We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good main course and service, poor dessert and flies, flies, flies,” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi

Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Grindelwald
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good main course and service, poor dessert and flies, flies, flies,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have eaten her twice now, and main course was great, and is a nice little restaurant BUT there are flies everywhere. It makes eating your meal quite a challenge, questions hygiene as there are so many around, and I know we aren't the first to complain about this. Why have they not bought a fly zapper for the ceiling of the restaurant? It doesn't need to be a nuisance, and could make the restaurant tonnes better if they just sorted out this one issue. This is so easily rectified too! We also have to say the chocolate dessert was trully awful. It was incredibly dry, and had to return it and get it removed from our bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    72
    35
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good main course, awful dessert and flies, flies, flies!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have eaten her twice now, and main course was great, and is a nice little restaurant BUT there are flies everywhere. It makes eating your meal quite a challenge, questions hygiene as there are so many around, and I know we aren't the first to complain about this. Why have they not bought a fly zapper for the ceiling of the restaurant? It doesn't need to be a nuisance, and could make the restaurant tonnes better if they just sorted out this one issue. This is so easily rectified too! We also have to say the chocolate dessert was trully awful. It was incredibly dry, and had to return it and get it removed from our bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doodah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service, dirty restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stopped here for a meal on a first night in Grindelwald. It was the worst meal of our holiday and possibly of any holiday. The restaurant was very busy so we were seated inside - a big mistake. The room was very hot and uncomfortable. The floor was covered with food from previous diners and it was infested with flies - not just one or two but loads. The staff clearly didn't want to be there any more than we did, as our waiter was charmless, but it was late and we needed to eat so we stuck it out. At the end of the meal, our waiter came over with the credit card machine and shamelessly pointed out how we could leave a tip... I don't think so. Perhaps those lucky diners sat outside had a different experience but we didn't eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haddock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly Burbs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza and fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place was on our way up to our hotel and they were open so we decided to stop in. The staff is so very friendly and helpful. We don't love Swiss food, so we are always looking for the most American meal we can find when we travel. The pizza and fries certainly met our standards! A pizza can be split between two, and the fries are more than enough for two! The best part was being recognized on our third night....our waitress said, "The usual?" We all laughed and then enjoyed our pizza. The prices are reasonable as well. Our meal was usually around 35 CHF, but then again we don't have wine with our dinner. If you get a chance, please try this place. Always a jovial atmosphere with the owner cooking at the outdoor grill during dinner and then sitting with guests as the night continues. Highly recommend if you are looking for a break from Swiss food. (Though I was tempted to get the raclette...can't go wrong with cheese!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krisptoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff here are very efficient and friendly. Tables are cleared quickly, our order was taken quickly and no mistakes, also we had a couple of questions that were answered very honestly.

The food was good quality and very tasty, however I cannot rate the pizza I had as the greatest but it was good. The wine was fine, but only a small selection of wines by the glass - only one white wine and this was not dry. The red I had was not memorable. However they had a very good selection of deserts, which may be a reason to go back!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing