We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gstadd's family restaurant”
Review of Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Everyone of all ages enjoys this restaurant very often you see three generations enjoying lunch or dinner together .

The children have loads to do with an indoor playroom in the winter and outside in the garden in the summer ?

Around 40 sfr for a pizza makes it rather expensive though.

The pizza is excellent it must be said and there is a much wider menu choice .

The food is good but not great whereas the prices are !!

Many locals have been very irritated to the extent they have black listed the restaurant , since no matter what you pay they charge for tap water .

When your bill here is at least 100 sfr with wine this is an irritation in addition the have no free wi fi .

Open all year and for the stated reasons before still a popular restaurant but the locals are not as regular as they were .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminanora, Inhaber at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that you and your family appriciate our Restaurant with its facilities for children.
Our Pizzas range between CHF 17.- (Margherita) to CHF 27.50 (Oceana) and the most expensive Pizza Carpaccio CHF 31.-.
For the Gstaad Moutain water we charge CHF 5.-/lit. The drinking water is filtered through a special filter machine, cooled and can be ordered with and without gaz. Fact is, that in almost all Restaurants in Gstaad you pay for drinking water. Please don't forget that the price includes service charge, washing up etc.
We do offer free W-Lan in the Hotel and Restaurant since last December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am a first time visitor to the Alps. Was in Geneva on business and decided to chance some early season skiing (mid Dec). Chose Gstaad due to early season snow reports and presence of snowmaking. Found this hotel on TripAdvisor. It was just terrific for us - understanding that we are not millionaires are were there for some skiing, not glitz and Prada/Cartier shopping.

We ended up in an incredible room on the corner front with two balconies, over looking the rushing river and the ski lift. Brilliant sunshine, stunning room. We had a queen size bed that was really two beds pushed together, but they were ok. Loved the duvets. The restaurant was decent, nice breakfast, good pizza. One sunny afternoon we sat outside for lunch that was nice.

Would agree somewhat with prior reviewers about front desk staff, the seemed detached and one younger woman was either new or daft. She knew nothing.

We did crack the window at night just to hear the beautiful sound of the river. On Saturday night however we closed it (to little help tho) to try and close out the rabble rousers/parties outside. The room, just that one night, was not very restful.

They have a nice heated and locked ski room outside which was nice. The boot warmers/dryers were appreciated.

I do think they need a big hot tub or heated pool or something. After long days of skiing, not having the ability to soak was disappointing. Would I return? ABSOLUTELY. If you don't want to break the bank and like being right near a lift, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for main building near river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed in Gstaad for 4 nights during November and picked Arc en Ciel based on previous reviews. There was some renovation going on during our stay which did not detract from this lovely hotel. We had a nice room in the other bulding that makes up the hotel .. only a 30 second walk from the main building. The room was new and had some lovely features. If you are English you may like the fact that you can access most of the major UK TV channels. The short walk into town is not a big deal as it is an easy walk with no hills and along a major route, so well marked. We paid circa CHF250 per night (incl breakfast) which for Gstaad I thought very well priced. The draw here however is the staff who are exceptional. Special mention to Matteus (sorry if I spelt this wrong), and Christa who helped with planning our days and were always happy even with the smallest of requests. You are both a credit to the hotel ... which is why we will stay again at Arc en Ciel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlbulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I came to Gstaad from Geneva to meet up with my aunt and uncle who were staying in town. I chose the place based on value for money and I was not disappointed! I had a lovely room on the river's edge, and enjoyed being a bit "separate" from the village of Gstaad. My room was spacious, and I found the service very good.

Room Tip: I had a room with a large balcony (133) overlooking the river and the sound was lulling and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

As a 50th birthday treat we paid the £360 a night to stay here. Had dinner too.
While the room was beautifully appointed we were stuck in an annexe with a view of the car park and the nearby wine warehouse. Staff barely spoke to us, didn't even mention when and where breakfast would be served.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxmeister-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We absolutely loved this property - the service here was phenomenal as was the restaurant. The staff is extremely hospitable and thoughtful. The vegetarian choices at the restaurant were plenty and one could enjoy their meals here for a full week. We stayed here for a week and weren't saturated as one usually is after staying at a hotel. It was very comfortable yet homely.

Our suite was beautiful with a minimalistic design which we appreciated because of our week-long stay here. The tub in the middle of the bedroom was a nice touch. The location was beautiful (although bit distant) - we were overlooking snow capped mountains from both our terraces in the summer!

The two mild negatives were:
1) a bit distant from the town center - be prepared to walk for 10 - 15 minutes each way, however, this does provide a buffer from the large tourist crowds that do day trips to Gstaad and also provided for beautiful scenery little further out.

2) No air conditioning which made us feel quite hot at some times

All in all - we would stay here again if we were to visit Gstaad.

Room Tip: choose a junior suite with terrace/ balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetravellers7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have been staying at this family owned hotel for many years. The rooms are all very comfortable and extremely clean. Ask for a room on the river, the sound of the water flowing is very soothing. The restaurant is very nice with smiling efficient staff. The menu has a large selection of offerings but the pizzas are to die for. My personal favorite is "Atomic".

In the basement there is a huge playroom for children, they love it and it enables the parents to have a nice dinner or lunch whilst kids are having the time of their life. In the parking there is a little go cart track that the kids love.

The location is a five minute walk from the promenade. In the winter the two main ski lifts of gstaad are a literal 1 minute walk so no need to take the car, just have breakfast and hop on a lift. The ski school is a three minute walk.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamran f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
252 reviews
1.9 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arc-en-ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Address: Egglistrasse 24, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Spa Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range: £147 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arc-en-ciel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful chalet-hotel, personally run by the family Matti, has a peaceful location near cable-cars and ski-slopes. You will immediately feel at home in our comfortable rooms and apartments in the hotel and Residence. Cosy Pizzeria, restaurant "La Sarine" and Wintergarden with Swiss and Italian specialities. Cosy lounge with fireplace. Private Spa & Fitness. Massage and beauty treatments. For children we offer: bikes, playrooms and playground with electric cars and in summer a heated pool. Enjoy a relaxing holiday in the Swiss mountains. The hotel is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arc-en-ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arc En Ciel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing