We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Downtown Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$683
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$509
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$493
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$462
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caprice(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
7
28
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
28
9
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The setup was very typical hostel. The place is probably a good 10 minute walk from the train station. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and you are given sheets. You don't need to bring your own lock as they give you electronic keys. The bathrooms are the shared by guys and girls and then break away into same sex showers. Make sure you bring your own towel because you are not given one! You are given breakfast in the morning which is a standard European breakfast; granola cereal, bread, and jams. The staff is also very friendly and were extremely helpful when working with me to decide which hike to do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hostel's location is excellent, right in the centre of Grindelwald, barely 5 minutes from the train station - it's located just off the main street and has car parking. The accommodation is basic but clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price (a continental buffet) and we also received a pass for free travel on local buses. The hostel has free wi-fi and some computers available for use. There is a bar (which serves reasonably priced food in the evenings), kitchen where you can prepare your own food, pool table and TV room. I was travelling in a group of 3 and we were able to book a 4 bed room and pay to secure the 4th bed for a reasonable fee. The room was absolutely huge, the decor was very colourful with random mismatched furniture. The only down side was that the bathroom and shower was quite far from the room, through the bar, right next to main reception. At night, as with most hotels and hostels, noise carried through the corridors so one inconsiderate person could disturb everyone's sleep, but generally it was quieter than some of the more expensive hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsuuyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hostel located at Grindelwald which is a town on the way to Jungfraujoch (top of europe).From Interlaken there is a train to Grindelwald and then have to change to one more train at Grindelwald to Jungfraujoch. Hostel is considerably good location. about 10 minutes walk from the train station.Good scenery, surrounded by mountain. Price is good..get a good package with train to Jungfraujoch..Switzerland is very expensive place so this hostel is considerably good worth for money. Clean toilet, shower and room.Have to share.Kitchen at the main building which is not so convenient but still ok..get a free local bus service with your stay here. and also free service to gym and sport center at Grindelwald

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The staff was very friendly. It has everything that you need for a short stay. There is a restaurant, bar, and a room to watch movies. The rooms are clean. The hostel is located within walking distance of train, hiking, restaurants, city center. The view is incredible and you find a cheaper place that is this nice in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was all females. There were 2 sets of bunkbeds and 2 single beds. If you are stuck on the top bunk which I was make sure you have a step stool to get up there. There are lockers in the room for a 2 Swiss Frank deposit.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Switzerland is notoriously expensive, so for your money, you can't beat this place. The reception staff were lovely and the accommodations were basic but very neat and tidy. It will take you back to your school camp days. Breakfast is included in the price (standard continental) and there is free wifi throughout (you get the best reception in the main dining lodge). They offer a standard snack menu - pizzas, burgers, soups etc which seems pricey at first, but then you realise how expensive the rest of Grindelwald is! Great hiking spots branch off not far from the lodge and there is a gym/pool about 5 minutes walk away (near the station).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews