We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff with beautiful views”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff with beautiful views”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The hotel has the feel of the Swiss Alps, lovely balonies with lots of flowers facing the Eiger Mt range. The friendly staff, spa and fabulous restaurant make up for the rooms. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but a little worn out from hikers and skiers.
We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfitz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    88
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
128
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Arrived here on boxing day 2009 to spend New year in this stunning location . We had previously stayed at the Hotel Derby in the summer of 2008, and wanted to experience the winter time in Switzerland. The best thing about the Hotel Spinne , I would say would be the dining area and the service. The rooms were very pleasant although a tad disapointing , we didnt upgrade our room though, and some of the furniture was worn out and sad looking., but still comfortable and clean. We stayed on the second floor , I would recommend getting a higher room , the one above us seemed more private and the views a lot better. The corridors had tired out looking carpets, but then again so did the Derby!! I think generally most hotels in switzerland seem to be of a simular standard. There is a wellness centre here, but I was put off by the no swimwear rule!! There is also a basement nightclub , but I never heard a thing at night!! We did go down to the nightclub new years eve , but it was full of 16 years olds , they were also queueing for a mile down the road to get in !! I dont know were they all came from , as most people here seemed to be my sort of age ( in the middle!! ) There is a type of youth hostel set at the far back of this hotel, and this did get rowdy at times!! The menu here is 4 courses, of a la carte, nothing too filling bit very nice , although some skiers had to pop to the pizza place next door to fill up!! There is entertainment everynight, this being a lady playing the piano.
The only thing that disapointed me was the tired out furniture in the room , the old worn out table with a complementary toblarone and some fruit and a couple of very old chairs arranged either side . I did think oh no when i first entered our room , but it soon grew on me!! Put it this way, the bed wre clean and comfortable and the bathroom modern looking and clean!!
A couple that were in same hotel moaned as they had wanted a twin room , but got a L shaped one with single beds arranged away from each other !! SO beware!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindanorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This is a very, very nice hotel to stay in. Stayed there last year whilst on a package holiday for a week with Crystal Ski and could not fault the place. The staff were so friendly and the meals in the resturaunt were exceptional, however with the way things are in Europe the Swiss franc does not go very far if you eating out at linch time and having a few beers in the evening. The resort was superb and with the trains up the mountain that ran like clock work (sorry about the pun) you cant fault the place or the service that you get whether you stop for lunch or a beer in the slope bars.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We travelled to Switzerland on a package deal, our first time to Grindlewald and chose the Spinne after reviewing other TripAdvisor postings. Once again they were not wrong! The Spinne is located in the heart of the village / town, ideal for the train station (10 mins), bus station and gondolas but far enough away not to be troubled by noise and traffic. When we checked in, we Initially were advised that our rooms were in the annex along a covered walk way - to be honest this didn' sound great. However, when we opened the bedroom door and were greeted by the sun streaming into the room and spectacular views of the north face of the Eiger - we then realised that we had acquired a great location and there were no concerns. We would advise getting a south facing bedroom either on the 2nd or 3rd floor for the views etc. The bedroom was clean and spacious and the bathroom offered a shower over the bath. This gave plenty of hot water and just the right power of jet to ease those aching limbs!! On entering the dining room, there was nice atmosphere and the serving team were very attentive, efficient and really pleasant. There was a choice of main course for the evening meal which was of a good standard and for breakfast there was a pretty good choice too. The hotel offered a wellness area (which we did not try) and also had a "nightclub" attached but we heard nothing from this in our room.

Overall, the hotel was a great place to stay and certainly helped us to experience a great week in the snow. We would recommend the Spinne to fellow travellers without doubt.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAHJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This hotel was in a great location and had the wonderful chalet charm. We walked into the door to check-in around 7pm and Esther greeted us by name and handed us our room key on the spot - WOW! We still have no idea how she knew who we were but were impressed. The room had a great view and was very large. Esther continued to stand out throughout our stay providing us with great travel advice in the region. We actually walked around the town looking for dinner and came back to our hotel becuase the patio and views - and food - could not be beat!

Wonderful experience in our FAVORITE town during a 4 week/5 country visit! The people were all so gracious and kind - quick to cast a smile and greeting. We LOVED Switzerland and the Bernese Oberland area - expecially the 'Top of Europe' experience and Dog Sledding and Ice Palace!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-World-Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mydogricky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and cannot say enough about the hotel. Our balcony views were amazing, the restaurant terrace was geat (Robert was fantastic), the food was very good, and everyone was very helpful from check-in to checkout. Learning the layout of the hotel and accessing the elevator was tricky but not a problem. Breakfast choices were plentiful. Overall, I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mydogricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed for the week over New Years Eve. we were lucky that Grindelwald had a huge amount of snow on NYE, that just finished the atmosphere beautifully! it was the party end of town with a well secured night club within. we travelled in a group needing 3 seperate rooms (some of the group were kids), all were clean, with awesome views. Breakfasts were really good! during winter months, make sure your try one of the WORLD'S BEST JAM DOUGHNUTS, made just for you fresh in front of your eyes outside the bakery accross the road, at 3pm each day. what a way to finish of the day's snow play!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Property: Hotel Spinne
Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing