We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical old-school Swiss hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Celerina, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Typical old-school Swiss hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

If you're looking for something with a little more history, slight retro style and basic room amenities ( for a 5 star ) then this is your place! The service was lovely and quite nice to finally have friendly and eager waiting staff in the restaurants, as well as the bell boy who greets guests with a big smile. My favourite part was the free car wash I was surprised with (as well as the ultra retro bathroom in an amber type of colour). Room was spacious but if not knowing where I was staying I would have estimated 3 or 4 star hotel based on the room style which was quite spartan.
All in all I enjoyed my short stay and definitely recommend the delicious kitchen!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    40
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
27
57
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancsashire England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Wonderful hotel, great service, lovely room with amazing view. Best indoor swimming pool in any hotel ever. Great breakfast on the terrace. Two downsides no air conditioning or teasmade in the room. Would go back, love the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Razormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Tired fittings, drab decor, nowhere near 5* standard; nearer 3*. Everything normally included in 5* is extra including internet access. Ensuite bathrooms expecially depressing; faded brown decor and loose plumbing fittings.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our family spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Regina in July 2012.

Overall, we thought the hotel was nice, but the rooms-- and especially the bathrooms-- have a glitzy 1970s look: lots of faux gold-brushed faucets, mirrors, etc-- that is difficult to overlook.

That said, in general, the hotel is well situated with stunning views of the Bernese Alps. The rooms are spacious (we had three to accommodate our family), especially the corner rooms, and the beds are very comfortable.

The service was excellent, and we found that each of our multiple requests for extra pillows, chargers, towels was handled efficiently by friendly staff.

Meals were quite good.

We would stay at the Hotel again, despite the ktichsy bathroom fixtures. Value was mixed in light of high Swiss France.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel reeks of class in every action... For a quaint little village of Gindelwald to have such an amazing property.

To begin with the view from our room was so good I could have spend the week there!

To top it all, this place provide a child bathrobe and toiletries for my son - nope it wasnt the standard hotel pack dished out, but a special kids set.

Location, just next to train station meant that we got to Jungfraujoch much earlier without the pain of getting up early :)

All staff were extremely helpful & polite. Only element I think which could be better is wifi in rooms :) as part of the package.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Lovely hotel in the centre of Grindlewald with amazing views of the Eiger and Jungfrau. Breakfast was very nice - great selection of meats and cheese, eggs if you want.

Bar was very nice - excellent barman. The spa was really fantastic - massage treatments were quite reasonable for Switzerland and very good.

Rooms were nice if a bit tired - not really 5 star. Also extremely hot!

Room Tip: Ask for an Eiger view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VLS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had been on a tour to Europe last winter and trust me this was the best hotel of all we stayed in.. The Rooms are spacious.. Bathrooms are royal.. 10 on 10 for this hotel.

Very friendly Staff here.. location is also good.. had a walk as early as 6 am in the morning on all the days we stayed there.. very scenic..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vipulrjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#20 of 41 in Grindelwald
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald

Property: Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 80, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina welcomes you at a prime location with panoramic views of the famous EIGER-Northface and within Walking distance to the the village center and railway Station. Here you will expericence the unique and traditional charme of a Grand Hotel with his typical individual ambience and charm as it is found only in Belle Epoche Hotels.We welcome our international guests with heart and spoil you with charme and personel attention so you can enjoy your holiday in Grindelwald and simply relaxe. Our restaurant professionals await you with a neat and seasonal market-fresh cuisine with a focus on the Swiss food and wine world. Fresh summer cocktails and our wide selection of whiskeys and rums , you can enjoy during summer at its best on our panoramic terrace or on cooler days in our fireplace lounge . Our Alpine Spa with 1600m2 area invites you to relax and slow down . The sauna area, the large indoor pool and our diverse application program helps you take care of your personal wellbeing.In our spacious and timeless, classically furnished rooms , equipped with the classic comfort, you will enjoy peace and security as well as a unique mountain panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing