We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place”
Review of The Alpina Gstaad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Alpina Gstaad
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just a great place”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

You can't help by saying "wow" when you arrive at the Alpina. The commons areas, the rooms, and especially the spa and fitness areas are just beautiful. The staff is great. The place is perfect. It was hard to stay at other hotels after we experienced the Alpina.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
162
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

You enter the Hotel and you think you are in a James Bond film not in Gstaad! The reception efficient and friendly. Our room the last room available is a deluxe room equipped for hadicapped people, this bathers me a little but I do not really why, maybe because of the toilet.The room furniture is of all different styles and the lighting system complicated. The bathroom door automatic, you cannot close it immediately you have to wait until it closes automatically.Nice sitting area with a view and a balcony.The public areas are spacious and well equipped. We had 3 glasses of wine in the bar, expensive. Maxi rolls from the japanese restaurant and a tatar of beef both good. The service was not professional enough for such a place. The uniforms of the staff not well designed. Nice pool and outside dining, again mix of all kind of furniture a pitty for such a place.We also had a tour of the six senses spa, which is amazing but the polish girl who showed us aroung did not no anything, she did not know the temperature of the sauna nor the temperature of the water in the pool of where the elevator to the room was a pitty for a place that was refurbished for 300 Million Dollars !

Room Tip: a high floor with a view and not near an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Amazing new hotel in Gstaad. By it's design, service and facilities it sets the new standard of hospitality in Swiss Alps. Personal highlights the fumoir and japanese restaurant. Spa is amazing. Already when you drive into the special covered arrival area you get caught by the great atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelieratwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Google Translation
Guten Tag hotelieratwork
Wir freuen uns, dass es ihnen so gut gefallen hat und bedanken uns für die Komplimente.
Bis bald im Hotel The Alpina Gstaad!
Das Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Hotel Alpina in June. I had stayed at The Palace before but it was not yet open for the summer season. How lucky because we loved the Alpina!! You drive in through an underground tunnel-very James Bond like! The entrance has a waterfall and circular driveway. The hotel is beautiful-old world feel but everything is new and done to perfection. The rooms are so well done-my teenage children had a beautiful Jr. Suite and we were in a one bedroom suite. The lights by the beds look like cowbells-fantastic! The mini bar was housed in an beautiful old alpine cabinet with sink. The bed was so comfortable and the living room huge with a flat screen t.v , nice couches and great books in the shelves. The bathroom was big with a makeup table. Even the closets are well thought out! The room also has a nice balcony with fabulous views of the Alps.

The spa is unbelievable-a beautiful pool and great treatment rooms. The outdoor pool is wonderful too.

We had a fantastic dinner in the main dining restaurant-wonderful service. They have a great cigar bar room. The breakfast buffet had everything and anything one could want! We ate outside and had a great morning! We highly recommend this hotel in Gstaad. It has great charm and great service!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonesfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Google Translation
Guten Tag Jonesfab
Vielen Dank für Ihren positiven Eintrag. Es freut uns zu hören, dass Sie die traditionellen Werte im The Alpina schätzen und zugleich das Neue und Moderne geniessen. Wir hoffen, dass das James-Bond Feeling bei ihrem nächsten Besuch zurückkehrt. Übrigens gefriert unser Wasserfall zur Winterzeit und verwandelt sich zu einem kleinen Gletscher.
Auf bald und mit besten Grüssen
Das Alpina Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

“We have been travelling as a family to Gstaad to ski for years so you can imagine my excitement when I discovered that a new hotel was to open - the first in a century! I had to try it out to see if it lived up to the resort’s reputation... it does. The look is Alpine, with salvaged wood and stone on the exterior and cosy, comfy fabrics in the timber-clad interiors. Loved the private balconies for relaxing post-ski and admiring the view - and really loved the huge Six Senses spa.
Rooms are really well-equipped, as is the hotel itself with a restaurant from two-Michelin-starred chef Marcus Linder and a European outpost of top notch Japanese, MEGU.”

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Consigliera
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you staying with us. We are pleased to read that you liked the interior design with the old wood and limestone. The architects, construction management as well as all carpentry were local companies. The Interior Design was done by Hirsch Bedner Associates, London.
Wishing you and your family a lovely Summer, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards, Management and staff, The Alpina Gstaad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Booked this as a last minute getaway and was impressed by the reviews it had received. And from arrival to departure I was very happy that I had chosen the Alpina. The location of the hotel was fantastic and the views from the terrasse bar or breakfast table were unreal.
Our first visit to the hotel bar was made even more relaxing by the friendly staff of whom Derya needs a special mention. Room was fitted out to a very high standard with a very Swiss Alpine style as you would imagine. Spa was perfect and the outdoor pool offers views you have to see to believe. My 16 month daughter was very happy also and made very welcome by all the staff. Food was excellent. Room service first class. So peaceful I felt asleep on the balcony listening to the cowbells. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: North facing rooms are cheaper but views are still lovely and peaceful! South Facing rooms have incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Neil A,
We thank you very much for having chosen The Alpina Gstaad for your recent stay and are delighted to learn that you and your family fully enjoyed your time with us. We will certainly not fail to pass on your compliments to our Chef de Bar Derya and to the rest of our team. It would be a great pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon – the cowbells can be enjoyed until late September!
With warm regards
The management team of The Alpina Gstaad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A complete home run; 10/10. Incredibly beautiful hotel, every single detail well thought out, staff terrific, food very good and location fabulous. Here are details:
Location: Gstaad is a beautiful, picturesque Swiss village and the Alpina is located a few minutes away by car up the hill from the village. The views of the hotel are spectacular, both of the mountains and of the village homes on the hills.
Rooms: super high end, beautifully appointed rooms with every amenity you would want; elegant and authentic wood-lined walls, perfect lighting and a fabulous bathroom with an incredible rain shower, Aqua di Parma products, heated floors, soaking tub and everything you'd expect from a top of the line hotel. In addition, rooms have a terrific balcony with comfortable sofa to help you soak-in the gorgeous, peaceful view.
Food: There is a stunning patio that faces the mountains; a truly beautiful setting for a relaxing drink. For dinner the Sommet offered high end "international" cuisine that treasurers local Swiss ingredients. Not particularly unique but the food perfectly prepared and service top notch. Breakfast, also served in the Sommet, offered a well appointed buffet station with a broad selection of cheeses, cured meats, breads, pastries, yogurts and cereals.
Service: Extremely good, particularly for such a new hotel. Very well trained staff that also presented as genuinely happy to have you at their hotel.
Spa: Over the top facilities, salt room, pools, and gorgeous gym particularly well equipped with everything somebody who really works out needs. Reception staff at the spa was a bit less well trained, however. Our only slightly less pleasant experience was at the spa when they asked us to put on these blue plastic booties over our shoes to go to the gym, which was confusing because we clearly weren't going to work out in plastic booties over our sneakers. It seems the staff somehow got confused and didn't think we were staying at the hotel (don't know why they had that impression), so when we said we were guests they said we could take them off. Strange policy that just makes people feel awkward and unwelcome.

Otherwise a super hotel that is a must for anybody who appreciates a super lux experience.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the village (vs. the mountains). The view was beautiful and room had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#17 of 21 in Gstaad
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpina Gstaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpina Gstaad

Property: The Alpina Gstaad
Address: Alpinastrasse 23, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alpina Gstaad 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Gstaad is a luxury hotel in Switzerland for the world’s most discerning travellers opening December 2012. More than a place to stay in the Alps, it is a new icon for Gstaad combining Swiss tradition and thoughtful luxury. The hotel’s design makes use of materials and craftsmanship typical to the region, including centuries-old fir wood crafted by master artisans. The result goes beyond Swiss stereotypes to create a fresh interpretation of Alpine chic. Facilities include 56 rooms and suites, Japanese cuisine from Megu, a Cuban cigar room and a Swiss ‘Stübli’ restaurant. Other year-round attractions include our Six Senses Spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and alpine activities in the Bernese Oberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Alpina Gstaad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing