We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Spinne
Nearby Hotels
Residence Hotel & Apartments(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$688
US$511
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$496
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Air Eden(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gasthof Panorama(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
153
106
27
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
106
27
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationeiger suitehalf boardguest houseski boot roomlovely terracewellness centreski lodgesteam roomsauna areafour coursesfantastic locationmain courseupon checkmain buildingspa facilitiesnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've stayed in Grindelwald five or six times previously but not in the 'downtown' area. The location is wonderful - central to everything and the view from the rooms (ours for certain and it looked like all have similar views) is nothing short of incredible.
Service is top notch, rooms very clean and truly Swiss in character. We had slippers, bath robes, a fruit plate and welcome card on our arrival - a very personal touch.
Swiss breakfasts are always a wonderful event where you can eat all you wish and not be hungry for many hours and they certainly take care of that here.
The receptionists (and all the other staff too) are very helpful and take the time to listen and answer any questions.
I'd certainly stay here again and would highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed 4 days/3 nights for anniversary (post-prime ski season). We were upgraded to room with mountain view and balcony (which was fantastic because it snowed 13" the third day) and a welcome basket. Not a luxury hotel and a little dated, but still pleasant w/ friendly staff. Room was large w/ comfortable bed and large spa bath. Picked this place as base for skiing in Grindelwald, but ended up skiing in Lauterbrunnen. Excellent european-style breakfast -- consisting each morning of fresh breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, and cereal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel as part of my honeymoon trip. I'm so delighted that I was offered an upgrade of the room with mountain view and balcony.

When my wife and I entered the room, we loved it very much. The setting, the balcony, the view of Eiger, the personal greeting card and also a plate of fruits as welcome refreshment....we appreciated it much and had a very warm feeling.

As our room located in the guest house (the block in front of the main building of the hotel at a lower place), the balcony faces Mt. Eiger. Since there is the hotel main building as the 'shield' which block the noise from the street, we could even hear clearly the sound of waterfall from the mountain in front of us.

The staff (front desk or restaurant) of the hotel is very nice and helpful. Though the breakfast did not have many choices, it's already enough for me.

There are spa and sauna facility but it's bad that we did not had time to enjoy it. However, with the balcony and nice view, we did enjoy the time for resting there for the sunset in the evening.

There is also free wi-fi provided in the room and throughout the hotel. And there is kettle provided in the room and it's very useful as we could prepare hot water before going to various mountains nearby.

Room Tip: Room with mountain view and balcony, but unavoidably, the room rate is higher
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Situated with marvellous views of the Eiger this is an excellent place to stay.The food is very good and there iis a panorama terrace so you can eat outside looking right at the mountains in good weather. We had half board and the evening meal was four courses including soup and waiter served. Desserts and pasta were particularly good but every dish was well cooked. There was a choice of main course. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had a lovely balcony with unforgettable mountain views. Rooms are very clean and quite spacious although bathroom more compact. One tip is to bring a spreader plug as well as plug adaptor as there was only one socket for phone chargers etc. Make sure to bring a thin euro plug adaptor, the thicker ones will not fit. One negative is the spa, Although it is a nice facility with 2 saunas, steam room, jacuzzi and rest rooms it is strictly naked, no swimsuits are allowed. Perhaps as a result it seemed little used. Although this is a custom locally of course it is a pity there is not a period in the day when clothing is allowed for those who prefer this. The hotel is well situated in what seems the most interesting area of the town in summer but only five minutes walk from the train station which you are likely to be using most days for trips out.

Room Tip: Mountain view with balcony is worth paying for, just stunning.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We used this hotel as our base to tour the area, staying for six nights. A delightful hotel: well appointed and freedom to come and go without going through reception. Rooms are warm, comfortable, well kitted out, clean and relaxing. Our balcony was our favourite spot, even in snowy weather! Breakfast was awesome.We had opted for a set dinner menu: scrumptious with other options available if a course not to our taste. On arrival at the station, we were picked up by Herr Kauffman and our bags taken to our room. Reception gave us a free bus pass and a voucher for a free drink as well as lots of information about the area. Arriving at our room we were surprised and appreciated the personal card from the family welcoming us, hoping we had a good stay and a plate of fruit. The spa catered for every temperature preference: the projected film was a great relaxer and very informative. The staff are efficient, happy in their work and nothing was too much trouble: we looked forward to our eveing chats. On our last night, Frau Kauffman came to chat about our holiday and stay in the hotel: another appreciated action. We have stayed in many types of accommodation and are particular and forthright when something fails to suit. This hotel exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the Oberland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews