstrasse 17-21, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Bellevue)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Spa Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Family Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Business Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Bellevue 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid an idyllic park, right at the entrance of the charming, traffic-free village of Gstaad, Le Grand Bellevue invites guests to experience comfortable elegance and dramatic views of the surrounding mountains. After a complete renovation, the 100 year old hotel reopened in early December 2013 and presents its public areas and 57 rooms in an all-new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Grand Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing