We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sparking Christmas Ski holiday at the Spinne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sparking Christmas Ski holiday at the Spinne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We love our ski holidays & for us skiing on Christmas day is a gift! Finding a hotel that offers that special Christmas feeling isn`t always easy to find. Once we`d chosen Grindelwald in Switzerland we`d short listed the hotels down to two, this one & Sunstar. We choose Spinne because it was smaller than the Sunstar & we thought the Spinne looked comfortable, welcoming & that we wouldn`t get lost in the hoards of seasonal gests. We were very glad we choose the Spinne, it was all we’d hoped it would be & more. There was extra special attention to details on Christmas Eve & Christmas Day with & the hotels cleanliness, food, staff & general ambiance being 10 out 10. Would we recommend the hotel & go back, definitely. I would say that the Jungfrau mountain region is a good all year round place to visit, summer & winter with even the non skiers having plenty to do & see. If you get the chance, say here.

Room Tip: Not a worthy of a complaint but some noise heard from rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    86
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
67
123
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in Grindelwald. I disagree with the last comment about the standard of food at dinner time, which we thought was excellent. Whilst service can be a little slow at busy times, the staff are very warm and friendly. Our 6 year old son was extremely well looked after at meal times by the lovely Sabrina! We stayed in the Eiger Suite with friends. It has a stunning view of the mountains and is comfortable, clean and well equipped. Decor is quite traditional - not my favourite style but very cosy!

Room Tip: Room 602 - Eiger Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBChiddingfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
307 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel has rooms with a very nice mountain view. We were there during Christmas and we saw the ski slopes from our balcony. Also the hotel is located on the main road in Grindelwald. This is perfect: easy access both by car and by train. And since we had a room with mountain view (on the other side of the building), the room was still very quiet, no noice from the main street.
We booked half board, which was not a very good idea. Breakfast is good, but dinner is very simple with always a new (fat) sauce in the dinner main course. Also the service during dinner is getting slow when the restaurant is busy.
Score 3 in stead of 4 of restaurant (scores 1 stars). Hotel scores 4 stars.

Room Tip: Book a room with mountain view. Do not choose the half board option, but have dinner somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Our family checked into the Hotel Spinne in Grindelwald, Switzerland on September 23rd 2012 for a two-night stay,
The Hotel concierge was so very pleasant and helpful. We were a bit rushed to catch the train -the Jungfraujoch to the Top of Europe as the weather in September was good but unpredictable. Hotel Spinne had our tickets ready within 20 minutes of our arrival, even before we were completely settled in our room. The room - really comfortable and clean, no sign of wear and tear. Ours had a wonderful balcony view of both Grindelwald and the Eiger. The continental breakfast had everthing a traveller could ask for, especially American style coffee! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to spend time in Grindelwald in a family-friendly atmosphere. The staff definately went out of their way to make our stay fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Loved the property. Super value for such a quality property. Medium size property with intimate feel. Most are balcony rooms offering great views of Eiger. Friendly staff, free Internet, clean, just a short walk to train station. Great restaurant - try the pizza. Complimentary breakfast quite adequate with variety of choices. Stayed here with 3 couples and each of us quite happy about our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishDunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was our first visit to the Jongfrau area and I was concerned we would find a hotel within our budget and near the sites to see. The Hotel Spinne exceeded our expectations. They upgraded our room to a balcony with a view of the mountains. It was spectacular. Room was modern and clean with comfortable beds. Hotel spa was very nice and the staff very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Oh free abundant parking is a plus

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel, which we found to be very comfortable indeed. Very nice room with brilliant views (although it did smell a bit of mothballs), free wifi, and good breakfast. The spa was very clean and was a lovely way to wind down after a days exercise but we prudish Brits chose to ignore the signs about the 'no swimwear' policy and waited until there was no-one else there to head down.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maisie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Property: Hotel Spinne
Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing