We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and the location is perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Lodge
Fort Bragg
1 review
“Friendly staff and the location is perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The staff was very friendly. It has everything that you need for a short stay. There is a restaurant, bar, and a room to watch movies. The rooms are clean. The hostel is located within walking distance of train, hiking, restaurants, city center. The view is incredible and you find a cheaper place that is this nice in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was all females. There were 2 sets of bunkbeds and 2 single beds. If you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    28
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Switzerland is notoriously expensive, so for your money, you can't beat this place. The reception staff were lovely and the accommodations were basic but very neat and tidy. It will take you back to your school camp days. Breakfast is included in the price (standard continental) and there is free wifi throughout (you get the best reception in the main dining lodge). They offer a standard snack menu - pizzas, burgers, soups etc which seems pricey at first, but then you realise how expensive the rest of Grindelwald is! Great hiking spots branch off not far from the lodge and there is a gym/pool about 5 minutes walk away (near the station).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

It was so easy to find! We got off the train and walked straight (around a few bends) and voila! It was very nice. The reception was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good - cereal, bread, yoghurt, etc. We went in the summer so it wasn't very busy which was great. The kitchen was nice and everything was easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse romande
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went to ski two days with friends. We chose this hotel because it was not expensive. We regretted not having paid a higher price.

- No service.
- Dirty.
- Very noisy.
- Poorly heated.
- Unpleasant staff.
- Evacuation of showers blocked.

Cheap, but far too expensive for what it is. Avoid it!
Bad image for the Swiss hotel business.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wador039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grindelwald hotels

Christchurch
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Downtown Lodge is a rather functional building in a charming but expensive town. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is great, wi-fi is free, bar and food available, and the beds are clean and comfortable. It could do with a few more showers and toilets for peak times, but there was plenty of hot water. Great location only 10 mins walk from the railway station, even less to the Co-op supermarket. When you check in they will give you a free pass on the local buses and a concession card for the swimming pool, ice rink and other activities at the sports centre. Great for skiing - local ski reports available on screens in the dining room or on the lodge computers. Lots of considerate young people and just a few making noise late at night - but you get that anywhere. No laundry for guests. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Amazing location, rooms and bathrooms were clean if fairly standard for a hostel. The main building's shared kitchen was adequate to cook meals in, though very busy even though the Hostel wasn't full. The location was unbelievable, which makes this a great place considering how pricey other places in the area are. We stayed 4 days and took hikes each day, all of which were stunning. We had no issue starting hikes right from town, though you could take the bus a few stops any direction for free or pay for a further ride or to take the ski lifts. If you're interested in beautiful hikes, and aren't going to spend much time other than eating dinner and sleeping at the hostel, this is the perfect place. Buy a trail map, bring your day pack with lunch and water, and enjoy Swiss hiking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was my 83yr old mother's first backpacker accommodation experience and she survived! We had a private 4 bed dorm and were lucky enough to have few others in our lodge building with whom we had to share the communal bathroom facilities - this was of great concern to mother. Shower facilities were bit of an impractical arrangement but functioned well enough once you figure out how to keep towels and clothes dry. Dorm was basic and beds comfy enough - space was tight for luggage. Breakfast and bar area was fantastic - bit of a slippery trudge through ice and snow from dorm to main lodge but luckily not too far. Staff were fantastic - very helpful and efficient.
Location was great - quick and easy access (even despite ice and snow small hill climb). Highly recommend Rendevous Restuarant - excellent food and great, efficient service.
Sports Centre is worth a visit for heated pool (although needed to be warmer for our Darwin Aussie blood), Seil activities, ice skating and more.
Jungfrau - Top of Europe train ride was most definitely worth the expense - amazing views! And a stop for coffee or beer at Klein Sheidegg on way down was great to watch the snow frolicking action.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Lodge

Property: Downtown Lodge
Address: Dorfstrasse 152, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful natural setting, Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau to Grindelwald, the glacier village presented. Our lodge is located in the center of Grindelwald and is the ideal starting point for all activities. In a total of five lodges with nearly 300 beds, we offer large groups and individual tourists a comprehensive infrastructure with an interesting price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing