We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views from cablecar and great hikes”
Review of First

First
Book In Advance
More Info
US$202.41*
and up
Mt First Top Adventure from Zurich
More Info
US$100.67*
and up
Interlaken - Grindelwald in the Bernese Oberland (from Zurich)
More Info
US$100.67*
and up
Independent Bernese Oberland and Jungfrau Region Day Trip from Zurich
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great views from cablecar and great hikes”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

its a bit out of the way, but a wonderful set of cable car rides up to First, and great hiking. Its a nice walk to the Bachalpsee, which is a great place for a lunch break. We chose to hike down to Bort, bypassing the first leg of the cablecar back to Grindelwald. We took the trail through Waldspitz. A delightful restaurant there, with marvelous iced coffee. More like a coffee milkshake to us Americans!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    262
    37
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Fly!!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

the First flyer is a life changing experience!!!Must do!!!! The cycle way down too is great fun and lake is the most peaceful place in Switzerland!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuchitShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Grindelwald First is a great value.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

"FIRST" was probably our favourite mountain experience. Maybe the "most for your money" mountain. The 30 minute ride up in the cable car is amazing. The views are to die for. Really nice to have the small gondola car to yourself. The ride is relaxing and quiet.
At the top you can hike to your heart's content. The restaurant is great too. If you feel like something exciting try the FIRST FLYER. Very fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family of 5 hopped into a gondola car and off we went, up a steep, peaceful, 30 minute ride to First. Wow. The scenery is nothing short of spectacular. Minute, by minute, the town of Grindelwald below shrinks to miniature size. Once at First, we very much enjoyed the hike to Bachalspee lake, where we enjoyed a snack we had packed. Took the gondola back down, but this time got off at the midway station at Bort. This is where we picked up our trottibikes and scootered back down to Grindelwald. This was too fun for words. Absolutely one of the best days of my life. Not to be missed if you are in the region!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-Under-Edge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gondola”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Significant distance in this Gondola and gets you up to a level that give sthe opportunity for some great walking - of all grades.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 

Been to First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing