We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this little hotel with a million-dollar view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this little hotel with a million-dollar view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Hotel Spinne came highly recommended to us and more than lived up to our friend's review! We had a spacious room with a view of the Eiger and a lovely balcony from which to enjoy the view. One night we brought food and wine to the room and sat out on our balcony to enjoy the spectacular scenery as darkness fell. It was magical! My husband enjoyed the sauna just about every night we were there. The restaurant was excellent, with a bountiful breakfast buffet. We found the staff at the reception desk and in the restaurant very courteous and extremely helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room with an Eiger view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    86
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
67
123
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Extremely friendly hotel in a fantastic location with amazing views of the Eiger, as did our room, for which we requested an Eiger view. Room was clean, spacious and had a plate of fresh fruit awaiting us on our arrival. Most comfy beds ever!

Choose half-board for a more sophisticated menu or b and b, as we did, for eating in the less formal, but larger menu, restaurant. (We were however, able to eat in the former one evening by request although we had only booked b and b.)

The wellness centre was lovely and when we were there (first week of June) it was empty, so felt ok with adhering to the no swimsuit request!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Jane
Finchley
London

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked the hotel only for two nights but when we came and saw the room and beautiful view from the balcony we booked extra night. Everything was perfect. The restaurant was perfect with asparagus dishes and italian food as well. After long walking was very nice to use sauna with jacuzzi. All attractions, shops, bus/ train station near the hotel.

Room Tip: Book the room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaKor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay at the end of April was lovely, the room was large and had a lovely view, worth the price over the basic room. The mountains are the main attraction so waking up to them covered in snow was a bonus. This is quiet time of year so check before you book, the restaurant was closed but we found a couple of good ones during our 3 night stay. Breakfast was included and was very good quality. Plenty of choice and very pleasant service! Plus great views. It was very cold, so be prepared. I saw a few cold souls walking around town with inappropriate footwear. I also had a very good massage while I was at the hotel, 110 CHF. The wellness centre was well presented and use is included in the price. I wasn't game for the naked hot tub experience but perhaps you will be.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed the in the off season, May 14 and we could not have been happier with our choice. We paid a little extra for a balcony and Eiger view, glad we did. The room was perfect with everything we needed and quite large compared to other places we have stayed. The staff were friendly and very helpful and breakfast was good. It's position in the middle of town makes it easy to get the train up the mountain or day trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were led to believe this was an excellent hotel from other reviews we had read. However when we turned up we found that the room we were originally allocated was small and very basic and right next to the terrace. This was not too much of a problem because we also found that the restaurant was closed for the week we were there apart from serving breakfast. However we did ask if we could be moved to a larger room and the receptionist did eventually find us a bigger room although still on the same floor. My advice would be to not go for a standard room as I would imagine they would be very noisy in busy times. The 2nd room was comfortable and warm.
The village is in a pretty location but at the time of our visit (30 April 2014)they were doing a lot of building work and there was only 2 restaurants open. The whole place seems to close down for a week at the end of April which wasn't made clear on our booking site.
Make sure you go when there's more open because if it rains and you can't get up the mountains there's nothing much to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Close to the gondola and the train station. Very friendly staff. prices are comparable to other hotels in the area yet it seems to have one of the best amenities and rooms. views are also nice. recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cemgurkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Property: Hotel Spinne
Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing