We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of Jasmine Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grindelwald
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jasmine Apartments
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is a must. Having never been skiing before I didn't know what to expect but reading the trip advisor reviews I had to book. 3 of us stayed in the refurbished Matterhorn apartment and loved it. Smart clean rooms, great kitchen and superb living room area made this feel like a home from home...well until you looked out of the window and were confronted with the magnificence of the North Face of the Eiger. Monica and her husband Jose (Its promounced with a J as in Jo-say and not Ho-say) were simply a cut above the rest and could not have done more for us.

People mention the hill, yeah well it is a hill...funnily enough we are in a mountain region!!! We only had to walk up it once as Monica was on a Zurich airport run for one of the days so we were not inconvenienced. Jose even took us to Bodmi for night skiing (a must) without hesitation. The rooms are of a smart adequate standard and the shower v powerful (loved it).

Switzerland like mainland Europe can be expensive but please take heed of the following.

- Onkel Toms is worth the wait and every penny. Its fair priced and has the best hand baked pizza you can ever experience.
- Altitude ski school at the Berner Intersport (We had Ben and Christian) were fantastic and could not thank them enough. You also get 25% discount for staying at Jasmine
- The Mirror Bar offers some great deals, we especially enjoyed the Burger deal and fries for 10chf (saving of approx 9chf on the normal price on Sundays, you have to try the garlic fries) and the Burrito night on Tuesdays also 10chf...irresistable.
- The local brew lagers of Erdinger and Rugen Brau are also rather appealing.

Check out Skiing at First as well as Kleine Scheidegg and if you are about, go to the Lauberhorn for the downhill world cup race in early January...sensational

I loved every minute of Switzerland and Monica and Jose will make your stay the best that they possibly can. I especially liked being called Mr Ian all week, it was very endearing. A thousand thank you's and I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our stay at the Jasmine Apartments was excellent from the moment Monica, the property manager, met us at 9:30pm for check in! Her hospitality was a highlight of our trip. Each morning we were escorted to the lift of our choice. After a full day of skiing we returned to a clean apartment with a fully stocked kitchen. the heated floors in the kitchen and bathroom were a comfort to sore feet!
Our balcony had a lovely view of the Eiger, and we appreciated the covered parking during the continuous snow showers during our visit. The only things I wished for more were the specific bus route to the house specified in the visitor's book (it was only a short walk/ski down from the main bus station, but we were passed by the bus on our way to the apartment) and salt and pepper shakers in the kitchen.
We plan to return as soon as our schedules allow!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wabashmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I want to be brief so... this was my third June in a row to Grindelwald. I have stayed in 3 other hotels (over 2 years) - mostly the big ski resorts. Wanted to stay a week and saw reviews of this place. Stayed in the Pilatus studio apt Perfect for 1-2 people. View of the mountains was fantastic. Monica picked us up at the train station the first day. Room was a nice size with kitchen. The walk up into town is not far but for some people, I can see it being a slight problem. But, keep this in mind - my wife was 5 months pregnant at the time and could make the walk a few times per day so it is a non issue in my book and will stay there again. Monica was very nice to drive us back to the train station on our last day in town though she did not have to do so. We plan on returning in a few years when our baby is a little older. Probably rent a bigger unit upstairs and bring some grand parents. Grindelwald and this entire area is just a great place to stay a week - hike, bike, do gondola lifts, etc. Good food in town as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed at the Eiger Studio for 3 nights from 2 to 5 Sep. We were really impressed by how spacious n comfy the apartment was, and how well equipped the kitchen was for cooking.
We cooked practically the whole time we were there n saved quite a bit of money as eating out in Switzerland is really v expensive (ESP Grindelwald)!
There was a Coop supermart located nearby so we were able to buy groceries daily for making our meals.
Monica, the person in charge, was extremely sincere, warm, helpful n yet non-intrusive. Excellent service provided! She even offered to lend us some pepper for our meals. All the utensils n equipment u can think of were provided for. My apt had salt too, but not pepper. The owners definitely pay attention to feedback cos I remember reading earlier reviews abt the lack of salt provided n yet in my apartment there was salt. Kudos! Way to go for listening to yr customers' feedback. Am impressed!
This apt was really value for money, what with the size, the views (partially blocked though u have a huge terrace to hang out at), and the great service. They provide free DVD rentals too. Quite a large selection!
Just one thing to note though- the apt is located on a slope n is abt a 3min walk uphill to the main "street". It's quite a tough walk uphill as it is quite steep but we enjoyed the daily exercise. : )
Grindelwald is a great base for exploring the breathtaking scenery in the region. We hike from First to Bachalpsee to Waldspitz then Bort. The view was out of this world. The next day we hiked from Mannlichen to Kleine Scheidegg n then to Alpsligen. V beautiful too. The Grindelwald valley is just a perfect base for all the amazing hikes n scenery in the region. We almost wanted to stay in Lauterbrunnen. Am so glad we didn't cos Grindelwald is so much more scenic n convenient, though some may deem it v touristy.
If I were to return to Grindelwald, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdorableKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We booked at the last minute, and couldn't have been happier with the apartment (Shrekhorn). The views of the Eiger were constantly amazing, the apartment clean, well furnished and well equipped, with plenty of storage space in the kitchen, bedrooms and for suitcases etc. Monica and her husband could not have been more hospitable or more helpful, without ever seeming to intrude. I can't think of a single critical comment.

We definitely intend to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephengg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is an ideal place to stay: the views are beautiful, it is a lovely apartment and the situation is great. Grindelwald is great for walking, swimming, trottibiking and a lot more. The attractions are very easy to get to but not suitable for children under 5 and the elderly.
The owners are super friendly and welcoming and even drove us places!
100% recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed at the Chalet Bielholz for a week, and had a grand time. The Chalet is elegant, well-appointed and spacious, with a glorious master-bedroom and bath en suite. The kitchen is huge and has just about everything you'd need to cook for an army (though I don't believe it had a microwave). The terrace is massive - perfect for coffee in the morning, drinks at sunset or a two-a-side soccer match, if you're so inclined. In the living-room, a flat-screen Pioneer television worked perfectly, delivering lots of channels, including CNN and German cartoon shows for the kids.

The Chalet is at the opposite end of Grindelwald from the Jasmine Apartments, with which it is affiliated. (The inestimable Monica manages both facilities.) In general, the Chalet is in the area above and behind the Belvedere Hotel, whereas the Jasmine Apartments are downhill from the bus station in the center of town. If you stay at the Chalet, you'll want a car - there are two parking spaces for the apartment - or, failing that, you'll need to get a handle on the buses. (Walking up to the Chalet with a heavy bag of groceries would be a hike - but not the kind of hike I came to Grindelwald for.)

Besides the main bedroom, there are two others - quite nice, but inasmuch as they're at the back of the apartment, they don't get the natural light or view that the master bedroom does. Still, as I said: quite nice - as is the second bathroom.

The only drawback - which costs the Bielholz a star in my reckoning - is the lack of an Internet or Wifi connection. Monica let me use the one they have at the Jasmine Apartments, but schlepping back and forth to check one's email is not a lot of fun. That said, everything else worked a treat and, yes, my breakage deposit (462 Euros!) was promptly refunded at the end of my visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.9 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Apartments

Property: Jasmine Apartments
Address: Endweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 modern and spacious self-catered apartments ranging from studios to a 3 bedroom. Each apartment has either a terrace or large balcony all facing south towards the mountains. Set in the beautiful resort of Grindelwald, a hiking mecca in the summer set beneath the foot of the Eiger mountain and a vast skiing area in the winter. Our apartments are all fully equipped. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jasmine Apartments Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing