We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay near Jungfrau area”
Review of Downtown Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downtown Lodge
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hostel located at Grindelwald which is a town on the way to Jungfraujoch (top of europe).From Interlaken there is a train to Grindelwald and then have to change to one more train at Grindelwald to Jungfraujoch. Hostel is considerably good location. about 10 minutes walk from the train station.Good scenery, surrounded by mountain. Price is good..get a good package with train to Jungfraujoch..Switzerland is very expensive place so this hostel is considerably good worth for money. Clean toilet, shower and room.Have to share.Kitchen at the main building which is not so convenient but still ok..get a free local bus service with your stay here. and also free service to gym and sport center at Grindelwald

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Downtown Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

The staff was very friendly. It has everything that you need for a short stay. There is a restaurant, bar, and a room to watch movies. The rooms are clean. The hostel is located within walking distance of train, hiking, restaurants, city center. The view is incredible and you find a cheaper place that is this nice in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was all females. There were 2 sets of bunkbeds and 2 single beds. If you are st...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Switzerland is notoriously expensive, so for your money, you can't beat this place. The reception staff were lovely and the accommodations were basic but very neat and tidy. It will take you back to your school camp days. Breakfast is included in the price (standard continental) and there is free wifi throughout (you get the best reception in the main dining lodge). They offer a standard snack menu - pizzas, burgers, soups etc which seems pricey at first, but then you realise how expensive the rest of Grindelwald is! Great hiking spots branch off not far from the lodge and there is a gym/pool about 5 minutes walk away (near the station).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

It was so easy to find! We got off the train and walked straight (around a few bends) and voila! It was very nice. The reception was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good - cereal, bread, yoghurt, etc. We went in the summer so it wasn't very busy which was great. The kitchen was nice and everything was easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went to ski two days with friends. We chose this hotel because it was not expensive. We regretted not having paid a higher price.

- No service.
- Dirty.
- Very noisy.
- Poorly heated.
- Unpleasant staff.
- Evacuation of showers blocked.

Cheap, but far too expensive for what it is. Avoid it!
Bad image for the Swiss hotel business.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wador039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Downtown Lodge is a rather functional building in a charming but expensive town. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is great, wi-fi is free, bar and food available, and the beds are clean and comfortable. It could do with a few more showers and toilets for peak times, but there was plenty of hot water. Great location only 10 mins walk from the railway station, even less to the Co-op supermarket. When you check in they will give you a free pass on the local buses and a concession card for the swimming pool, ice rink and other activities at the sports centre. Great for skiing - local ski reports available on screens in the dining room or on the lodge computers. Lots of considerate young people and just a few making noise late at night - but you get that anywhere. No laundry for guests. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Amazing location, rooms and bathrooms were clean if fairly standard for a hostel. The main building's shared kitchen was adequate to cook meals in, though very busy even though the Hostel wasn't full. The location was unbelievable, which makes this a great place considering how pricey other places in the area are. We stayed 4 days and took hikes each day, all of which were stunning. We had no issue starting hikes right from town, though you could take the bus a few stops any direction for free or pay for a further ride or to take the ski lifts. If you're interested in beautiful hikes, and aren't going to spend much time other than eating dinner and sleeping at the hostel, this is the perfect place. Buy a trail map, bring your day pack with lunch and water, and enjoy Swiss hiking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Lodge

Address: Dorfstrasse 152, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range: £58 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful natural setting, Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau to Grindelwald, the glacier village presented. Our lodge is located in the center of Grindelwald and is the ideal starting point for all activities. In a total of five lodges with nearly 300 beds, we offer large groups and individual tourists a comprehensive infrastructure with an interesting price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Downtown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing