We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! We didn't want to leave!”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our third visit to Grindelwald. We have previously stated at The Sunstar. This hotel is smaller and it was excellent! Upon arrival, a welcome drink and the little touches were very much appreciated after a long journey. Such as, the fruit basket in our room - we really appreciated this, thankyou. We were upgraded to a lovely bedroom (202) with a fabulous view of the Eiger. Thank you to reception. The decor and layout was very comfortable. We could have just sat and admired the picture postcard view all day and not skied! All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Of notable mention were Freddy and Philipp (in the restaurant) who were exceptional. We were impressed with the quality and imaginative evening meals (one of us was vegetarian) which we thoroughly enjoyed. The chefs are clearly very talented. We could go on... Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in every respect and we will definitely stay in this hotel again. Great hotel and location! Thank you to all of the staff (including housekeeping) who looked after us!

Room Tip: A view of the Eiger is definitely worthwhile! Rooms facing this way are also quieter as they are at...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spinne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas week on a ski holiday. The hotel was excellent. The views from our balcony to the mountains was amazing. Our room was well appointed and very cleam and we were next door to our friends. Food was excellent. Nice touches include gluwein at on returning from the slopes; friendly staff; ski boot room you could access from the street; and a great spa. The ski bus stops almost outside the door. A great hotel and we'll return if we go back to this bit of the alps. We all loved it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here January 2013 for a ski holiday. Great hotel with very comfortable room. Although we had 1st floor road facing room with no balcony we were not disappointed. Had side side window which gave us beautiful view of the eiger and a place to keep your drinks cold as the fridge didn't seam very cold.

Food great quality although some strange options and would have liked salad buffet very nite. Spa great very relaxing following a day on the slopes. Although it does state no clothes in spa been british I kept my bikini on, with no issues.

Room very spacious. Location central short walk to train station, and close to bus stop.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

more money than I normally pay for a 4 star hotel but our room was a very clean and comfortably designed corner room on a upper floor. With large casement windows on one side and French door onto balcony on other side with a front row view of the Eiger. Definitely would return and consider half board here. Only downside was told had a hot tub to relax in after a long day of hiking but it was always cold.

Room Tip: Our room was cleanly designed corner room , I believe on 4th floor in the main original building. Hi...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBuffingtonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this Hotel in July 2012. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The hotel was in a wonderful location, close to the train station and the shops. We had a lovely room with an amazing view of the Eiger from our balcony. The room was spacious, very clean with a comfortable bed and bath. The breakfast was really good, had a large variety and they offer breakfast brought to your room which is a nice touch. We would definitely go back and stay again in a second.

Room Tip: Mountain view with balcony is worth paying for, just breathtaking.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jefe1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family (husband and 3 kids) stayed at the Hotel Spinne for 6 days in August, 2013. We love the hotel. It was clean, spacious and had spectacular views of the Eiger. The hotel is centrally located in the centre of town and an easy walk to the First gondola and Grindelwald train station.
We would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We are a family of 5, so we were on the top floor in a spacious suite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great village location on the mountains side of the road so the views are fantastic. Make sure you pay for a mountain view. A bit more expensive but will not disappoint. The rooms are lovely and kept very clean.
The meals in the very nice dining room were excellent (four courses half board) and the staff and management team extremely friendly and a credit to the family who own the Hotel.
I am trying to think of a negative but very difficult so will leave it for you to enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: 303 or adjacent either way great views and well decorated. Important for some:Great shower pressur...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveArtBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £126 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing