We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend break for a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After a 15 minute stroll from Saanen train station, my wife and I arrived at the Hotel Alpine Lodge, not really knowing what to expect. We had gone for a little get away and from the moment we entered the door we knew we had made a good choice.

Alex, the receptionist, took our names to check the booking before telling us to leave our bags with him. He quickly fetched us a drink of our choice and told us to go sit on the patio and that the rest of the details could be sorted after we had relaxed for a minute or 2.

We went and sat in the sun, feeling pampered before we even got started! After finishing our drinks, we met Alex at the desk who showed us to our unique room. We had the hiking suite, which had a directions post in case you couldnt find the bed, computer etc. 1 word of warning - they have actual rocks as part of the floor in that room so watch out for stubbed toes!

The room was great. Fresh apples on the bed, large balcony, good bathroom. No minibar but no matter, the bar downstairs is only 2 minutes away and a wonderful setting.

We didnt try the food whilst we were there opting to explore Gstaad and Saanen instead. However we were given a tour and the dining area was very nice indeed.

I would not think twice about staying there if we go back to the area. After many years of traveling, and many 4-5* hotels visited, I dont think I have had such good service from the 1st second as I did there. Thanks again Alex, you made that little extra effort which made our weekend that little bit more special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattunwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

Me and my wife had a 1 night stay at the Alpine Lodge (06.03.2013) in Saanen, a little chalet village near the wonderful city of Gstaad (5 minutes by car).
The stay was a gift (smartbox) that we got for our marriage, and we couldn't be more satisfied from our choice.
When we arrived at the hotel we could easily find a park in front of the structure (for free). At the reception were on duty Alex, a young blond man that fixed all the best way possible. At first he invited us for a glass prosecco, then he showed us the house and at the end he presented our room, giving us the key (a very original one). The room was spacious, clean and very welcoming.
Later we went to the restaurant for the dinner. We enjoyed a great high-class treatment from the waiters (a plus also to them); another chapter is dedicated to the Maitre of the restaurant, a real showman. The food was delicious, from the starter until the dessert. The same for the breakfast, an unpayable buffet which comprends every kind of food, which guarantees you the best mood to start a great day.
The sleep-quality has been very good.
Our experience has been positive from all the aspects. We had not time to test the pools and the other facilities but maybe next time will be possible.
We suggest to everybody to have a stay at this hotel. Great value for money (considering that the place is practically in Gstaad, comparated to other hotels).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucMayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_14131, Owner at Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Mrs. Camasso

Thank youu very much for your review. We are glad the Hotel Alpine Lodge was a great fit for you and your family vacation. Glad our kind staff, pristine accommodations and spacious guest rooms exceeded expectations during your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon here in Gstaad.

Greetings the Alpine Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

we stayed 3 nights on a ski vacation in early february.
the location is outside gstaad and the rooms need rennovation.
the public areas are in good state, perhapes after rennovation,
very nice spa for a 3 star hotel.
the restaurant is very nice located.
there is no insulation in the room doors and the noises are not acceptable.
the manager said it is normal but i didn't experience such noises even in much less expensive hotels. this is not a youth hostel and the bb price is more than 300 usd for night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived on a friday evening through the Col de Pillon (via Diablerets). Stressful enough as there was a minor snow storm and forceful jets of wind, Take the autoroute via Bulle!! Much easier and very scenic!

We arrived at the hotel. We were wonderfully greeted. And we werre wonderfully surprised with the chalet style (swiss chalet!!) decor and interiors yet with a modern touch in design, lighting and feel. We felt at home and right off we knew we would have a good weekend.

Rooms were spatious, modern (albeit its wooden infrastructure which gives it the cozy chalet feel) and it almost felt as if we were in our own chalet. Very comfortable.

The hotels offers pool, sauna and play room for kids...and I was tempted to go play in the arcade room ...I resisted!!

As for the pool, there was nothing better to arrive after 10am when all the tenants have gone to the hills to ski and to get into the 31° water. Windows on all side offering a magnificent view of the immediate surroundings. The inside pool is linked to the outside one. The outside pool opens later in the day.

Overall, this place is top of the list. We left on sunday afternoon. Gstaadt is not an exciting village. In fact it is very boring (with only 1 main street and stores which cater to the 0.0001% who can afford the items on display). Expect to pay big for simple afternoon warm-up of a coffee and grappa.Although not exciting, we relaxed and enjoyed our 3 days there. Nature abounds and Alpine makes sure that this is what you get.

Thank you Alpine Lodge!

Room Tip: I wish the exterior pool opened in the day but in a way, swimming in -5° outside with the steam and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentv1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic week at the Alpine Lodge. The welcome at the hotel was excellent. The welcome drink was the first item on the agenda and we were then given a tour of the hotel facilities before being shown to our room. We had only booked b&b but after 2 nights of using the hotel restaurant we decided to do the same for the remainder of the stay. The menu is very competitively priced for the region and the food was highly impressive. Breakfast was a full buffet each day with local meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, a wide choice of breads and pastries all of which were high quality. The afternoon tea and cake was also lovely to come back to after each ski day. The heated outdoor/indoor pool was great - the only thing missing was a hot-tub. But what sets this hotel apart is the service - the staff are all charming and friendly and do everything they can to ensure that you have a great stay. When I needed a dentist urgently they found one for me, put me in touch and even took me down there. The hotel dog, Charly, is a young Pug - she is the perfect hostess and makes sure she divides her time equally among the guests. We used the hotel transport to get us to the ski lifts everyday & this was really useful as it got us much closer than if we had driven and used the public car parks. The driver was great and went out of his way to please the guests. We took one of the south facing rooms which are all themed - ours was a hill-walking theme complete with rocks in the floor and a panorama of the surrounding mountains over the bed. The view from the room of the mountains was spectacular although several times this was not visible due to all the wonderful snow falling. We will be going back to the Alpine Lodge - it is a real gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manticore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

10/10 for this lovely hotel close to Gstaad in Switzerland. We have spent the last two Christmas holidays there with our young children and each time we have met other families who have been going there for years. It is no surprise as the quality of the accommodation, the wonderful indoor/outdoor pool, the fun gamesroom and play area for kids and the standard of the food is fantastic. Best of all though is the warm welcome extended to us by the owners and all the staff at the hotel who all speak English and French as well as German - they are a great group of people who really take an interest and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxed. They booked sleigh rides for us and on Christmas Eve there is a festive visit from Santa and his angel with gifts handed out for everyone.

Gstaad itself is very picturesque and great for skiing or sledging and so festive at that time of year. I'm sure it is great in the summer as well but we have yet to go at that time of year. If we do we will definitely stay at the Alpine Lodge and we would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zephyr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at the Alpine Lodge. We were on a family ski holiday and I couldn't have been happier. As we stepped into the hotel, the owner welcomed us and then took us on a personal tour of all the facilities. There was a welcome drink and little cookies for the kids, who were starving after the drive in.

In general, the food was excellent, the pool lovely, and the play room clean and neat. The room we stayed in was comfortable and when there was a problem with one of the heaters the staff fixed it right away. I was also very happy with the afternoon tea, which was a nice break from the day.

Although the hotel is 10 min by car from the ski slopes, the hotel shuttle was always willing to pick us up and drop us off whenever was convenient for us so I didn't mind that at all. They also gave great recommendations for massage and a winter sleigh ride.

We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangeblossom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_14131, Owner at Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Alpine Lodge and we hope that we will see you soon.

Greetings from Gstaad from the whole Alpine Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.0 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen

Address: Wyssmuelleriweg 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3792, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range: £132 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing