We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Zurich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

I read some of the reviews here, and to be honest, I can't understand what people are complaining about. The hotel is very good, has a perfect location, offers a wonderful Spa and the personnel is very attentive. Some complained about the elevator going to the Spa - true, it's small, but I don't think the size of an elevator puts in question the whole hotel. The only little detail I dind't like was that in the wardrobe of the Spa you have to leave a deposit of 2 francs if you want to put your clothes in the closet - I didn't have any coins with me, so I would have appreciated if they had told me in advance that I should bring a coin with me. The rest was fantastic. By the way, all the personnel that I met spoke German - not Swiss German, though, but they understood my Swiss German pretty well, so I don't understand the complaint about the supposedly lacking language skills, either. If you want to have a good time, stay at this hotel. And if you want to enjoy a spectacular view, stay at this hotel and make sure you have a room heading south.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Suiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    40
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
28
58
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with hubby and friends for ski break in February and have to agree with everything said by kathyandmartin in the previous review - absolutely fabulous hotel - felt I had to add a review to counteract the previous bad one, which I cannot understand or relate to in any way & should not influence anyone thinking of staying in this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Quite simply this is the best hotel experience we have ever had in 95 weeks of skiing in europe and north america. Perfect location for lifts.
All the staff in reception, the bar, the restaurant were exceptionally courteous, helpful, polite, friendly and anxious to please. Nothing was too much trouble, and always service with a smile. We really feel after three visits to this perfect hotel that the staff are part of our extended family
The room upgrade to south facing Eiger view was excellent, roomy (approx 25 foot long) with large balcony offering breathtaking views of the best mountain scenery in the Alps (if not the world).
Six course dinner has a choice of two main courses for half board, with an a la carte option (extra payable) if required. There is a choice of two restaurants, with the Pendule d'Or our favourite with nightly piano music to accompany our meal.
The large bar area has a large dance floor for those guests wishing to Waltz , Rumba or Cha Cha Cha etc with their partner before and after dinner. Very romantic.
The wellness centre is far and away the best in Grindelwald, with six unique and individual saunas and steam rooms, a misting 'walk' and salt bath. The relaxation area has stunning views of the Jungfrau, Monch and Eiger. Half an hour spent relaxing with iced lemon tea and this view is almost a mystic experience.
There is also a well staffed spa, an excellent swimming pool (again surrounded by excellent mountain views), and a useful gym with aerobic running & cycling machines etc
As an example of the outstanding service, I suffered a minor injuryto my knee skiing, and without prompting, the Reception staff reserved me a seat with extra leg room on the plane home!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at the grand Regina for our Christmas break looking forward to 5star luxury to say we were disappointed is an under statement. Food was deplorable less than cafeteria standard the hotel is drab. The service is very poor lack of communication between staff get asked the same question by two or three of them whilst trying to eat the distasteful food put in front of us.
Hotel owners strut around using the hotel as their own personal hotel and the staff are running around trying to please them ignoring paying guests. Complaints unanswered and the manager fails to avail himself when requested for a meeting regarding genuine complaints
I would advise you avoid this hotel at all costs we were not alone in our thoughts there were many other guests complaining one even faxing a 7 page complaint which I dare say will not be answered or dealt with

Casson family

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed at the Regina with a large group of extended family and our two young boys this summer. The hotel is lovely, and the staff went out of their way to accomodate us - every day they would suggest activities that our children might enjoy (that we wouldn't have known about otherwise) The hotel has a very unique spa area that is truly amazing, with multiple sauna's, steam rooms and pools. The outdoor garden has perhaps one of the prettiest views of the Alps I've ever seen. There are two pools, one indoors and one outdoors. The outdoor pool is very warm and the experience of swimming in that warm pool in the cool mountain air while looking up at the magnificence of the Eiger was unforgetable. We looked at the other "nicer" hotels in town and none can compare to the Regina in either price, value, decor, or luxury. It was a wonderful stay at a beautiful hotel and we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynwh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

you will get down from the train and you will find the hotel right in front of your eyes ... First you will see the hotel and then suddenly you will notice the big snowy mountains behind the hotel .. and you will immediately fall in love with that ..
Hotel staff is so courteous, friendly, helpful that you will not find anywhere ..
Rooms are amazingly spacious, you will find royal silver cutleries on your table ...
Bathroom has all golden fittings ..
everything looks so good that you cant imagine ...
Hotel has its own spa, swimming pool, and other amenities ...

One would definitely think of going there again in future ..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankur2083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Hotel location excellent and views out of the back of the hotel very nice. Room was reasonable size, bed comfortable, and bathroom modern. However...the staff was not attentive; dinner service was very slow; the towels were very thin and small; the bathrobes were well worn; the rugs were thread bare; the overall hotel seemed "tired and past its prime"; had to pay extra for Internet use and front desk staff did not have much knowledge of how to use it. Overall, very disappointing for price paid. Would not consider this a 5 star hotel in comparison to other 5 star properties where we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#10 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald

Property: Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 80, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina welcomes you at a prime location with panoramic views of the famous EIGER-Northface and within Walking distance to the the village center and railway Station. Here you will expericence the unique and traditional charme of a Grand Hotel with his typical individual ambience and charm as it is found only in Belle Epoche Hotels.We welcome our international guests with heart and spoil you with charme and personel attention so you can enjoy your holiday in Grindelwald and simply relaxe. Our restaurant professionals await you with a neat and seasonal market-fresh cuisine with a focus on the Swiss food and wine world. Fresh summer cocktails and our wide selection of whiskeys and rums , you can enjoy during summer at its best on our panoramic terrace or on cooler days in our fireplace lounge . Our Alpine Spa with 1600m2 area invites you to relax and slow down . The sauna area, the large indoor pool and our diverse application program helps you take care of your personal wellbeing.In our spacious and timeless, classically furnished rooms , equipped with the classic comfort, you will enjoy peace and security as well as a unique mountain panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing