We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We often go the hotel Arc-en-Ciel in Gstaad. It is ideally located, just a 10 minute walk from the center of Gstaad. The rooms are refreshingly clean and are just the right size - we like the ones by the river so that we can hear the running water. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is consistently good - the breakfast is also excellent. Another advantage is that it has a large outdoor parking lot so one does not have to look for a spot in the center of town.
Highly recommended.
Gabor Kato
Geneva, Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKato11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminanora, Owner at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Mr Kato
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleaure to have you as our guests and we are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and the hotel. Your comments are a good motivation for all our team! We hope to welcome you back soon and whish you all the best. Christiane Matti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    58
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
51
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

The Arc-en-ciel is very nice hotel in the traditional sense within walking distance to Gstaad town centre. Convenient location 2 mniutes walk to the Egglistrasse chair lift and across the road from a ski hire shop.

Whilst Gstaad is generally expensive and this was not a bargain stay we felt that given the food, room size, comfort of the beds (we slept like logs) and the overall level of the hotel it wasn't too bad.

The wood fire pizza's and local beers are superb. Breakfast has great variety and freshness to allow you to stock up on for a hard days skiing.

The only let down was no free spa amenities. You had to book the entire spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

As always the hotel Arc En Ciel is a pleasure to stay at, comforting to see so many of the staff are the same year after year, it’s a bit like seeing old friends.
One of the best things is the location at the base of one of the ski slopes in Gstaad, so it’s either 2 mins walk to the base of the one of slopes, or 10 mins the other way to another slope, or 15 mins walk into town (if you’re not skiing)
Room was clean and tidy as always, the hotel picked us up from the train station (and dropped us off at the end of our stay), just an indicator of the service offered.
The restaurant provides a wide choice of meals, with a good wine list, advisable to book on a Friday or Saturday night.

Room Tip: If you're skiing then ask for a room with a bath, nice to relax the muscles after a day on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminanora, Inhaber at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure having you again as our guests and we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our services and the staff. This is a big motivation for us! See you soon again! Christiane Matti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

When visiting a friend staying at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, I liked it and asked if they had a room.
Fully booked and it was 28th December. We than booked somewhere else at exorbitant price and soon after that Hotel Arc-en-Ciel called and told us that they had a cancellation and like to offer a double room for 540CHF per night. Not a real bargain for a 4 Star Hotel with an average room rate of 280 CHF.... But we accepted, the Hotel was pleased and we were pleased not having to drive on icy road to Saanen. Garage was another 15 CHF and when driving down down to Garage, the door closed while I was trying to drive in. A nightmare!! Just managed to get out in a sec.Had to go up in reverse gear the narrow steep an curvy passway- it took ages. Better to leave the car outside as Garage is not underneath the Hotel and one has to carry to everything up and down. We checked out next day and came back the following morning to say hallo to our friend in Breakfast room. But as Breakfast time was over, the Owner would not let us go inside to say hallo. That was an remarkable experience even for my Swiss friend and rather unfriendly, as the owner just treated us like beggars, which we disliked profoundly. We certainly will not come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminanora, Inhaber at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry about the problem with the garage door. It has been fixed the next day and now it is working perfectly. The incident at the breakfast is not excusable and I regret it. I told my restaurant Manager to be more thoughtful and not react in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Lovely hotel indeed....

We stayed here for one night during the weekend and it was lovely...Nice and clean, comfy bed, complete facilities and amenities. We also had dinner and it was delicious....the breakfast was satisfying as well, with warm food and hot chocolate, my fave...the hotel was located strategically as well, so it was easy to go around...My husband and my son got a chance to hike around...really nice...

The city itself is beautiful as well...so dont miss it...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndahNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

No, this is not the Palace, or the Grand, but it costs a fraction as much, and in many ways is just as nice. If you have young children...say between about 3 and 7, there is NO other choice in Gstaad as far as I'm concerned. The amenities for children in this hotel are amazing. There are not one but two indoor playrooms, including slides, climbing wall, and a bunch of other goodies that kids love. An outdoor playground for good weather.....and the crown jewel (at least as far as my son was concerned).....a mini race track with little electric cars that allow kids to drive a car around a small track in complete safety. My son was over the moon.

There are also many bicycles on site, that are free for hotel guests.

The rooms are very nice, at least 4 star in quality, and in some ways better than the Palace, which costs three times as much. Service is 5 star all the way, including evening maid service, instant and friendly room service, and smiles from every employee.

The grounds aren't extensive, as they are at the Grand and Palace, but there is a nice enough outdoor pool, and there is a nice spa.

Food is good, though there is only one restaurant, though in all fairness it has a pretty wide range of cuisines on offer.

The bottom line is that if you don't mind paying 2 or 3 times as much for the Palace of Grand, you will get a bit more, though not that much, to be honest. If money is of ANY consequence to you, the Arc en Ciel is the only choice.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent 7 nights here during August 2012 and definitely plan to return.

Gstaad is a lovely town with all the amenities you need (supermarkets, pharmacies, restaurants etc) as well as a number of high end designer boutiques. It is clearly an upmarket town and hence the accommodation options were a little pricier than for other towns. It offers fantastic hiking possibilities and looked like it would offer good ski options in winter. Train and bus transport options are available, although we did find that sometimes there was a long wait between connections.

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the centre of town and train station, and consequently is very quiet and peaceful. It is also located next door to a cable car/gondola which although not operating over summer, would be very convenient in winter.

We had a junior suite which was pricey, but it was spacious and included a very functional balcony. The bathroom was modern and the views were beautiful. The hotel has an outdoor pool, an outdoor dodgem car track for children, an indoor playroom for children, 3 restaurants with a wide range of options and car parking. Although there is a spa, this needs to be booked and paid for. There are also self catering apartments available.

All staff members were very helpful during our stay - particularly the concierge who helped us plan our hikes. The restaurant was well priced and very popular with locals. We ended up eating all our meals here.

Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel and plan to return next summer or possibly in winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.6 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arc-en-ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Property: Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Address: Egglistrasse 24, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arc-en-ciel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful chalet-hotel, personally run by the family Matti, has a peaceful location near cable-cars and ski-slopes. You will immediately feel at home in our comfortable rooms and apartments in the hotel and Residence. Cosy Pizzeria, restaurant "La Sarine" and Wintergarden with Swiss and Italian specialities. Newly renovated lounge with fireplace. Private Spa & Fitness and beauty treatments. For children we offer: bikes, playrooms and playground with electric cars and in summer a heated pool. Enjoy a relaxing holiday in the Swiss mountains. The hotel is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Arc-en-ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arc En Ciel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing