We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service slightly tired grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service slightly tired grand hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. I stayed here attending a conference. It is a little tired, but still clearly the best hotel in Grindelwald. This is underlined by its location near the main railway station that takes you to the main ski area (and everywhere else), just 10m (metres) away. It really is that convenient. The views are lovely. To cap it all the skiclub of Great Britain rep stays here and does drinks in the bar most evenings.

The snow by the way was amazing and the skiing fantastic.

I did not use the spa which is extensive, and smart. The gym is small but functional.

The food was lovely - I ate in every night, and it was beautiful cooking. Decent wine and great but expensive cocktails in the bar. Breakfasts were an extensive buffet and a la carte which was excessively pricey - why punish those who want "eggs Benedict" rather than bacon scrambled egg -irritating. The hotel has new owners, and I understand they have big plans to refurbish the hotel, so don't expect prices (which are not out of sight of other hotels) to hold. This will be a shame - if the place simply becomes full of overpaid pseuds it will not be improved - but for now it is nice and not snooty. The real stars of the place were the staff who were fantastic - the maitre'd in particular made you feel welcome - she was brilliant. The little touches were well executed. I was sad to go.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonBlahBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    40
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
27
57
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Regina is a great hotel for people looking for some type of '"old style" luxury, with very British decoration. Large room but space not really well used, nice view into the mountains. My preference goes for the spa which is really really a very good place to go after a ski day. Very nicely made of wood and remembering the mountains around. Also, the bar has a great atmosphere during the apero hour.
Wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here half board for a long weekend in March 2013. The Grand Regina hotel is ideally located opposite Grindelwald mountain train station. It is a lot easier to get a seat at this station rather than join the hoards boarding 3 minutes later at the main car park area station (can't recall that station's name). Fresh snow had fallen the night before so the village and the mountains looked very picturesque although the North Face of the Eiger always looks ominous! The staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for you and were really helpful. Our room was well appointed and spacious, the bathroom large with a separate shower and bath, a delight after a days skiing! The pool is a good size but in a different building (with internal access) and I had one of best massages, bliss! The only disappointment was the standard of food. Breakfast was good but halfboard dinner was not what I would expect from a hotel with a 5star rating.The food was not bad but not gourmet. The wine list was ridiculously expensive in comparison - anyone happy to pay CHF 3000 on wine would not be impressed with the food! Don't be put off, overall we enjoyed our stay and will return next winter.

Room Tip: We opted for the mountain view balcony and the perfect weather and visibility made this a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwosimodo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I spent a weekend at the Regina Grindelwald in January 2012. At the first glimpse, I was amazed because I've never stayed in a five-star accomodation. Dimmed lights, professional receptionists, even a pianist - everything looked perfect.

The room we had was located on the 2nd floor and the balcony gave us the view of the ice sculptures competition right in front of the house and of the famous Eiger mountain. I'm Swiss, but I've never had such a view of a mountain - really. Our big bed was comfortable and there were housemade cookies welcoming us. I knew by now this hotel was a little 'old-school', as I dare to say. It needs some modernising. But the amenities worked. The bathroom was prevalently held in green colour, which was a bit weird for me but okay - it was big and the floor was warm; walking barefoot in a hotel room became nice now.

Breakfast was great and the breakfast/dining room was royal...

Being a frequent visitor of a ski resort where you have the possibility to hit the slopes from the very beginnings of the mountain, I was a bit disappointed having to take the skilift for such a long time to finally put my feet into my snowboard bindings.
I did not like having a connecting door between my room and the room of my parents because we didn't wish for that. We told the management and they immediately offered us an upgrade for the following year, which I rated as a great reaction :)

The wellness area was a bit difficult to find at first, but the different amenities compensated the 'long' walk. I may affirm I've spent more time in the wellness area than on the slopes!

All in all, I highly recommend staying at the Grand Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fl0wzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years and have witnessed its steady but inexorable decline. Last year the hotel ownership changed hands and our experiences during our stay were not at all satisfactory but we were assured that the hotel was in a state of transition and all aspects would improve. On the basis of this we returned this year but sadly the promises made did not materialise - both my wife and I considered it to be worse and frankly could not understand the direction in which the hotel was proceeding or what was trying to be achieved.
Travel brochures in the UK will inform you that this hotel is 5 star and it provides a 4 course evening meal, these statements are both factually incorrect. There is no salad bar and a tiny amuse bouche cannot be included as a course. We were informed that a new chef had been employed but we found the food dull, unimaginative and poorly presented. The chef had a liking for rock salt which he liberally spread over everything.
The only hot food provided at breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon to be served on extremely large cold plates (warm plates requested last year). The scrambled eggs were clearly bulked out with powdered egg and were inedible. All other hot food was available at an extra cost ( £6 for 2 fried eggs) this in a 5 Star hotel where even a boiled egg is extra.
The rooms are extremely tired and clearly have received no attention since the 80's - our bathroom although large was matt pink.
The hotel bar is dark, dreary and unwelcoming and its worth checking the charges as these vary from day to day depending on who is serving.
Complimentary afternoon tea and cake is served at around 15.30 but the staff cannot decide if the customer should receive a cup of tea, a pot or indeed a piece of cake. This experience is also spoilt by a member of staff who insists on wearing steel heeled shoes and clomps up and down the wooden floor with a total disregard to the customers for the entire duration.
The final piece of customer service was enacted when at 06.00 I needed to check our luggage in at the station and I requested the assistance of the night porter. This portly 'gentleman' found it impossible to remove his backside from his chair even to hold open the door and he was perfectly content to watch me struggled with 4 pieces of luggage. However, when he thought we were leaving retaining our hotel key he was up like a shot, pacing up and down outside the station building and demanding the return of the key ( we were not leaving until the 09.19 train).
If this is progress at the Regina......
There is one plus the reception and restaurant staff are most considerate and efficient. We did not use any of the 'wellness' facilities.
Please do not read this review and conclude that the author is just an old moaner. The week prior to our stay we spent a week at the Hotel Steffani in St Moritz and it was quite superb. Infinitely better than the Regina and 'only 4 star'.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EDRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at that hotel for a weekend during the famous Lauberhorn ski races. The location of the hotel is perfect when you arrive by train which is what we've done. Right across the street from the station. The room we had was big and quiet. But although it was a renovated room, it looked old and out of fashion. The sofas were torn and the rest of the furniture looks like a 3* Swiss hotel of the 80'. The flowered curtains couldn't close completely, there was a gap on each window. The carpets are threadbare and stained. The bathroom was nice and clean. The pool and SPA area is quite old as well. And the people at the reception or at breakfast are not very warm and welcoming. And all this for more than CHF 700.– per night!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SM_Lsne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

The Grand Regina is a nice hotel overall, but it has some weak links as well. The lobby is nice and there is afternoon tea, which is very pleasant. The rooms are okay, but dated looking. They are clean though. The pool area is very nice. It is a great pool. We did have some issues with the service, but nothing major. Overall, the wonderful town of Grindelwald makes up for the hotel's disappointments.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
939 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald

Property: Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 80, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina welcomes you at a prime location with panoramic views of the famous EIGER-Northface and within Walking distance to the the village center and railway Station. Here you will expericence the unique and traditional charme of a Grand Hotel with his typical individual ambience and charm as it is found only in Belle Epoche Hotels.We welcome our international guests with heart and spoil you with charme and personel attention so you can enjoy your holiday in Grindelwald and simply relaxe. Our restaurant professionals await you with a neat and seasonal market-fresh cuisine with a focus on the Swiss food and wine world. Fresh summer cocktails and our wide selection of whiskeys and rums , you can enjoy during summer at its best on our panoramic terrace or on cooler days in our fireplace lounge . Our Alpine Spa with 1600m2 area invites you to relax and slow down . The sauna area, the large indoor pool and our diverse application program helps you take care of your personal wellbeing.In our spacious and timeless, classically furnished rooms , equipped with the classic comfort, you will enjoy peace and security as well as a unique mountain panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing